We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Was expecting more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel 't Klooster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Was expecting more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

I did quite a bit of research when choosing where to stay on Curacao before choosing this hotel. I thought the downtown location and the former purpose of the building looked pretty cool, and I really wanted to like it. I agree that after having seen it in person, the location is kind of weird. We had a rental car, so it wasn't a problem, but it's in a commercial area by a school and other businesses. We could hear traffic going by our room all night long, every night. I didn't see anything in the neighborhood we would want to walk to.

The service from the management was really what left me underwhelmed. I'm not sure if it was just the nature of the place (maybe people there aren't as warm as they are in other Latin/Caribbean countries), but the management sitting in their air-conditioned office seemed less-than-eager to help. The other staff (the women working in the kitchen, the chef, the bartender, the night watchman) were all friendly and helpful, though. The restaurant was excellent,and the chef was very flexible in dealing with dietary restrictions.

When my friend arrived a few hours before I did, she was checked in and saw that the price they quoted her was more expensive than what we'd received in our email reservation. We got that straightened out the next morning, but when she had checked in, they didn't really show her the room--we had no idea until the 2nd night that we had another little bedroom behind a locked door.

The way the bathroom shower is made, water was always left standing when you were done using it. And then when you closed the bathroom door, the towels didn't dry (no AC in bathroom) because of the humidity. I'm not sure why, but they didn't empty the trash while we were there.

I liked the garden area with the comfortable seats and beautiful tropical plants. Make sure you use insect repellent, though.

By the way, it was much muggier in that downtown area than where we stayed on the beach.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are rooms that don't face the street, but if there are, be sure to ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brasilicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    83
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
103
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

It's a renovated abby a very long way from anywhere you would care to walk through a not so attractive neighborhood. A street bum wandered into the outdoor patio where I was trying to have a drink and dinner begging for money. Rooms a pretty goth and kind of stale and grimey. You can to better for the price in Willemstad.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derfy1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel was a little challenging to find but I did find it. The best thing about the hotel is the restaurant. Yes pricey but the chef was very nice and cooked what we wanted. He cooked the seafood and it was heavenly!!!
If I had to do it again I wouldn't pay for breakfast because it is very expensive. It is convenient but it is the type of breakfast that you get at a Comfort Inn for free.
The first night we ended up sharing a bed because we didn't know there was a separate bedroom behind a locked door until we asked the next day about the cost of the room for what we were promised. The also wanted to charge us more than what was agreed so it is a good thing we had a copy of the email we sent them.
They don't have American adapters for electronics so make sure you have the round ones for Europe. There is free wireless, yeah. The neighborhood is transitioning so I wouldn't walk at night. You can also park on the street easily. Ask for a room away from the street because there is lots of traffic all times a night. The flowers on the property are really beautiful!
I was there for the jazz festival and the hotel has alot of information to help us navigate the event.
The last thing…mosquitoes are everywhere and I was bitten in the room many times. They do have bug spray.

I would stay again if I wanted to be in the town but I enjoyed the resorts better!

Room Tip: Away from the STREET!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Hotel Klooster is a very cute and quaint European style hotel. It is in a safe part of town about a 15 minute walk from the floating bridge and local shopping areas. We were there during a holiday,flag day, so many things were closed on the weekend. The hotel was very quiet, not a lot of guests in July, but it was a nice place to go and relax.

The rooms were small, perfect size, with a small tv. They were very clean and the AC worked great. It was quite relaxing. There are coffee pots in the room. Remember to bring an adapter and energy converter if you are coming from the US, as they have European outlets. We brought adapters but did not bring a converter.

The free WIFI was nice. They also had a breakfast in the morning, we did not eat there, but it looked plentiful. The staff there was amazing and very helpful. The interns were also great, kind and extremely helpful online and in person.

The pool is small, but nice to soak in on a hot afternoon.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank litabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

While visiting Curacao from neighboring island Bonaire for the Curacao North Sea Jazz festival (which was incredible, by the way!!) we looked for a small boutique hotel within walking of Willemstad. We found what we were looking for in "t Klooster" and more. How about being treated as a VIP-guest in a tastefully remodeled monastery? Former monastery chapel is now a stylish grand-cafe/restaurant, there is a secluded inner court yard with plunge pool and the rooms are perfect for a few days in the city.
We highly recommend "t Klooster" to friends & family

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMBonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.2 km away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.4 km away
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
#19 of 32 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 km away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#18 of 32 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.2 km away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
3.1 km away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel 't Klooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel 't Klooster

Property: Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Address: Abraham de Veerstraat 12 | Pietermaai, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Price range (per night): $112 - $240
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel 't Klooster 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia APAC so you can book your Boutique Hotel 't Klooster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing