We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large & Lovely Apartment has it All”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Home from Home

front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of house
Climb the steps on the right Private entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
front of house
Climb the steps on the right
Private entrance
go past the Honorary Consul Office
spacious sitting room
plenty of books to read
Dining table seats six
outside eating balcony
View from the breakfast balcony
well equipped kitchen
Master bedroom
with sea view and a/c
King size bed
balcony off the master bedroom
Balmy evening seating
en suite bathroom
solar hot water
Shower and tub
Double Bedroom with a/c
Queen size bed
Twin bed room
Sea Views
Shared shower room
we can arrange Boiling Lake Hikes
15 minutes drive to snorkelling
World class diving
Emerald Pool
Papillotte restaurant and Gardens
Scots Head
Hot pools for relaxation
Screws
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Roseau, Saint George Parish, Dominica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
TurkeyTra...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Large & Lovely Apartment has it All”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for two weeks in Home from Home, a very comfortable, roomy and well-appointed apartment in Goodwill, on the edge of the small city of Roseau. The apartment is above the owners apartment, up in the breeze and tree tops of the Goodwill hillside. While we technically rented only the master suite to ourselves, no one else was there (there is another bedroom and bath) so we had the large living room, fully stocked kitchen and lovely back-yard balcony to ourselves.

Everything in the apartment is very comfortable and convenient - the large, firm mattress, pleasant furniture, front-loading washer, excellent, quiet air conditioner in the bedroom, loads of towels, great wi-fi, and roomy kitchen with everything a cook could want. We really liked going to the everyday farmer's market and the fish market and cooking up what we found there.

The high ceilings with exposed roof beams in the common rooms are lovely, and we found the apartment breezy and comfortable. Lots of standing fans around, too, if the breeze isn't enough. There are views of the sea from the bedroom and kitchen.

Owners Tina and Harry are wonderful, helpful people. They also have the "Birdwatcher's Rainforest Retreat" up in the cool rainforest mountains, not far from the Emerald Pool. We spent two nights there and highly recommend this quiet get-away with the rainwater pool just off the wrap-around deck. Harry is a fisherman that can take you out if you arrange in advance. Tina organizes all sorts of outreach programs, and is happy to arrange a day of volunteering - a great and fun way to get to know more about Dominica. We did an art project in a local school. Even if you don't have the time to volunteer, Tina can let you know what might be a useful thing to bring as a donation.

One note to late sleepers: there is an office for the Honorary British Consulate right next to the master bedroom, with what looks like a permanently locked door in between. It wasn't a problem for us, but the phone does start ringing at 8 am M - F. And we would be remiss to not briefly mention the neighborhood dogs, who often barked continuously from dark till dawn. We live in a city and thought nothing could wake us up, but ear plugs were needed. There are roosters crowing at dawn in the distance, but nothing that could wake you. After being in the more touristed downtown area in the evenings, I would think loud music there would be just as much an issue. Just bring earplugs.

All in all, Home from Home is a most charming, sweet place to stay in a real neighborhood, not at all touristy, and very convenient and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: non-touristy, real neighborhood and fabulous kitchen
Liked least: dogs barking at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
We really enjoyed hosting Shane and Julia for their anniversary. 50 Massacre Primary School children loved their art class and we were pleased to be able to offer a couple of nights in the forest. Sorry about the dogs, Goodwill's version of car alarms and traffic noise. The rooster can be annoying too, he seems to have broken his clock since a hurricane blew his house away and he took refuge in the mango tree.HOpe you will come back again for more snorkelling and hiking and next time you will get to go in the hottub in the rainforest
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean H K
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Quiet refuge in sea of worries”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

It was more than the silver lining on the rain cloud that brought us into this property, mainly through the agent of our cruise ship in Dominica. My wife had a mishap at the snorkeling beach and we had to abandon ship because the hospital treatment took more time than we anticipated.
While my wife waited for further developments and decisions from the surgeon regarding her fracture, in walked Tina Alexandre, the Honorary Consul of Britain in Dominica. She owns a guest house as well as two cottages, though I never got to visit the latter.
The moment she arrived, this wonderful woman took charge, first by calming our nerves just through her factual presence and knowledge of the hospital system, then by taking us to the supermarket to procure the food we would have that night, and finally she took us to her home near the Princess Margaret Hospital, where we became first aware of her diplomatic status. We were offered our choice of the three rooms on the upper level, a spacious apartment with two side offices for the Consul and the secretary. Everything was ready to receive us and to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The kitchen was well stocked with items one usually does not buy but still uses, such as cooking oil, etc. cold water in the fridge, tea and coffee and much more. While my wife got ready to rest, I made something to eat (first stuff since breakfast!) and we had supper while her excellency because of her excellent organisational skills and hospitality as well as the diplomatic title) already made a list of things we needed in addition to the passports which I had already retrieved from the ship.
She knew and advised what documents we would need from the doctors to return home. She also took over when I got nowhere trying to connect with our insurance company. And she continued doing this while I had a chance to survey the generous supplies and equipment available to the guests in this location. While I used the WiFi (free) to send the necessary messages, she was on the phone explaining the situation, talking to the ship's agent who in turn made the necessary arrangements the next day to let us retrieve our luggage on the next island, Antigua. She also supplied us with some pain medication so we did not need to find a pharmacy at this late hour, and gave the necessary information to the insurance when the latter finally connected. As well we had access to all those little things one usually has in the suit-case but does not take on a snorkeling trip, like toothbrush or tooth paste, shampoo etc. things one only expects in a four star hotel against a charge.
There were some dogs keeping watch around the property (identified by the barking) the night and the rooms were quiet, all was clean and the bed very comfortable - we had the master BR, with king size bed.
Sufficiently rested we enjoyed the complimentary coffee and had our breakfast while Tina already made arrangements for our repatriation via Antigua. During all that time she also took care of her other two properties which expected new guests that day, and ran errands she needed to do.
While I don't expect this kind of involvement to be customary for all the guests, I was advised that it has been for the over thirty cases where she became the refuge for tourists who needed special care, like us. She is the no.1 referral by the ship's agent.
Thanks to Tina's involvement our repatriation went relatively well, her suggestions and tips allowed us special consideration with the air lines, and her constant care got us on the way to the airport in due time for our flight to Antigua.
While a lot of her involvement does not necessarily relate to the rooms or the full apartment, I could observe similar care and welcome when the next house guests arrived just prior to our departure. Care and organisation like this translates into stays with the maximum pleasure and enjoyment as the circumstances permit.
Your Excellency, please receive our most profound thanks and keep on the great work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Absolute helpfulness of the proprietor.
Liked least: the dogs could get a little noisy...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2015
It is good to know you got safely home. Just a little correction I am a volunteer as the British Honorary Consul so no "Excellency" deserved and no diplomatic status enjoyed. In fact as Canadians what you accessed and paid for was our Lifeline Hospital Support Service. To have a disaster on holiday is very trying and we try to do what families do for their loved ones in a health crisis in Dominica in terms of practical and emotional support. We hope you will revisit Dominica in the future and have a proper rest and explore this beautiful place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellin...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Definitely feels like home!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Tina's house is very comfortable, we loved staying there and particularly appreciated Tina's warm welcome! It's very spacious, very well equipped and really felt at home for a few days. It's also nicely located to organise day-trips in the south of Dominica. If you want to hike to the Boiling Lake, ask Tina and she'll contact a very knowledgeable guide (Hagan) who really made it a great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the garden
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2014
Hagan is featured in Lonely Planet and really is a remarkably able guide, We first knew him as a committed dad to his disabled child, however I would recommend him to hikers of all standards just tell him how much talking you want. He has enough local knowledge to fill the whole 6 hours or he can happily leave you to enjoy the ambiance of the Valley of Desolation and Boiling Lake as intrepid explorere
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annjQuebe...
Becancour
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable stay!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Again a wonderful time with the Alexanders, special day at Mero beach and finger licki'n ice cream. I especially enjoy our friday LADIES NIGHTS out and meeting Dominicans! World women's prayer service in the Methodist church was a treat. Tina is always ready to show us her world. Thank-you Tina for a wonderful Dominican experience!
In friendship .....Jane Anne & Claude

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2014
So nice to have you with us again ( is it eight years running?) We are always pleased to show you the latest eating place, hot pool or charitable event!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rauturier...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
Lovely to have this little family to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing