We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,885)
Filter reviews
4,885 results
Traveller rating
1,760
1,647
810
352
316
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,760
1,647
810
352
316
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack bar danny boy gourmet restaurant dominican republic a la carte restaurants entertainment staff great resort spaghetti beach volleyball other resorts kids club recommend this resort hot dogs large pool punta cana stayed in building flea market
Filter
Updating list...
2,154 - 2,159 of 4,885 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We still here and I am having a wonderful time with my fiancee, visited my daddy who lives in Santiago, we rent a car for a few days to visit him and some friends and family and now we are staying at this beautiful hotel, the staff are so nice, Juan Pablo at front desk always with a smile for us!! Vicenta, waitress at the breakfast buffet, she is so nice and kind, we love her, always with a compliment for us, a beautiful smile!! We still here until sunday, I will let you know more...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chelnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We visited this hotel from July 28th for 2 weeks with our two children aged 18 & 20. We have previously stayed in a number of 4 and 5 star all inclusive hotels so knew what to expect. Before arriving here I had read recent trip advisor reviews and to say I was a bit worried is an understatement. However they are totally unfounded, we had a great holiday.
The flight over on Thomson’s Dreamliner was great as was the quick transfer to the hotel. We were quickly checked in with a welcome cocktail and then directed to our rooms. We were allocated block 4 which I had read was shabby. The room was fine if somewhat dated. The bathroom fittings (taps, loo holder etc) all needed updating but it was all clean and very spacious, helped by being on the top floor with vaulted ceilings. Our room had a connecting door to the children’s which was a benefit. The fridge was restocked – usually daily with soft drinks and beer. The room was equipped with a hairdryer, iron, plenty of storage space with hangers, tea and coffee making facilities and powerful air con which could be left on all day, while not being environmentally friendly this was a big bonus compared to other rooms we have stayed in. It was thoroughly cleaned and we had new towels every day. In fact the rest of the block was undergoing a refurb and updating while we were there. If you pay for the upgrade then I think you wouldn’t have any issues. For us, we were in our room about an hour a day other than sleeping so luxury rooms are a bonus not a necessity for a great holiday.
The pool area had plenty of sunbeds with parasols and our first week we could easily get one after breakfast; however week two was busier so we had to be up earlier. The beach was gorgeous though. It did get quite windy some afternoons but then we moved back to the pool. We weren’t harassed by sellers on the beach at all, when we politely said no thank you they left us alone all holiday.
The food was incredible. In the buffet, there was something for everyone and replenished constantly. We were served drinks and didn’t have to wait long for anything. The egg man made fantastic omelettes each morning. The best part of our dining experience was the a la carte restaurants. There are three, Mexican Brazilian and Gourmet all of which were fantastic. We ate at all three twice and the food was delicious. The gourmet was one of the best restaurants I’ve eaten in serving Chateau Briand steak which was incredible.
The bars all served a wide variety of drinks including about 30 cocktails. During the day they are served in plastic cups which is understandable given the proximity to the pool but at night they serve them in glasses with fruit.
The staff are some of the best I have come across in hotels. They all work so hard and are constantly cheery and eager to please. We gave a few small tips which resulted in them going that extra mile even replenishing drinks before we had to ask.
As reported in earlier reviews the weekends did get busier with Dominicans arriving for a couple of days but as we had read this would happen we arranged excursions for Saturday then and ate in the a la carte restaurants so were relatively unaffected. I can understand some of the reviews below though. For our first week when the hotel was very quiet it was a big contrast but the second week was busier with Brits, French and Americans and the weekend influx wasn’t as noticeable. The trick is do as we did, if you’re going off site arrange for Saturday and book restaurants Friday and Saturday night. But we certainly didn’t find them rude at all. In fact they were especially friendly in the disco bar and taught our children to dance Dominican style. I did feel sorry for the staff however as they seemed a bit more harassed and worked even harder.
The only downside was that we booked the hotel as it had a nightclub and casino to keep the children happy and these were permanently closed and look like they had been for some time. There was a disco bar which played local music with the odd English song thrown in which was open till 2 or 3 am so they visited that a few times and enjoyed themselves.
Overall we had a great time and can’t understand how people could be so negative about the hotel. Maybe reading the reviews had set our expectations so low.

Room Tip: If you want a luxurious room pay for an upgrade but we think it wouldn't be worth it as rooms are clean and spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We've been there AUG4-AUG11

STAFF - extremely nice, always smily, always there to take care of you whatever you need. If u tip - they will provide barely VIP service for you. If you paid $1000 for a trip, don't you tell you do not have another $60 for a tips - it all will turn back to you with the best ever service!

ROOM - no complains: hot water, AC, fan - everything works perfectly. the minibar is being refilled during the room cleaning.

BEACH - clean, nice, comfortable, has everything there. the beach bar is in 2 min walking to the water. Has all the water activities like sky surfing or banana riding in there.

BARS - friendly staff, always there to serve you, good variety of the cocktails.

BUFFET - delicious food, menu is changing every day (except of the breakfast - it is always the same). A great variety, always hot enough.

ALACARTS - all three are good enough, but the Gourme one is beyond your expectations. Delicious food, impressive serving - that was a real enjoyment!

ACTIVITIES - a whole bunch of the sports like beach soccer, gym, tennis, water volleyball, billiards e.t.c. The only reason why you could be bored there is you want to be bored.

SHOWS - never watched the shows in a hotels before. Was not disappointed at all. Of course, it's not the Freddy Mercury's concerts, but the dancers did a great job each time, so overall the show looked pretty good.

DISCO - good latina music, with some of pop, great MC-s inspiring people to dance.

PEOPLE - every weekend the hotel is accepting lots of locals, it is OK for dominicans to come to the hotel just for a weekend, so it is fully packed with them every Fri-Sun. Essentially they are the same customers there, as you are, so why would you complain about them.

We had a truly great time there, I recommend it 100%!
THANK YOU, GRAND MARIEN!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Lada N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What travellers need to know is that the standard room is a 2 star room, very old and poor equipped and very deceiving for this 4 star hotel.
Food too is way below the standard of a 4 star hotel. Again very low standard fir a 4 stars hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel if you can't afford a Superior Room. The Standard Rooms are old, poor equipped and look like a 2 star room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Flo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked this for our 2 wk honeymoon . Firstly we was put in block 4, this was very rundown. The room was smelly and dirty,shower was rusty and bedding was filthy. We asked to be moved and they moved us to a room that was pretty much in the same condition. So we asked for a possible free upgrade to superior room,and they refused sayin it wud cos $500, they did eventually come down to $250, so we decided to upgrade. The room was better,but was pretty much what I wud expect of a standard room really.
On first sight the room was a lot cleaner, but it still had issues ie everytime either of us had a bath , the room below wud flood and we wud recieve a call n wud av to get so that someone cud check where leak was co in from.

The hotel was full of locals from friday to monday, they were rude , v bad mannered,saw them picking food from the buffets with their fingers and drinking from the soda machines with their mouths directly underneath them....disgusting!!!!
You could not get near the pools at the weekend, there was that many. They were very noisy and had no consideration for others.

Hotel was clearly understaffed to deal with the ammount of people staying there.
Casino and nightclub was closed for the duration of our stay, as was the beach bar......apart from one day when they opened it up cos locals had a beach pass for the day, they also cordened off this section of the beach for them.

Drinks were flat and warm,they served drinks from plastic bottles when locals wernt there, but when they were there it was cold fizzy drinks from the pumps.

Entertainment was rubbish....food was bland and same thing every day.
Beach was very windy , so everythin was covered in sand at the snack bar.

There was a lot of issues with this hotel. When I complained, the manager said he wud reimburse us our upgrade fee of $250 . The reciept was given to us in spanish and we have never recieved this refund back to our card.

Very disappointing.

I would not recomend this hotel to anyone,and if I couldve got back on the plane and come straight home, I would have.
Definatly not a 4 star plus, I wud not have even given it a 2 star, these are only some of the issues, there was many more.

Room Tip: Block 4....avoid Block 8 .....slightly better Do yourself a favour and avoid hotel altogether
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank erica w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews