We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Aurora, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic all inclusive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just got back today from the Riu Bachata...here’s my review. First off let me say that this place is no where near a five star resort...and it’s also no where near a one star...it ranks somewhere in the middle...a 3.5 is probably about right, which makes it very average. Every resort seems to have a variety of rooms....some are bigger than others....some have great views....some have terrible views. My room was a decent size and faced the beach. Things I like in my room are the following – a comfortable bed with nice bedding and non-smelling fresh pillows – these beds are lacking in all of those...you will be missing your own bed 30 seconds after you lay down on these ones...for me that was a big let down...the bottom sheets don’t even tuck under the mattress, the bed cover looks like a drape and the pillows smell from all the previous guests....not pleasant. I also like internet in my room...but there is none in the room. Free wifi is available in the lobby but most days it is painfully slow...PAINFULLY SLOW! The bathroom is decent – no complaints there. One other thing about the room...the electrical outlets are a little different here...3 prong plugs do not work unless you get an adapter from reception or bring your own, however I did manage to find 3 prong outlets in the lobby. Let’s move on to the restaurants / food. If your looking for fine dinning you will not find it here....food is decent / average, good variety and fresh. We stuck to the main buffet the whole trip except for one dinner at the Italian place. The a-la-carte restaurants are very basic in food and ambience. The alcohol, beer and wine are all watered down here....you will be able to drink all day and all night and not feel a thing...beer is tasty, wine is terrible. Better food, better drinks and better restaurant ambience is available at many other all inclusive resorts. The beach and pool areas are fine....typical for a Caribbean resort...one thing about the pool areas that was missing....MUSIC! This is the first time I’ve been to a hotel out door pool and there was no music. The weather was hot and sunny every day. The nightly entertainment is pretty basic and some of the shows are decent...it’s hit and miss there. The one night club in the resort is very empty considering the amount of people here during the day. Speaking of the people here, they are mostly older so if your teens are looking to meet other teens they may be disappointed. I also noticed that a large percentage of the guests are German. They have day trips here....we took our kids to “paradise island”....that was fun except for the 1.5 hour bus ride to get there. “Ocean world” is a nice day trip too...it’s only a 5 minute bus ride. You can swim with the dolphins there but it’s a little pricey and my kids didn’t really think it was worth it....my suggestion would be to just pay for admission to the park and enjoy the shows there. Lunch is always included in the day trips. Service here is great...no complaints there. Would I come here again...no. However, if you are on a tight budget and get a cheap deal for this 3.5 star place then it might be worth while...otherwise I would stay away. One other thing about the Dominican Republic, they charge US$30 per person at the airport for staying in the country ($10 when you arrive and $20 when you leave). Happy holidays.

Room Tip: Make sure to upgrade your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,658
    1,714
    961
    443
    324
See reviews for
1,332
2,045
101
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,015)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgetown
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We loved the staff, the food, the bar staff. The pool area at the Riu Bachata is amazing. But the great part of this vacation is that you can also use the other two Resorts - Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo - so if things get a little hectic and you want some quiet time you can go to the other resorts - their bars and their dining rooms. The beach is lovely to walk along from Bachata to Mambo - Mambo is not as rocky.
There are always activities - but you can joint if you like or just watch an enjoy.
We are already planning on going back next year - 2013.

John and Marian

Helpful?
4 Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgetown
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The first time my husband I went to the Riu Bachata was in 2006 - it was great. This time the occasion was our 20th anniversay. It had changed, mostly what people noticed was the food, but there was always something to eat. But the other changes we experienced were the efforts that the staff, starting with the Manager, Frederick, Dining room staff Guilliame and Ramon and of course the bar staff (all amazing - hats off to the Bikini Bar staff!!never a dull moment) and of course our room maid - Andrea- could not do enough to make our stay comfortable. There were the special occasions - the Beach Party - The Bar-B-Que on the Beach - The Manager's Party. No matter where you go, there are always people who find fault. Was it perfect? Nothing ever is - but this vacation for my husband and I was pretty darn close to perfect. Thank you for the gift from the staff for our special day and the wonderful gift for returning to the Riu. As in the last time, the friendship we made were incredible - from two couples from Quebec, to two couples from Newmarket, to our Paisley couple from Niagara Falls, our special friend from Keswick and then of course the three amigos from Scotland.. If possible, some of us will try to get together next year at the Riu.

Thank you for everything - another vacation of wonderful memories.

John and Marian - Ridgetown, Ontario

Room Tip: We like the ground level, away from the Bikini Bar. This time we were in Room 713. Next sitting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We went to the Riu Bachata on a last minute trip for five days at the end of February. This isn't a 5-star hotel, but it is a great little get-away. After reading some of the reviews, we didn't arrive with the highest expectations, but ended up Very pleased. The staff was so nice and helpful (knowing a bit of Spanish goes a long way here, but most people speak great English).

This property has the only swim-up pool bar out of the 3 local resorts. It also has the best ocean-view rooms. We had a great view of the ocean, the bay, and sunset every day right from our balcony. The food was mostly good, however, we did discover an awesome hidden gem. The Italian restaurant (which you can make a reservation for daily between 7-9am in the main dining room) is by far the best food on the resort. The wait staff was on point, they made special concessions for my food allergies, the food was fresh, very well presented, and offered much more of a 5-star feel than the main dining buffet. ;-) If I'd known earlier, we would have eaten dinner there every night.

I'd recommend taking a trip or two off the resort to explore the local culture. We went on a city tour of Puerto Plata and also took a day trip to Paradise Island to see Caribbean like waters, it was beautiful and adventurous.

I don't recommend doing much shopping on the resort, the prices are a bit steeper than off the resort. Overall, we had a great time. It might get a bit boring to stay more than a week or so...just depends on how you like to vacation. We would visit here again and will definitely be the Dominican again, we loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This resort has a lot to offer between the access to all 3 resorts on the same property. Many pools and lots of chairs down at the beach. The beach in front of the bachata is not really suited to swimming since the reef is so close and the ground had lots of coral but a lovely walk to the other end of the beach brings you to a nice swimming area. The grounds are constantly maintained an pristine. The site i booked with advertised this resort as a 5 star but i would disagree. Not the luxury feel of one and small things like no real orange juice were a little unexpected. That being said it was still an excellent resort. The buffet had a large selection that was very delicious and changed from day to day. The pools are beautiful and the views are spectacular. Not only the ocean view but also the small "mountains" that surround the property. Excellent value and would go again anytime.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ang_other
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.3 km away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,292 reviews
15.3 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
13.2 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,806 reviews
271.8 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
15.2 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price range (per night): $142 - $251
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing