We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A friendly hotel”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks a fews years ago at the end of Oct/Nov, weather was great, rained a couple of times but didn't last long. Nice hotel for it's star rating and very friendly. Food and drinks were ok. The rooms were huge, we were given connecting rooms that had a bathroom each. Hotel had 3 pools, the large one with a swim up bar with a bit of shade which was nice. There is a bridge to the beach with a large pond under it with lots of fish the kids enjoyed feeding as they would all jump up for the food. The beach although very nice isn't white like others in the Carribean. Most evenings the entertainment was good. The clientele was really friendly and sociable.

There is a shopping mall and a Casino not far from this hotel, which were both good and made a change.

What I really wanted to review was, a trip we booked at the mall whilst staying here but was unable to find the trip description to do so. It was a lovely Catamaran boat tour that took us to the Bay of CAMBIASO or Puerto Cambiaso. It was a wonderful day sailing and when we arrived at Cambiaso we were met and welcomed by the lovely village people. They were all so eager and proud to show us the way they lived and invited us into their homes which were huts. You could buy sweets to give the children of the village (and you're own of course) and also some hand made items. The trip included lunch which the locals had prepared. Whilst we ate our barbecued chicken, there was live ones running around us! The beach here was absolutely lovely and the very friendly children of the village took you around they bay and even showed you how they caught fish themselves. It was a brilliant day out and the highlight of the holiday!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nil7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,146
    1,376
    576
    253
    178
See reviews for
469
3,060
185
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My family and I have been going to this hotel for the past 6 years. We just got back from there a couple of days ago ( 4 couples ) - Unfortunately, this hotel is going down hill fast . Problems with electronic room keys ( 3 times during the 8 days that we stayed there ) , Pools need maintenance BAD ( the small pool's holding bar that goes into the water is loose and ready to brake - I'm hoping someone does not get hurt ) - the small pool area used to have a FULL SERVICE BAR with a bartender , NO MORE.... it is now a "Self Service Juice Bar" - the main bar in the center of this all inclusive hotel does not open until 6:00pm ( up to last year it used to be open all day and until midnight ) - , at the entrance of the main dining room, there used to be a Morning Natural Shakes Bar, it is now gone....( I guess the new General Manager thought it was unnecessary or something ) , We got there on a Sunday and got our beach towels ( 8 persons ) and we were not able to exchange those same towels until 3 days later - Wednesday ( the excluse given to us was that clean towels were being prepared...yeah right ! ) - We were told a story by an employee we have known for years that just the week before we got there, the General Manager had ordered an employee, to go to this couples room and TAKE AWAY a plate of food the husband had brought from the dining room to his wife, who happened to be sick in bed. Finally, the only thing that has not changed is the personnel, these fine men and women....strive to go way beyond their call of duty to help, serve and keep all customers happy and ALWAYS WITH A SMILE ON THEIR FACES . On the night that for years the hotel has introduced all their Department Heads, guess what....the main person the "General Manager" did not have the courtesy of showing up to introduce himself ( and he was there at the hotel because we all saw him walking around ) Blue Bay Villas at Playa Dorada in Puerto Plata, DR was the JEWEL of Playa Dorada, and now in our opinion it is being destroyed by this man named Santiago Perez (General Manager) who also in our opinion needs a lot to learn about the Hotel business . As a Hotel head he leaves a lot to be desired .
Thanks, for the oportunity of letting everyone know what I feel. Would I ever go back to this hotel ? YES, if a different Manager is around ! - Thanks ......

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I was worried after me and my bfriend booked this holiday/hotel after reading the reviews on here but i cant believe i sat and read all those bad reviews, did people stay somewhere different to us!!!!

Our rep was happy and friendly and she was there to meet us once we collected our suitcases and we had a 20 min trip from airport to hotel, we all talked none stop.
the food was good (didnt get poorly), drinks were strong but they kept on coming we always had a full glass once we finished our last drink, all 3 pools were clean we did spend most of our time in the spa pool as it was peaceful, room was tidy and cleaned every day and nothing went missing.
We booked 4 trips via the hotel: Fiesta 151, Bravissimo Show & Diner (ocean world), Safari Park and the City tour + Cable Car, these were all fab.

**We did have a hurrican warning in our first week, Issac, was due to hit Tuesday 21st but luckly it by passed straight by us and it just rained Wed/Thurs/Fri but hey what do you expect when we booked it in hurrican season, our rep did keep us informed of its process the whole time**

All in all our stay he was AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING, could not fault anything, apart from having to come home, would defo go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I travelled to the Dominican Republic through Thomson holidays, as we landed they informed us we were in hurricane Irene (they knew about the hurricane before we left the UK but only decided to tell us when we laded!) They ditched us at the hotel and we had to deal with it ourselves! The hotel itself was lovely, clean and the staff were as helpful as they could be, but Thomson were terrible - didn't even see the Rep until AFTER the hurricane! I do not blame the hotel for the weather at all, the hotel was very pretty and right on the beach with a great selection of food. But I urge anyone to rethink booking it through Thomson.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TobiJayneCadbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allentown
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The staff made my husband and me feel like welcome friends. Their friendliness and senses of humour kept us laughing all week. Housekeeping did a wonderful job keeping our room spotless and we always had fresh towels. Please remember to tip. They work so hard to give us a vacation to remember we need to remember they have their own families to take care of. The food was great. We enjoyed the buffet as well as all three specialty restaurants. My husband liked the passion fruit juice at the breakfast buffet so much there was always a glass of it in front of him as soon as he walked into the buffet area.We went on 2 excursions, the banana republic catamaran which was so much fun and well worth the money and monkey jungle with zip lining. That is a trip not to be missed! Those monkeys sitting on your shoulder and eating out of your hand was an experience i'll never forget. Plus it's all for a good cause. We are planning a return trip already, This time for 2 weeks instead of just one. Thank you Bluebay for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 39 in Puerto Plata
532 reviews
0.5 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
956 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,403 reviews
2.2 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,625 reviews
2.0 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Property: BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Address: Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada nr 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price range (per night): $161 - $336
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing