We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returning once again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
PORT COLBORNE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Returning once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We are returning to the grand for our 6th visit this march again ,looking forward to meeting old friends , this hotel is by far the best managed hotel in puerto plata, we always get our requested rooms , and service is great , great food beautifull grounds clean and well kept taking daughter and daughter this time there fourth visit .. Mike madere

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MADMIKEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,355
    1,876
    710
    247
    143
See reviews for
1,465
2,023
77
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,089)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just came back from G.V on 24th of February, stayed there for 1 week (Feb 17-24). I was travelling with my girlfriend and also two of our friends that arrived late on Feb 18.
We arrived at the hotel at around 12:30pm. Room was only ready at 3pm.

Rooms are OK, as other people said they need updating, bed was really hard, we had an old TV (it look likes some rooms got new flat screen tvs, the friend we were travelling with were in the Saona building and had one) but honestly i didn't really care since the only time we were in our room was to shower and sleep! We were got our room change since we had power for water. They updated us to an ocean view room which was nice!!

The service at the lobby was not really fast, sometime your able to get your order from the waiters that are walking around the lobby but most of the time you need to go at the bar directly. Again it's not something so bad, but i wouldn't rate that resort 4.5* as some travel site does, more like a 4* or good 3.5*. Except for that, the service was really good, staffs were always smilling, barmans were really cool and took time to chat with people.
For the food, we had no complaints, everthing was good at the buffets and alacarte restaurants. The small buffet close to the beach was really good as well.

For activities we went to Damajaqua waterfall which was nice and also supper and bravissimo show at ocean world. It was a good show, met our expectations. As for the casino at ocean world... we were told by our tour rep from Nolitours that it was the nicest and biggest casino of puerto plata, but honestly, I would say there was only like 50 slots machines and only 20 of them were working. It was a little bit dissapointing

We had sunny weather the 7 days we were at the hotel and the beach was really nice. We met nice people at the resort and even if the lobby bar close at midnight, we always managed to have fun with other people at the resort! I would go back !!

Room Tip: Catalina and Saona building are both close from the beach. Ocean view room is great but don't ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickBeauchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at this resort from Feb. 16 to Feb. 24. We were 14 family members and all had a great time. Beach is clean, lots of tropical to fish to look at. Food was great. Pools are nice. Great staff, made sure that everybody was involved and they knew our names by the time we left. I wish I would have booked for 2 weeks :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaniellaSudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

First time at this hotel, extremely friendly staff, stayed a week and they knew my name...water aerobics was a lot of fun. Always something going on at night, dancing, a show, etc. Good food at buffet, sit down restaurants were great. Can walk to the plaza, a strip of local stores and shops.

Room Tip: Had first floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

the GV remains a good place to stay! excellent food, great ala-carts and clean rooms that serve us well. The views and grounds are beautiful, the golf at Playa Dorada is great. I believe the service is better this year than last as are the shows, the GV is working at being the best resort in POP. There s dancing every night for all and a beach party on saturday the week we re there.......fireworks and all!! We did not play the towel game and got a seat everyday sometimes not going to the beach till noon. I do wish the GV would stick to the no towel gaame rule and clean it out for good! You'll have a great ime here . There s planty to do, plaza, buggy , rim factory and many excursions! The snorkling right in front of the beach bar is great.....I m not a good swimmer and I got into a school of 50 or 60 beautiful colored fish with no food for them at all in 5 feet of water the coral starts and it s loaded with fish..........perfect for a beginner like me :) I don t think we'll go back to POP next year just because it's time to try something new, but if we do it will be at the Gran Ventana . Thanks for another great vbacation!

Room Tip: we stayed in the Catalina building 2 years top floor and it's a great view and close to eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank halifax69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
2.0 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,426 reviews
0.4 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.3 km away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

Property: VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price range (per night): $139 - $434
Hotel Class:4 star — VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Otel, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ventana Beach Hotel
Gran Ventana Dominican Republic
Gran Ventana Puerto Plata
Gran Ventana Beach Resort Puerto Plata
Hotel Gran Ventana Beach
Grand Ventana Beach Resort
Gran Ventana Hotel Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing