We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,451)
Filter reviews
1,451 results
Traveller rating
283
414
275
177
302
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
414
275
177
302
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team fried chicken beach volleyball cleaned daily great trip nightly shows guys canada blast dancing pesos francisco
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,451 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Firstly, I had read all reviews prior to our visit, as I do for anywhere we travel. So much negativity is really not warranted. This is a 3* resort and that is exactly what you get. For the price we paid we were extremely happy from beginning to end of our vacation.

RESORT: The grounds are very well kept and quite pretty. Landscapers working everyday to keep it looking nice. The pool was clean, the workers attended to it every morning. There are plenty of lounge chairs but I suggest a few umbrella's for shade are needed. The lobby is open air and very nice, WIFI was never an issue, worked when we needed it. The Resort is older but clearly everyone is doing the very best to keep it looking nice. We had no issues with the power going out our entire week. As anywhere there may be issues that go on but minding your own business regarding things that have nothing to do with you is the best way to enjoy your vacation. The resort cannot control what some people may do but security and management are there 24/7 to deal with situations.

ROOM: Building 19 -- We paid for a standard room but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to get a lovely 2 floor room. Entered into a dining/sitting area. Flat screen TV and AC that was on and worked perfectly. We had a mini fridge, it was cold and did the job. No issues at all. Up the spiral staircase to a huge bedroom with a king size very comfy bed another flat screen TV and yes, another fully working AC. Walk in shower was clean and fresh as were the towels and linen. We had a huge balcony overlooking the grounds.

FOOD: My husband loves to cook so I am being very fair with my comments. We went with open minds and chose to find the good. Well we were not disappointed. The food was fine, DR food, DR spices, DR ways of cooking. There was always plenty. If you went hungry it was your own fault. The fresh tropical fruit was just amazing !!! Can't get that freshness back home in Canada. The fajitas/burritos were fabulous. The pizza and chicken at the beach was great. No complaints ! They brought in a blender to the pool bar to make slushy drinks and they were very nice too. One tasted just like an old school pink popsicle. They never ran out of any booze the entire week.

STAFF: Cannot say enough about the staff, they give 100%, what a wonderful group of people. For the evening shows it is all the entertainment staff who put them on, Very talented group. Our flight left late in the evening so we asked the day before if we could have late check out. The manager (Ferreira) was wonderful and let us stay in our room until we were ready to check out at no extra cost. I know it is low season but he did not have to do this for us. Now the star of the staff hands down is VICTORIANO at the beach. We have never had better beach service anywhere. He is a 5 star employee and Beach House is lucky to have him ! What a wonderful asset he is.

BEACH: The BEST !! on the entire strip. Great tiki hut shades, no other resort has them. You don't have to keep moving with the sun to stay shaded. Kept very clean and the views spectacular of the ocean itself and the mountains. No rocks in the water all sandy. Morning walks most enjoyable. We loved it !! The locals selling their trinkets and such were not a problem at all. A firm no and they were on their way. Same for the Orange Market just a short walk down the beach.. All friendly, no rude people at all. A little pushy maybe but I love to barter back and forth with them.
There is one strange little man trying to sell horseback riding on the beach. He does not like to hear no and cusses under his breath at you all while making horse noises. We just shook our heads and giggled.

We had a fantastic vacation as we always do. Would we return to Beach House?
YES ! We would and thank you for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Building 19 is great. Renovated and no issues.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
12  Thank Gerri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 June 2017

Wow, wow, wow !!! This was a perfect way of saying, simply the truth, compared to those who believe that compare a 3 star package, with a 5 star rating. Thank you Mrs. GERRI M for describing so well what is quality - price of a product.

Thank you also for mention our Staff, they really work hard in order to pleased our guests.

We are at your service on your next visit because we have a high rate of regular customers in this property each year who love the warmth of our employees and the services we offer.

Thank you very much!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

I Just return from beach house playa dorada, as always i have no cumpla int at all, not many People at all. Love to see my friends from entertaiment. Big hug to francisco, chiki monky, and all the entertaiment team. Robert and Roberto at the bar. I recomended

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Dark2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 June 2017

Dark 2015 Thank you very much for your comments in your recent holidays and enjoyed as the majority of our hotel guests. well knowing they paid for a 3 stars rated resort. - price of a product.

We are at your service on your next visit because we have a high rate of regular customers in this property each year who love the warmth of our employees and the services we offer.

Thank you very much!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

The BEDs are bad, the facility is old, and the food was monotonous. Took till day 7 to get bacon at breakfast. But the Animation and service staff were so great. The resort was really dead and we had them all to ourselves, but they were so great. The language barrier was tough but there always seemed to be someone that could interpret the conversation. If not for the great staff and BEAUTIFUL beach, we would have been very mad. There are a lot of resorts along this strip of beach so I'm sure you could find one to say at that was more up to date. They are trying to renovate so higher end suites but not quick enough.

Room Tip: all rooms we saw were pretty much the same. switched 3 times trying to find a better bed. the renovated suites might be better
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank nicolebB6420CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 June 2017

Dear Nicole , we appreciate your comments in an analytical and conscious way of the service received. It is totally true that the quality is related to the payment of the service.( Value for Money). We are a 3 star resort in the Caribbean, clean, with entertainment and food according to our budgets. However we are open to ideas and working in the areas to improve.

We are sorry for the Bacon at the Breakfast, some period are difficult to find it !!

We hope to serve you again in the future, because we have a high level of customers that repeat our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

This was one of the best vacations I've ever been on. I brought my 3 girls and wow we were welcomed with open arms and made to feel like we were at home.....the food wasn't the greatest but we made do and enjoyed what food we liked....the animation team was amazing with my girls and I. I can't thank you enough for making us feel like we were at home. See ya all next year.
Christie, Emma, Jordyn and Haylie

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Christie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 June 2017

Wow, wow, wow !!! This was a perfect way of saying, simply the truth, compared to those who believe that compare a 3 star package, with a 5 star rating. Thank you Mrs. Christie for describing so well what is quality - price of a product.

We are pleased you enjoyed your recent holidays with your daughters in our Resort.
Thank you for mention our Animation Team, they really work hard to pleased our guests.

We are at your service on your next visit because we have a high rate of regular customers in this property each year who love the warmth of our employees and the services we offer.

Thank you very much!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

worst place ever. I'm not a picky traveller but basics are needed. This is not a 3 star hotel. No air conditioning,so humid in rooms that the floors are always wet. My girl fell 3 times.moldy smell all over the site .Loss of electricity they have there own power supply,I've seen in other comments that the electricity went out once due to a problem but it seems to be frequent. No electricity =no water in washrooms. when electricity comes back the toilettes in public restrooms over flow including everything in it watch where you put your feet.
Food not a lot of choices but not to bad if you're not a picky eater. Yes birds eat in the buffet but this often happens in other places also. Watch out for little flies in food the salads are covered with them.
The only good comment about this place is the staff. If the owners took time to really fix this hotel could become a 3 star but I've been told that this is frequent in the DR owners buy cheap and don't fix. I had a 1 week in this hotel and after 48hrs asked to change hotel.
The comments you read about this hotel are really not exaggerated. You can do like I did and give it a try but at your own risk.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank martine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 June 2017

Dear Martine : Food is a very personal taste form one person to another, when we compare what we really like or have higher expectations than we have paid.

The main buffet contains 9 salads (vegetables, fruits and combinations with dressing). 10 different hot dishes, always a bird, beef, pork or pork chop, fish or seafood, pasta, steamed or boiled vegetables, boiled potatoes or steamed or paprika, rice, grains, etc.

Also a station to the draft; To finish in front of the customer, with different pastas and sauces, or turkey, or pork ribs, beef leg on slides, tacos, fajitas, etc.

Every night a different theme or international cuisine, giving variety to our guests in the gastronomy of different countries, including Dominican cuisine.

2 a la carte restaurants alternated during the nights, in Mexican and a Grill on the Beach. Also a snack on the beach.

All this for an economical holiday price, family oriented, rooms, domestic drinks included, entertainment during the day and at night, every night with different shows and nightclub.

The hotel is a 3 star economical and clean. You should not compare with other 4 or 5 star properties with a higher price and other standards that include the price. (Value for money)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews