We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has its issues, but fell in love with this place all the same”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has its issues, but fell in love with this place all the same”
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Overall this is the best holiday ive been on. The safe were amazing and worked endlessly. Nothing was a hassle for anyone. We did have a few issues in the apartment but things were sorted...on dominican time. The food is varied and of a very good quality. Even had bbq's on the beach. The complex itself is beautiful and very well looked after by the very friendly gardeners. The hospitality was first class and cant praise these people enough. went to ocean world which is fantastic but can imagine would be expensive for a family. paradise island was brilliant but is a good couple of hours bus journey till everything starts, and its a bumpy old journey. Best of all though has to be dominican night or fiesta 151 as it was named. guides very informative and showed you a little about how life in puerto plata is. then ended at a ranch for a 5 course dominican meal and merengue dancing. really was brilliant. fishing trip was a waste of time though. i could imagine this complex could be a little boring for kids amd teenagers though and more for relaxing and kicking back. evening entertainment wasnt the greatest but still have to appreciate how hard the entertainers work. Certainly intend to go back though and anyone who wants sand sea and some enjoys lying back soaking up some sun and reading a book....this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishlassie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,982
    1,744
    956
    412
    274
See reviews for
1,387
2,240
93
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Beautiful location and wasn't too crowded. This resort is in between the Riu Mambo and the Riu Bachata so you can walk freely into the other resorts and benefit from their bars and pools - making it seem like one massive resort. There are a lot of palm trees on the beach, giving great shade when needed, but not enough that you couldn't enjoy the sand. There is a big white gazebo on top of a cliff at one of the beach that you can go visit and see the view. It is gorgeous - the mountains and ocean are stunning. The pools at the Riu Mambo are SO gorgeous but the amount of sparrows flying around were too much for us, we didn't visit that pool again.
Each room has its own stocked free pour bar. We had an oceanview suite and it was awesome. Felt like we had a little apartment on the beach. The food was good, but got a little boring half way through our stay. The drinks were awesome however and often the staff would come down onto the beach with tray of drinks for people sunning. The staff were all amazing - so friendly and helpful, especially one of the managers named Holguin.
I do recommend you wear sandals or thick soled water shoes if you plan on swimming in the ocean. My husband was out in the water and stepped on a few sea urchins and smacked into a couple with his hands resulting in a trip to the doctor. Sea urchins look like spike balls, they float around like jellyfish or stick to the ocean floor. They are very sharp and are quite painful. My husband had 17 'splinters' from his run-in and 4 of them had to be surgically removed from his heels.
The vendors on Caribbean street (the alley between the Merengue and the Bachata where all the shops are) were too aggressive, we would avoid this area at all costs.
We had a really great time at this resort and we would go again. It was all very picturesque. We wanted to go away and basically 'do nothing' - it was a perfect spot for just that. I'll post photos soon.

Room Tip: Try to book a suite - it is well worth the little bit extra you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Well how do i start ive just come back from the riu mingey shall we say and how glad to be home. dont go here with kids only if you like late night partys yobs peeing in the pool stealing things off guests it was like a free for all. oh and not forgeting the prostitutes and drug taking staff. and this is the locals!!! tje staff is rude i spoke to the manager and he said its people having s good time. Well lets just say i dont call this place a good time at all. avoid avoid avoid like the plauge. and if you love your kids stay at home and domt put them into this hell hole its ok for the locals nut but not for us. waste of £2500 get ready thomas cook if you value your customers dont let them go here

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank flithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

we were told there was 3 riu hotels in a row that we could have the use of... the riu mambo is closed!! no explanation as to why.. grounds are maintained on a daily basis, very clean and tidy but maybe they should concentrate more on the rooms,,, basic, wicker furniture, no kettle, crap tv with buttons missing, remote no batteries, clock radio not working, did'nt expect to see cockroaches but they cropped up everyday either in drawers or in your shoes! shame really cos all the staff were lovely and friendly, drinks and food got very boring after a week of the same old same old!!!! enjoyed 2 shows out of the fortnight we were there which is rubbish,,did have an incident where my husbands mobile phone went missing out of the safe, 3 family members checked everywhere so had no option but to report it, after speaking at reception desk for about 10/15mins the manager asked if he could check our safe, he went back to the room with my husband and low and behold when he opened the safe door it was sat ontop of my handbag right infront of their eyes!!!! no way!!!! the bag had been checked 3 times and that was the only item in the safe so how could the phone possibly be sat neatly on top of the bag (not in it)!!! lovely holiday for the weather ut thats all, would i return, no sorry, wasted our money on this one!! nice beach, lovely views, good excursions (expensive though) and they ask for tips at the end which is annoying,,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jharrison69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Second time at this hotel and still as good as the first time. check in was so fast and we had a room close to the lobby so very convenient for everything. They need to get some new beds as they were a bit uncomfortable, but the room was clean and bright and we loved sitting on the balcony in the late afternoon with a drink. There was always hot water for showers and bottled water in the fridge along with pop and beer which was refilled every other day.

Entertainment staff were great and kept us amused when it rained. The shows at night were also very good and if the show at your hotel was not to your liking you could always go to one of the other hotels on the complex. The buffet had a lot of choice at breakfast and dinner, but lunch was a bit poor so we went to the Bachata and sat out on the veranda with our lunch and it was good. I enjoyed the coffee at the bars and they make great spanish coffee. The bar staff are marvelous and they are really quick serving. There are always enough staff on so we didn't have to wait long for anything.

The grounds are really kept well and nice to walk around. The Mambo was closed for some reason so we did not have chance to eat there. The beach is okay and no problem with loungers, there are lots of them. The only time it is busy is on a weekend when the locals come and take over the pool and food areas.

We stayed two weeks and the price was excellent so we were happy with the hotel for what we paid. Would definitely go back again and so would the friends we were with.

Room Tip: Block 5 is very near to the lobby and pools for anyone who is disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OakvilleFrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
14.6 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,060 reviews
0.3 km away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,294 reviews
12.9 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
15.1 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
15.0 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Property: ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price range (per night): $107 - $255
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ClubHotel Riu Merengue (All Inclusive 24h) is located in Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic, and is surrounded by impressive views of the mountains and a lush, natural environment. This is the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. The ClubHotel offers all facilities you could need for relaxing holidays away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You’ll find a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium terrace, a gym and the Renova Spa wellness centre with a range of different treatments and massages as well as a sauna. In the Dominican Republic you can find a wide range of international cuisine, but if you want to make the most of your time in this marvellous destination by sampling Dominican cuisine, delicious in both taste and colour, you can enjoy a wide variety of flavours and aromas, as Dominican dishes mainly consist of fruit and vegetables. In the buffet restaurant or themed restaurant you’ll find an endless range of dishes and recipes prepared by our chefs every day. The hotel shares its facilities with the hotel complexes of the ClubHotel Riu Bachata. You’ll enjoy access to the entertainment programme and activities thanks to the acclaimed All Inclusive system. Whether you’re travelling as a family, couple or with friends, you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep you entertained all day long.. There are areas for enjoying tennis, table tennis, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, bodyboarding, snorkelling, golf, volleyball, swimming and much more. Your children can also enjoy crafts, activities and dancing together with other kids in the RiuLand programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing