We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,249)
Filter reviews
5,249 results
Traveller rating
2,211
1,339
703
466
530
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,211
1,339
703
466
530
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vip beach george of the jungle blue lagoon welcome party ocean world salami sushi bar casa blanca water aerobics dominican republic casablanca buffet beach beds vip party these guys serenity beach entertainment staff best friend
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 5,249 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This was one of the best vacations ever. Me and my friend arrived at the resort at 11:50pm and the staff treated us very well,a bellboy helped us with our bags and he was very nice. We got to our room and it was very clean and well maintained. The grounds of the hotel are well maintained and being cleaned every day,the wait staff at the buffet is very friendly and there always coming around to see if you need anything. The animation team is phenomenal, we were there for indepdence day and we got to join in the festivities. Julio Nice,Blacky,Shaggy, Pamela, Justin Bieber, Tequila,Prince Royce and Sexy chocolate were amazing the 2 weeks we were there,I have to admit Sexy chocolate was my favorite,he made working out fun and he's very friendly and cute. He made me feel like i'd been friends with him for years. Definitely going to be back next year

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank 584jessm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear guest,
We are so happy and grateful with such a nice review!
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We are going to share the nice comments with all the mentioned staff and the rest of the team! Thank you for your positive review!!
It will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sunny regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This resort is huge and amazing. A different style of time share where you can rent accommodations off any member, otherwise pay full pop similar to other Hotels with few perks.
Essentially to enjoy Full Access to VIP areas, you need to be either a Member or Guest Member of a high level Member.

The Wrist Bands tell all! Recommend knowing which category you are before leaving home to avoid disappointment upon arrival.

-White and Black are highest level of Shareholder members: all access to VIP beaches and restaurants.
-GM Gold are Guests of Shareholder members: all access except two shareholder beaches and a few restaurants (Best Value Bracelet)
-VIP Gold are timeshare owners: similar to above but more restaurant access
-VIP Blue are Guests of VIP Gold members: Lowest level of VIP, access to 2 VIP beaches only and limited VIP restaurant access

Any other wristbands at this resort have very little if any access to VIP areas which are the cornerstone of this resort. Ex: Cofresi Palm guests with paper style wristbands do not have access to these areas which limits them to a very small and simple area of resort and makes people angry when staff politely tell them they are not paying for VIP areas.

Recommend to look for VIP Lifestyles re-sellers online (shareholders), who provide many accommodation options and tell you exactly which wristband you will receive when booking through them.

Best Resort experience as long as you know the deal!

PS I am not a re-seller, I just like a good deal for an amazing resort!

Room tip: Few oceanview rooms as this is a large resort. Choices should be made according to your budget interest or higher class of room category
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive review! The nice notes like the one you kindly posted on the TripAdvisor are very appreciated by us. We are grateful for you taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at The Tropical. Your comments encourage us to continue improving our services.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be able to welcome you back.
Warmest Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

My wife and I booked at the Tropical through a sale in AC Vacations. We stayed there from March 19th through the 26th for our anniversary. The check in went smoothly and I must say we were very surprised with the quality of the Casablanca Buffet. That, plus the beachside bar and the VIP Beach (for all guest, yes I know is confusing) and the ability to enjoy the Cofresi amenities as well it's a 10/10. So why would anyone become a VIP member? Because sometimes you need to turn it up to 11.

Being our 10 year anniversary, after we went to the VIP tour and we discussed with the salesman what we wanted, we decided to take the jump and become Lifestyle members. Immediately we got a concierge that booked us into nice VIP restaurants, gave us two bottles of champagne and decorated our room for the day of our anniversary. They don't throw the term VIP lightly, as they REALLY make you feel like one (shootout to Karim for his amazing job). The Spot in the VIP Pool became our favorite spot (no pun intended), as well as Serenity Beach and Harmony Beach. We also got to party at the Dome with the Bravissimo show (this for all guests, BTW). There's so much to be done that I think we barely scratched the surface of the resort after one week there!

We also got a couple of excursions: one to the town of Puerto Plata and the Freestyle Catamaran Snorkeling in Sosua. People are extremely friendly not only in the resort, but all around Puerto Plata. We got to walk through downtown and we felt a safe and amicable atmosphere.

If there's two things I would tell management to improved would be:
1) better and free WiFi. I'm sure guests would flood Instagram posting pics of the amazing installations and just the fun atmosphere in general, so think of it as an investment in promotion; and
2) the ICE Club should be more than just Hip Hop. I love Dominican merengue and wish I could have danced there. Maybe they could do with ICE what they do with the Colosseum and have thematic nights (one hip hop, one tropical, one reaggeton, etc) that way there would be a little something for everyone.

All I can say is that the resort is amazing wether you're a regular guest on a budget, a mid range VIP or a Luxury Shareholder. The staff is always smiling, professional and willing to help. We will definitely come back!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HaroldL586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive review! The nice notes like the one you kindly posted on the TripAdvisor are very appreciated by us. We are grateful for you taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at The Tropical. Your comments encourage us to continue improving our services.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be able to welcome you back.
Warmest Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Best thing ever was the entertainment team. I will never forget those guys. Chocolate, blacky, Dominican Justin Bieber, Monkey, and the chica (the girl) was a riot! Food was horrible, music was fun, beach was great ... over all, I wouldn't recommend this unless you were going for the entertainment staff only...David the bartender at the pool was great too! We experienced something that was never expected from the staff and absolutely embarrassing to us the whole vacation. There are many other hotels to pick from ... don't pick this one!!!! That's all I'm putting in writing.... The entertainment team, David the bartender, Roberto and Alfred are the best waiters, this is all I have nice to say...go elsewhere...

Date of stay: March 2018
3  Thank nabechet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
Let us apologize for not exceeding your expectations in some aspects of your stay with us. All your comments are very helpful to improve our services.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Second time coming to Dominican but first time for this resort and I cannot complain . Food is great, resort is beautiful, staff is super friendly and make your visit fun and always keep you entertained. Friends and I always felt welcomed & beautiful ! A special shout out to a couple entertainers who always kept a smile on our faces and made sure we were taken care of to Blacky & chocolate :)

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear guest Angela,
We are so happy and grateful with such a nice review!
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services, food and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We are going to share the nice comments with all the mentioned staff and the rest of the team! Thank you for your positive review!!
It will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sunny regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews