We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, plenty to do and see”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice resort, plenty to do and see”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed at the Bachata from 22 March to 29 March, 2012 with 2 other couples and overall enjoyed our stay but Riu needs to reconsider their 5-star rating of this property which I would rate as more of a 3-star resort.

Transfer from the airport to the hotel via Olympus Tours was quick and easy. Jose was assigned to be our rep while we were in DR and he was awesome! Gave us lots of information about what to expect at the hotel, how to be safe and healthy while in DR and what tours were best for what we wanted to see.

Bachata staff greated us on arrival with a smile and fruity beverage. Porter was very quick to take our bags upon arrival and escort us to our room which was located in building 1. While the building is the furthest from the pools and dining, the walk only takes a few minutes and the views of the ocean were stunning!

The room was clean and spacious. The bed and pillows were comfy but would have prefered a true king as opposed to two beds pushed together. Housekeeping did a great job of keeping everything tidy and clean even though we were tracking in tons of sand daily from our time spent on the beach. Everyday we had fresh flowers in the bathroom, on the tables and tucked in the curtains. We were sure to tip housekeeping generously every day as they certainly deserved it with the service provided. I will say however that details like wrinkled bed coverings, worn sheets, faded painting on the walls and toilet paper holders fixed with sheetrock screws are the details that make this less than 5 stars.

The grounds at the resort are beautiful, well maintained and lush. Take the time to enjoy the path that connects the 3 properties, it is a great way to enjoy the ocean and the grounds. The pools were always clean and we always found a place in the sun and shade to sit. The beach likewise was clean with plenty of lounge chairs and ample shade or sun. This is a great beach for snorkling with a coral reef running along the beach only knee deep out with a great variety of colorful and interesting fish that will swim right up to you. We found watershoes were much better than flippers and you have to be very aware of the sea pincushions!

The buffet had a good variety of foods and we never went hungry but it is very repetitive and we were tired of the food by week's end. 2 folks in our group had tummy troubles during the week so do be careful how many new foods you try until you know your tummy can handle it. Waiters were quick to wisk away empty plates and refill drinks. Noticed some waiters even decorated their tables with flowers and napkin decorations. We were sure to tip and our waiter watched for us each night and found us a place to sit in his section but some extra touches would have been nice. Enjoyed the food and service in both the Italian and Steakhouse resteraunts.

Overall we enjoyed our trip and the resort. Attention to detail and the fact that staff personalities are hit or miss are what make this only a 3 star resort. Glad we went but probably wouldn't return as the resort just was missing the WOW factor for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browndog20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,712
    1,772
    991
    453
    332
See reviews for
1,388
2,113
104
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,047)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Travelled March 7-14

Cant say anything negative about this resort. Enjoyed everything about it. The staff, the rooms, the food, the entertainment, the grounds, cleanliness. Everything was just wonderful. Will be going back next year for sure, and staying for longer.

We did 2 excusions: Paradise Island and the Outback safari
Paradise Island was amazing. Breathtaking sites for sure. As well as the Safari was a great experience.

Do not have complaints about anything, and would highly highly recommend this resort.

Ignore all the complaints that are on here, definitly do not let that be the judge of booking a vacation at Riu Bachata.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nsg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I had a very nice time . Friendly staff and they were very accommodating if something needing fixing. I recommend not getting a room near the main lobby it is noisy at night. They moved me the next day to the far end of the resort over looking the beach.Just beautiful. Food was good. The beds are not the best but they will change the mattress for you. Very clean. I like the beach there. Palm trees all over it and clean water. Overall it was a nice week and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lobby are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoannaS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Our rooms were entered when they did not think anybody was there and a carton of cigarettes was stolen, not sure of anything else yet. Our brother was next door to us and they were lying down one afternoon when there door opened. I guess they realized someone was in there and shut the door, when he opened it there were two hotel employees outside, one on the phone and the other with his back to him and when he asked what was going on they did not answer them. He should have told the front desk right away. We did not mention our cigarettes because it made us wonder is we had put them in but when we got home they were not here either. The fridge was not stocked when we arrived and when we mentioned to the front desk they just grinned and said he would not be there for two more days and when they finally did you got 2 beers which we had never heard of not Presidente also a light beer and how many drink that? We had 2 glasses in our room our entire stay and I requested some for the bathroom I got 3 facecloths. Do you not think by now that they would be able to speak English? We have stayed at the Bachata when if was first opened also and we always said we would be back, but what a disappointment. At Christmas we were at the Riu Tequila in Mayan Riviera and it was not a five star either. I think they believe their reputation when nobody complains will get them repeat customers. Our son also just came back from Riu Palace in Negral Jamaica and he was not pleased either and they always go Riu. Never again. Also they should rename the Steak House to a hamburger joint.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 107Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just returned from 7 days at the Riu Bachata. Just wanted to say I have no idea where the bad reviews are coming from because this place is wonderful! Check in was well organized, everything was ready and waiting to be picked up at three, their check in time. In the meantime we enjoyed the pool and the swimup bar! All staff were friendly and helpful, found that tipping didn't seem to be expected but was appreciated. We tip often but one day left the room hastily and forgot to leave the maids tip but our room was just as spotless and decorated as every other day we left a tip for her. The buffet was very good with alot of variety. Drinks didn't seem watered down to us as I'd read in earlier reviews! The only thing that wasn't perfect was the beach! Take water shoes if you plan to swim at Riu Bachatas beach! There was a lot of coral washing around the bottom! Just down the beach a ways is the Riu Mambos beach which is great for swimming, we went down there and spent the day and it was great! Another plus for this hotel was there were no time share people or sales people bothering you anywhere/anytime! They did have a market in the entrance one evening which was nice for picking up souveniers if you wanted, also they had a glass artist there one evening making glass trinkets which was amazing to watch and reasonably priced. The grounds are beautiful with lots of vegetation and the grounds keepers kept them beautiful, working hard everyday to keep up with fallen leaves. I have never been to a cleaner place! They even swept the sides of the buildings! lol

Room Tip: we were on the second floor in building 10, very quiet and not too far from the main stage and recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingFoolHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.3 km away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,360 reviews
13.3 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,183 reviews
278.2 km away
Sunscape Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,714 reviews
276.4 km away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
15.2 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price range (per night): $139 - $980
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing