We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,676)
Filter reviews
2,676 results
Traveller rating
1,665
663
224
73
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,665
663
224
73
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun clubcoco cafepizza shopwindows buffetda mariogaucho grillcastaways restaurantno reservations requiredmain poolasian restaurantfoam partygreat resorta la carte restaurantsrecommend this resortkids clubfamily vacationentertainment team
Filter
Updating list...
855 - 860 of 2,676 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Had a wonderful time, employees was excellent, food and drink was awesome, would visit again. was very happy with my choice. We stayed in the Sun Club section and was very clean and service was great.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear ballen02,

Thank you for choosing Sunscape Puerto Plata Resort & Spa for your recent vacation, and the Sun Club. It was a delight to host you, we are happy to confirm that you had such a relaxing experience overall. It's good to know you liked the hotel and services.

We will let our staff know about your compliments, and look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

People make the difference, so lets start there. The staff at Sunscape were terrific. They catered to our every need! I found them polite and always had a smile on their faces. The rooms were clean and tidy and everything you need for a week of fun in the sun. If you are looking for a little more, try the Sun Club. My wife and I got married at Sunscapre Puerta Plata so as little treat we upgraded to the Sun Club...It didn't cost allot and was well worth it! The location was perfect with only a short drive from the airport. The resort is well laid out with everything only a short walk away. We were a group of 17 people ranging from 8 years old to 72 and there was something for everyone. Have a taste for something specific? You can find it here! The resort has a dinning accommodation for many types of cuisine and it was all very good judging by the 5 pounds I put during the week. :) Looking to get married on the beach? Go to Sunscape, you won't regret it! Like any wedding there's always so many details, but when planning a destination wedding you need a good coordinator and ours is the best there is!!! Thank you Germy Almonte becuase without you this would not have been the amazing event that is was!!!

I don't always judge based specifics, but often just by the impression it leaves and Sunscape - Puerta Plata we won't soon forget. We will be back !

Kirk - Mississauga, Ont

Room Tip: Sun Club , treat yourself you are on vacation
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Kirk P,

Thank you for choosing Sunscape Puerto Plata for your holidays.

You cannot imagine how proud we are for receive your wonderful review regarding your experience with us. Thank you so much for sharing your positive thoughts about us.

We are conscious that is a big challenge to please everyone, but we are doing all sorts of efforts to make it possible. Surely, your comment will help other travelers to clarify their doubts as regards the services and accommodation that we are offering.
Thanks for highlighting our excellent staff; we will share your review with those you mentioned.

Once again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

I stayed here for one week. It was a very great resort. The food, service and views were all fantastic. I would defiantly go back in the future. The resort has many food options and many things to do throughout each day. The staff were all very nice!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Darren B,

Thank you for choosing Sunscape Puerto Plata Resort & Spa for your recent vacation.
And thank you for your nice comments, it is a pleasure for us to know you spent a grateful experience here.

We will let our staff know about your compliments.
It's good to know you liked the hotel and services, thank you very much.

Warm Regards,

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

We went to Sunscape for the first time last week and we had a good time. The resort was clean and the food was good. The wifi worked very well and I never had a problem with it. Playa Dorada is a very safe area.

On my third day I lost my kindle but a wonderful lady found it for me. She worked at the lobby bar (her name started with a N I believe). Also, on our last day we met Marbel who takes care of the music. He was extremely nice and we could see how much he cared about his job. We wish we could have meet him sooner!

It was a good resort but if I return to Puerto Plata I would go back to Riu Batchata instead. It felt more exotic and the views were better from the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StareDecisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear StareDecisis,

Thank you for choosing Sunscape Puerto Plata Resort & Spa for your recent vacation.
It was a delight to host you, we are happy to confirm that you had such a relaxing experience overall.

It's good to know you liked the hotel and services.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

The staff was friendly, but this was not like our other stays in Amsresorts. Not anything like Now or Dreams. No one was serving drinks poolside. The meals were hit or miss. A lot of smokers. No room service available. You get what you pay for. If you are looking for clean, friendly staff and inexpensive then this is the resort for you. Would not go in April the humidity was gross. The resort is older. "Carnival cruise line" feel to the guests.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank B9758GFjennifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunscapePuertoP, eConcierge at Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear B9758GFjennifers,

Thanks for your comments. As a service oriented company, we understand there is always room for improvements and our guests’ experiences play a key role in this continuous process. We have been working in order to improve each one of the areas you mentioned, as it is our main priority to provide excellent service in all areas.

We are very grateful for your honest feedback and we hope to see you in a future so you can witness all our improvements.

Warm Regards,

Kelvin Vásquez
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Playa Dorada
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana
Tel. (809) 320-5084 Ext. 2002
info.supop@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews