We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Plata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

As usual we were a little apprehensive about staying here after reading the negative reviews but I can honestly say that it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in abroad (and we do go away four times a year!)
The rooms were basic but clean, good aircon and no insects, towels were changed whenever you wanted. Cleaner left bottles of water in our fridge for us when we'd run out which was nice.
When we arrived we'd been given a ground room floor but they moved us immediately to a first floor room when we went back to reception.
The food is lovely, there are plenty of options, always a good selection of meat, pasta, salad etc - not to mention the dessert trolleys. You can help yourself to wine and soft drinks during your meals.
The two themed resturants are a must , really relaxing with delicious food and fantastic service. We saw people walk out half way through their meal - maybe they were expecting chips!
There is a quiet adult pool and bar if you want to get away from the noise of the main pool. The animation team organise pool games, water aerobics plus many other games and competitions such as darts, french bowls, table tennis, archery, crazy golf etc.
The animation team work really hard and also provide the evening entertainment which is alright as long as you like watching dancing.
The bars are good and alcohol is of a nice quality, they are generous with their measures and will fill any size glass/cup/botlle that you put in front of them 24 hours a day!
The staff all speak very good English because this hotel is mainly used by English and Canadians apart from at weekends when Domicans stay for a few days - some guests were uncomfortable with this but I thought it illustrated what a good hotel it was if the local rich people chose to stay there.
There is a free shuttle bus to the beach but it only takes ten minutes to walk there. The hotel has a free resturant and bar at the beach where you can sit in the shade and chill. The beach is amazing, if you walk to the right of the resturant (as you stand facing the sea) you can walk for miles and find yourself a private bit of beach.
The hotel is in a security guarded strip along with numerous other hotels, clubs, casinos and pubs but we found it quite safe to leave the complex. We caught local buses (20p each) to wherever we needed to go including the local mountain. The hassle from the locals was nowhere near as bad as we've experienced inplaces such as Egypt, Tunisia and Turkey. The locals here will take no for an answer if you tell them politely but firmly.
I would definitely return to this hotel if ever I came back to the same area, for the price we payed it was fantastic value for money.
Do not be put off by negative reviews - I have come to the conclusion that people only write reviews when they want to criticise rather than compliment a place!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kay8758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    64
    47
    39
    52
See reviews for
23
54
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OTTAWA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

Well i ended up in this resort by mistake anyway - I was suppose to stay at Barcelo
Down the street in playa dorada but a friend messed up everything
When we first arrived there - the service was kind of alright
its true what they say (sometimes") PICTURES LIE
when we arrived there , the pool was way too small and it closed early
The bar was alright - served Domestic Drinks
There was a special Lounge - they would not let us in for some reason - ( and told us it was VIP) which was a lie - because when i spoke to the travel guide - they told me we had full access of this lounge .
The main reception was beautiful - nice view - but the rooms were awful - small . hot . and the fans did not work . the water had problems , the lights too.
it looked like the rooms were wearing down . so we complained several times- ..
since i am a friendly , and social person - i was cool with the guy that worked night shifts . so i did him a favor ( my helping out this lady that was complaining that some teens flooded they're rooms and water came into hers .. " i was drunk " so i pertended i was the night manager and took the security and plumer with me , and switch her rooms and spoke to the other teens , ( i m a teen myself) and every thing was perfect for her , she was so happy she kept on thanking me during the whole trip thinking i was a staff member - anyways .because of that , we were upgraded to a suit .. the next day by the actual manager - she made us happy - but some of friends remaining in the low class rooms which sucked - Carribean village is the furthest Resort in playa dorada - to get to the shopping plaza its about a 20minute walk . or you can wait for the little safari truck to bring people to the WORST BEACH ON EARTH- . there is no night clubs in the resort or Casino- you watch the shows the have outside -'' 1/4 or go to the disco which is full our boring people that don't dance " .. but if you get out of the resort and walk to the plaze there is 3 clubs - 2 that are good - COCO BANGO and a spanish club( but i do not recommend people to go to the spanish one too late - because things happen there easily - its safer at COCO BONGO -
WHen you take a taxi in the resort to go party at the cabareta beach ( BEACH PARTY IN MARCH between MARCH 16-28TH) it would cost you 70$ but as soon as u leave the resort Gates ( few steps ) it cost 30$

There is not much to do at this resort - one pool is always closed ( the deeper one )
BUT THERE IS A NICE GOLD AND MOUnTAIN VIEW -
I have to MUCH to say - but i don't want to SPOIL it for the people planning to go there -
BUt overall i would rate this trip 2/6

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrMenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Plata hotels

Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

For the price ,not bad.Rooms were big and clean,had to be transferred to another room after 3 days of no hot water.there was a shortage of towels and no washclothes.The staff was very friendly .The food was pretty much the same and yesterdays left overs,bland .A small walk to the beach and mall which we enjoyed because the weather was great .Over all not so bad ,we had a great time .The Puerto Plata Runners excursion was the BEST !!! Yea Elvis

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No hot water or towels !
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank winstonnovascotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2009

I was a little afraid after we booked this trip and saw the reviews.

This turned out to be one of the best vacations of my life. The hotel and room were very clean. The food was o.k. The hotel staff and servers were indifferent, but once you tipped them, they had a smile for you. I was shocked at the amount of vacationers who expected the world and didn't leave so much as a peso behind.

The entertainment was decent, although we didn't see to much of it. At night, we hit some of the local public houses and clubs in the compound and had an absolute blast. The club disco was a little busted but we still had fun.

We loved the snorkeling off of Paridise Island and the rum factory. The Cascades excursion was the absolute high point of our vacation, despite the Canadian Embassy and Air Transat telling us not to go.

Tonnes of things to do and places to see. I was afraid the walk to the beach would've been a drag, but it was nice to get a little daily exercise. The beach in not as nice as Punta Cana but it's a decent beach with food, booze and a place to pee in the middle of Feb. What else can you ask for???

We didn't have any trouble with insects. The beach vendors can be a little bothersome, but you just say "no thanks" and they were on their way. I wish the Dominicans would respect their environment a little more. For that matter, I was a little disappointed in my fellow Canadians who rarely took their trash with them when they left the beach!

Great vacation! We'd do it all again too!

  • Liked — $1.50 Coronas
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank machineaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

Stayed here in 2006 because my friend and I had got a last minute deal. I would have rather paid the price for a better hotel but this place is okay if you are paying less than $800 inclusive. It rained frequently and the hotel didn't offer much to do. It was an expensive cab ride to go see any sights. The disko was a joke and there was never anyone there having a good time. Luckily we met people and managed to find things to do to pass the time. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for good nightlife. The accomodation was alright but nothing too impressive. This hotel looks nothing like the pictures on the site.. I had to make sure I was looking at the right one!
The staff were amazing. So friendy.
The food was the same buffet everyday. To get to the beach you had to either take a 15 minute walk or a five minute trolley which wasn't too bad.
There were tons of mosquitos out at night so take some Off!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — lack of entertainment/ nightlife
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jingles8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.8 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 km away
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Puerto Plata Village Resort
#36 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
#34 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#7 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.7 km away
Jasmine Spa and Wellness
Jasmine Spa and Wellness
#17 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada

Property: Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 653, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price range (per night): $77 - $381
Hotel Class:3 star — Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Also Known As:
Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Caribbean Village Playa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing