We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
245
143
40
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
143
40
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomwrap around porchgarden view villafood packageshore excursionbig sliding doorsnice villatiny antsjan thielnespresso coffee machinenatural poollarge porchlaundry roomfitness clubbeach bedsair conditioningdaily cleaning
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Stayed here for two weeks in an ocean view unit. The were only two of us, so we really only needed one bedroom but used the extra room to store luggage.

Bed was comfortable and bathroom was nicely laid out, kitchen had everything we needed. The grocery store near by had a good selection. Rented a car for one week of our stay so explored the island.

Most days were spent either at Jan Thiel beach (fabulous snorkling!) or at the resort pool or on the deck reading.

Absolutely no complaints about anything.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yukonifm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papagayo_C, Community Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Yukonifm,

Many thanks for such a wonderful review! We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our convenient location made it even more memorable.

Do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of service to you (reservations@papagayo.com), as we look forward to welcoming you back to Curaçao & Papagayo Beach Resort!

Warm regards,
Team Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

The villas look amazing, but don't judge a book by the cover. The villas are excruciatingly hot, I am Brazilian and I am totally ok with warm weather, but the villa was just a terrible sauna. The porch, the wooden floors, the windows which have no glass or isolation contributes to the stinking moldy smell and heat. The doors to the porch were impossible to open and if you did manage to open them (after much sweat blood and tears,) then you'd find yourself in a dirty porch with an even worse heat.

Airco was only available in the bedroom and cooking or having dinner at the table felt like being inside a volcano, with the heat and the terrible smell of mold. The shower temperature couldn't be set and only a cold shower could be taken, in both bathrooms, and god did they smell like mold??? The food package Which was promised in our booking came two days later... the couches were not comfy at all, but yes, they look beautiful! Should I go on? I thought this was a 4/5 stars villa?

A few days later we moved to the Livingstone resort next to the Papagayo. We were expecting to find even less comfort since the houses were cheaper and less "designy". We found an airy house with tile flooring and big fans in the living room. The bathrooms (and the whole house, really!) were clean and airy, making our stay much more comfortable and pleasant...even though they had much less good looking furniture... in other words, don't be fooled, the papagayo villas look great, but they put form over factor....

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Gabriela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papagayo_C, Community Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Gabriela V,

Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations. The concept behind our Design Villas is to bring the outside inside so you can have a wonderful Caribbean experience, maybe the Hotel would be a better choice for you since we offer beautiful rooms with air conditioner and ocean view,

Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to improve our services going forward. We are truly sorry and hope you will consider giving us a second chance in the future.
Do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of service to you, as we look forward to welcoming you back to Curaçao & Papagayo Beach Hotel/Resort.

Warm regards,
Team Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Me and my wife had a veeery nice time at Papagayo. The room was excactly as i was expecting, it is a very quiet hotel, perfect if you are looking for a nice place to rest. My wife loved the breakfast buffet.

We will get back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papagayo_C, Community Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Carlos H,
Many thanks for such a wonderful review! We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us!

Do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of service to you (reservations@papagayo.com), as we look forward to welcoming you back to Curaçao & Papagayo Beach Resort!

Warm regards,
Team Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent! Book It!

In response to your questions: no worry over having a pool bar. One is In the process of being completed. If it's not completed no worries bar people are constNtly going around asking if you'd like one. Not sure about room service but you can email or call They are quick to respond. There are drinks offered on the beach. There is a bar with stools on wAy to beach. There is also a restUrant with buffet on way to beach. There is a bar off lobby and a bar downstairs in disco. The restaurants are excellent as is the buffets. Quite a very nice selection there are carts driving you around if you choose not to walk. There is also transportTion to downtown for a nominal charge. You won't go wrong booking this place!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank margaret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papagayo_C, Director of Sales at Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hi margaret s,

Thank you so much for your nice review and beautiful score!! We are very pleased to hear you had a great time staying with us and enjoying our facilities. We'll hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sunny regards,
Team Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, clean bathroom, several resturants on site to eat at. Staff wonder always available to help. Breakfast is buffet style, not worth $20. The menu needs to be updated or the price lowered. Also there are iguana on the beach. The droppings are everywhere and in pool. Please work on keeping the grounds clean. Especially the beach area where we walk.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tonivacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papagayo_C, Community Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Tonivacations,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review. It was our pleasure hosting you at Papagayo Beach Resort. We are thrilled to know our convenient location and outstanding hospitality helped make your stay a memorable one.

We will use your feedback to make the necessary adjustments in our service. Do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of service to you (reservations@papagayo.com). We look forward to you having a more pleasant experience during your next stay.

Warm regards,
Team Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews