We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first time resort experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Be Live Collection Marien
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Port Alice
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great first time resort experience”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed for two weeks at this resort, overall it was a great experience.
We walked through a few of the resorts down the beach at Playa Dorada and found Grand Marien to have a more spacious layout. The beach was kept clean, the seaweed was raked daily. The Snorkeling was unimpressive. Our room was clean and kept well stocked with drinks and towels. Our favorite of the a la carte restaurants was the Brazillian and the Mexican.
The service in the main buffet restaurant is not great. They have a hostess to seat people, many times we were put at a dirty table, with missing cutlery or glasses. Make sure you have something with you to save your table, sunglasses or a sweater, or people will seat themselves at your table while you are at the buffet. During breakfast the servers could not keep up with the coffee, we had to serve ourselves from the serving station. When the buffet restaurant is closed the snack bar serves french fries, nacho chips and cheese, burgers, pizza and what looked like left overs from the buffet restaurant. We found it best to have a filling breakfast and lunch so we didn't have to visit the snack bar too often.

We shopped at the Playa Dorada mall, in the town and at the orange market on the beach. If you have souvenirs to buy, try the orange market not the blue one but be prepared to experience intense sales tactics, to avoid this the Playa Dorada mall offers the same items without the pressure.

We took a taxi into Peurta Plata town square and walked around, we were familiar with the layout of the town, having taken the Peurto Plata bus tour from the hotel a few days before. We could not find a map of the town anywhere, so bring one from home if you are wanting to explore around. We walked from the town square down to the beach front road and back to the resort, its a long walk but it was great to see the area, and we felt safe the whole time.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have vaulted ceilings, more privacy from the pathways between buildings. Corner s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank wanderfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    1,374
    654
    281
    235
See reviews for
1,243
1,332
146
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We've travelled several places and the service at this hotel is just inexistant!
The food was awful and I don't need to comment about the drinks.
Great property however your better of elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melys09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple Terrace, Fl.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I just got back from Grand Marien and loved it this Feb. The beach was cleaned every morning, nice sand and water. I stayed in older building 1 on second floor with ocean view and it was lovely sleeping with the window open and listening to waves. We had a great experience with all the staff, waitstaff was very accommodating, activity crew scheduled a stretch class at our request, water aerobics great. I loved the food and the selection. I especially enjoyed the Mexican and Gourmet restaurants that require a reservation but have no additional charge. The hotel caters to more Europeans than Americans which was interesting. Maids are good. All work very hard. Front desk was very helpful to our group, nice welcome drink on arrival and overall a nice experience, I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: I liked older building 1 on second floor overlooking water 1221-1218. The newer buildings are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 813carolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

When we checked in they asked for a reciept to show that we paid and were very rude when we did not have one. Then told us we had to find a computer to print out one from a email(note: they make you pay to use the computer). Then we get to the room and the headboard fell on my wife and hit her in the head !!!! We called the desk and the sent someone to fix it. The guy that came said it happens all the time. Then I go in the bathroom and water is pouring into the bathroom from upstairs. We call again and the manager says she is going to move us to another room and makes us wait 3 hours till we call only to find out she left without resolving the problem. We speak with a manager and have gotten moved to a moldy smelling room and no resolution like they promised. We have 3 more days in this dump and can't wait to leave. The food is terrible and drinks are low quality. The people hound you to sell you packages even while at the beach. The service stinks to say the least. The only good thing is the location. STAY AWAY at all costs !!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This review is long and very detailed, but it can save your vacation!

We visited this hotel 3 times. Just returned Feb. 18, 2011.

MAIN WARNING: poisonous jellyfish in the water due to warmer than usual waters in entire Caribbean region. This is not a hotel problem.
Bring bottle of undiluted vinegar to beach and apply immediately on rushes, especially if watery blisters are present; OR apply immediately urine. Do not wash with sweet water. Hotel does not recognize issue, doctor on sites plays dumb. If not treated immediately, extreme pain follows and weeks of intense rush. My kid is one of the victims … Nasty! This is the hotel’s problem.
Consult Australian websites for more details and measures, look here for signs:

http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&q=jellyfish+rashes&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.,cf.osb&biw=1343&bih=611&um=1&ie=UTF8&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=AYxCT6rSC4Te0QH7sdnzDg

SECOND WARNING: this resort, due to economical reasons, caters more and more to local customers who accept --as a matter of fact-- lower standards. It is not the case with the next-door Iberostar … more expensive for good reasons.

BIG PLUS: daycare for kids (ONE OF THE BEST PROGRAMS AVAILABLE!!!), small building on the beach, plenty tree-shade, with own baby-pool and a superb lady in charge! Main reason for our return.

ANOTHER REASON FOR OUR RETURN: next door, @ IBEROSTAR, you’ll find the best massage of your life – book it with “the German” … if you can.
He’s a real MASTER.


ACCOMMODATION:

This is a 2 tier hotel when it comes to accommodation.
3*** -- 4 **** new buildings
1*-- 3 *** old buildings
Get ready… if you don't buy a SUPERIOR room in the new buildings.
Again, IN THE NEW BUILDINGS.
They'll try to convince you that the old buildings have superior rooms, don't buy it. Get it in writing before you arrive at the hotel, if they don't honor it ask the travel rep. to move you to another hotel. Period.
REAL STORIES: people get a horrid room (usually in building 3, main floor.) If they want to change … can't, unless they pay for an upgrade; upgrade price varies between $20-$60 per day/per room depending on mood of front-desk attendant. Don't waste time with Dominican manager, all under his iron fist, communist style. They’ll dance you via customer service, this and that. Try travel rep., show documents, be firm. Remember: hotel is short for cash.

NEW BUILDINGS: 3*** -- 4 **** GOOD
Total of 3 buildings, only one building has ocean-view.
Best: 2nd/3rd floors, where they don't spray for ants and various other creatures FLOORS: marble
First floor might have (1) flooding issues during rain, look for signs on furniture legs, (2) insects and therefore are often sprayed
BEDS: good and firm, few king-size (get in writing prior to departure), ask for dust- cover to be washed… same for blanket, cheap pillows
FURNITURE: good, modern and well made, good light fittings but change (or bring own) light-bulb for reading, very good drapes. Ample storage, well aired, no moldy smell.
BATHROOM: Jacuzzi tub and separate toilet, plenty of white new towels
TV: flat screen -- BBC, TV5, DW, 57 channels
BALCONY: large, with table and chair
HALLWAYS: lots of natural light, garden-style décor; noisy due to hallway eco, bring ear-plugs
FRIDGE: ask for removal of all items, which consumed or not will show on your final bill. Exception: water and beer, both free.
CLEANLINESS: good, the ladies work hard and a tip (or present) goes a long way
SAFETY: good, turn main door-handle towards far right in order to lock. Lock balcony door on first floor at all times.
SAFETY DEPOSIT: @ extra cost; bring a computer-style cable and a bit of creativity


OLD BUILDINGS: 1*-- 3 *** NOT SO GOOD
Total of 6 buildings. Visit room before you move in, make sure doors lock properly. Moldy, often smelling of insecticide. 4 buildings have ocean-view.
FLOORS: ceramic tiles
CLEANLINESS: good, the ladies work hard and a tip goes a long way
BEDS: old mattresses, firm no more, few king-size (get in writing prior to departure), ask for dust- cover to be washed… same for blanket, cheap pillows
FURNITURE: outdated; poor light fittings but ask for change (or bring own) light-bulb for reading; dusty drapes. Reasonable size storage, not aired, moldy smell.
BATHROOM: inspect shower prior to move in, plenty of white new towels
TV: old style box -- BBC, TV5, DW, 57 channels, issues with reception, check.
BALCONY: narrow, some with table and chair. Many doors do not lock properly!
HALLWAYS: dark or very dark due to lack of lighting during day
FRIDGE: ask for removal of all items, which consumed or not will show on your final bill. Exception: water and beer, both free.
CLEANLINESS: good, the ladies work hard and a tip (or present) goes a long way
SAFTY: fair, lots of rooms lack main door chain (an issue!) or balcony door is brocken. Lock balcony door on first floor at all times.
SAFETY DEPOSIT: @ extra cost; a computer-style cable and a bit of creativity might help.
REAL STORIES (repeat): people get a horrid room, want to change, can't unless they pay for an upgrade; price varies between $20-$60 per day/per room depending on mood of front-desk attendant. Don't waste time with Dominican manager, all under his iron fist, communist style.

PROPERTY GROUNDS: 3***
VEGETATION: mature, no lack of shaded areas, some flowers
Clean. Roads in good repair.
Splendid view of the mountains.

POOL: 3***
WATER: clean, average chlorine concentration
DESIGN: good accessibility, central, large, middle fountain, various turns and depth
CHAIRS: rather old, moldy
TOWELS: old, beaten, one/person, charge $15 if lost. We brought our own, no regrets.
UMBRELLAS: grass hut style, get them early cause they go fast

ENTERTAINMENT: by the pool they try hard, very average. At night, get a drink and try laughing, be nice and understanding. Kids actually like it.

BEACH: 3***
Clean. Wide. Mature trees, no lack of natural shaded areas especially to the left of the hotel. To the right, 3-4 miles for good, long, beach walk.
WATTER: depending on weather, but generally clean, no algae. JELLYFISH is a hidden problem. See details at start of review. Do not underestimate !!!!!!!
Nice waves, no need of water shoes. Gradual entry. Good swimming area for all ages.
SAFETY: generally safe around the hotels, good in the resort when security is on duty… we had few days without … Vendors can be a problem like on any public beach, they sneak in no matter what, sell anything… from sex to national park land… it’s up to you to keep them at bay.
SAND: white, clean
CHAIRS: beaten, moldy, all are left on the beach (not stacked) in great areas diminishing the general aspect.
TOWELLS: old, time for new ones!
HUTS – tent style: a number, go fast; accommodate up to 4 chairs
SERVICE ON THR BEACH: not available.
ACTIVITIES: volleyball , daycare for kids (ONE OF THE BEST PROGRAMS AVAILABLE!!!)


FRONT DESK: 3***
Nice people, care for customer satisfaction but stopped by general manager and his draconian, unpolished manners. The less you have in common with front desk the better … which is exactly what they want.
WORD OF WISDOM: remember, you don’t live there, it’s only for a short time.

FOOD…oh, well. You will have to do some work to identify and gather the quality food. Be creative. Bring own condiments. Have you been to Cuba? Expect the same, you might get better. No reservations.

DAYTIME: 1. Main dinning-room 2. Beach-side restaurant
EVENING: 1, 2, as above and 3. Mexican 4. Brazilian 5. Gourmet

1. MAIN DINNING-ROOM: 2** -- 3***
Due to an increasing number of local customers the quality went drastically down over the last year. Be creative.
STYLE: buffet.
SALAD BAR: basic shredded vegetables (lettuce, cabbage, onion, cooked beats, parsley) basic vinaigrettes. If in need of entire tomatoes and nice peppers feel free to target the decoration on top of all counters.
JUICE BAR: only for breakfast, sugar added to all squeezed juice. Generally speaking all the fruit during our stays, with little exceptions, was of very low quality. Unexplainable.
MEAT: chicken, fish, some pork, all plenty and plainly cooked. Occasional shrimp or frozen octopus; for special occasions lobster (when, if they have it, it’s very good.)
BEANS: lots
RICE: lots
SIDE DISHES: potatoes, pasta, steamed vegies
BREADS: various shapes, same taste
SOUPS: small choice
VARIOUS SALADS: the new form of yesterday’s choices
DESERTS: lots of nasty, questionable creams in various shapes and colors; good custard, acceptable dry cookies. One kind of ice-cream, but not always.
CHEESES: only one kind, the cheapest. Bring (buy) your own and keep in fridge.
WINE: one red and one white, both drinkable. More available @ extra cost.
COFFE: exceptional, at all hours.
SERVICE: nice people, the tip goes far. At dinnertime we didn’t get any service because we didn’t order special wine…

2. BEACH-SIDE restaurant, open 24h 1*
If your kids are too much, you go there. Pizza, some salad, some chicken, hamburgers etc. Has a bar, which serves alcoholic drinks made with local spirit.
Could not find food between 4.30-6pm; if you fly back early evening don’t count on the resort’s food … or make reserves @ lunchtime. No service.

3. MEXICAN or 4. BRAZILIAN (alternatively) 3***
Some nice fish dishes in the Mexican; very good cuts of meet in the Brazilian. Give both a try. Salad bar mediocre, same for deserts (brought from main dinning-room.)
Nice service.

4. GOURMET 3.5***
The nicest restaurant, very good service. A talented chef would do marvels. A definitive yes.

BAR
Local spirits. Fair cocktails.
Buy your special favorite drink at duty free on your way in, or at the local supermarket; have a nice time.

SPA 3***
Not that good, very expensive for what it offers.
You’ll get the best massage of your life – any style, booking with “the German” @ IBEROSTAR, next door. He is a master, trained in the orient. Another reason we have returned to Puerto Plata.

GYM 4****
A good one. Spacious, plenty of new equipment and daylight.

INTERNET 2**
You book it in increments of 15 -30 min, for cash … but they will never tell you when your time is up! They invented a cash machine! Also, make sure you sign off and turn off the internet browser by yourself, otherwise you’ll compromise your security. You can bring your own computer, rates & speed reasonable, security…(???)

TRAVEL REPS 2** -- 3***
Corrupted, self-important. This review is forwarded to the wholesalers with the hope that service improves.

DOCTOR on site
“Didn’t know” we were dealing with major jellyfish stings. Needs to be fired, together with the manager who keeps her in place. A disgrace!

Room Tip: choose superior room AND be placed in one of the new buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
2.2 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
2.1 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,441 reviews
2.1 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,178 reviews
8.6 km away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
1.8 km away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Collection Marien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Collection Marien

Property: Be Live Collection Marien
Address: Carretera Luperon, Km. 4,5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price range (per night): $116 - $360
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Collection Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Collection Marien is an all-inclusive 5-star resort in Puerto Plata, located in the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. With a privileged location synonymous of beautiful settings and its heavenly beaches, it is a perfect place to spend a relaxing vacation whether it is for a romantic getaway or for a family fun adventure. The resort features a spa, nearby golf course for guests and event facilities ideal for hosting special events. This complex is located 1 hour from Santiago de Los Caballeros, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata, known for its rum factories and 30 minutes from Gregorio Luperon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Be Live Collection Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing