We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 234
USD 226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scuba Lodge & Suites(Willemstad)
USD 127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz Village Hotel(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
USD 94
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
USD 271
USD 216
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kura Hulanda Village & Spa(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
USD 246
USD 107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
USD 141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 411
USD 161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 345
USD 145
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveller rating
485
333
81
33
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
333
81
33
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean encounterssea aquariumchill grillmeter lap poolocean frontfishbreakfast packagefree shuttlegreat beachgrocery storeopen watertwo bedroom apartmentdiving schoolrented a carbeach chairssmall fridgedolphin academy
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 947 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with my BFF after spending out first 4 days at The Renaissance. Hotel nice and clean and beach is gorgeous.
Pros: beach, beach beach.
Location: right beside Mambo so LOTS of places to eat. Right beside the Sea Aquarium and dive shop also.
Room: clean. Housekeeping (Veronica) was fantastic.
Snorkelling : amazing! I could snorkel all day here, and never be bored....

Cons: beds were awful. Really, really hard mattress with tiny hard pillows. We kept waking up during the night as we were hot and our backs were killing us.
Bathroom: lots of noise comes through bathroom window as it doesn't have glass - just wood shutters. Our room on second floor faced the strairs so we could hear people at night walking up and down, back and forth.
They only provide a multi soap in a wall dispenser on shower and bathroom - apparently for environmental reasons but it's not very good and the soap dispenser beside our sink didn't work when we checked in and stopped working again on day 5.
Staff: staff from Hemingway who served you on the beach were not very friendly and service was not great. We gave good tips but it didn't seem to matter.
Environmental : Lion's Dive is big on being environmentally friendly yet they still use straws. We would also pick up garbage (straws, empty cigarette packs and juice boxes) when we got to the beach. Now it's not the hotels fault that their guests disrespect the area, especially when there are garbage cans everywhere. But every morning, staff would come out and rake the sand and sweep off the loungers, but would walk right by garbage left from the day before. There was a water station at breakfast so we would refill our bottles, but don't know if there was a water station throughout the day, as we were never informed at check in.
Breakfast: not worth $20 USD/person. But staff at breakfast was very nice.

We still had a great time here and if they get better mattresses, I'd stay again! Recommend Ocean Front room, as the view is spectacular with a nice big balcony.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info L, Manager at Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Dear Erin S

We thank you for your stay at LionsDive Beach Resort Curaçao and for sharing your detailed stay experience with us.
We would have loved that your stay meet all your expectations we are sorry .
But we highly appreciate all your valuable observations and be assured we will share this with the Management team.
Your compliments to Veronica of Housekeeping has been shared with her.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future and thank you for your recommendation.

Sunny Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

We are frequent travelers and have never been treated as poorly as we were here - would give zero stars if possible. Despite receiving a confirmation number via email for a king room with a view and providing a copy of this during check in, upon arrival to the resort we were told we didn't have a reservation and they didn't have any king rooms only a room with two very small beds and a view of a parking lot with a dumpster below our balcony. As a couple we were looking forward to one king bed and a romantic ocean view. We were not allowed to speak directly to a "reservation specialist" even though that person was 10 feet away. Instead the woman checking us in kept going to speak to them and coming back to us - felt like being conned by a used car salesperson. We had no other choice but to take the awful room but only wanted it for one night to rest after traveling all day, then we wanted to check out and find a nicer hotel. Strangely, the next morning they miracuously had a better room (ready to move in at 8am - strange that it wasn't available the night before) but with a large upcharge. We told them no thank you we would just like to check out and pay for our one night. They gave us a bill for a full week and said they didn't give refunds - this from the same staff that told us we didn't have reservations to begin with. When we refused to pay more than one night they called in a manager who took us to a back room with a guard at the door and proceeded to argue with us and accuse us of lying. We felt unsafe and left as quickly as we could. We thought we paid for only one night but we just received our credit card bill - they charged us 7 days despite the fact we only stayed one night. Horrible, horrible experience.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info L, Manager at Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Mrs. Margaret G

First of all, we want to thank you for your sharing your concern with us .
Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment at your recent stay at our hotel.
We are extremely concerned to read your comments with regard to your overall experience at the hotel
It is always our highest priority to ensure that our guests leave the hotel happy and satisfied at all times.
We would greatly appreciate that you give us the opportunity to speak to you personally.
We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and disappointment caused and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Lions Dive resort has it all, 2 min walk to the Aquarium. Restaurants on the property, private beaches and pools. Lots of beach chairs and shade. Lots of rooms but not overcrowded. Free bus into town.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank annmP4932ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info L, Manager at Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear annmP4932ND

Thank you for your stay at LionsDive Beach Resort and for sharing your stay experience
With great pleasure we read this review whereby you describe your stay as Curacao Best Relaxing trip .
We are happy to know that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and enjoyed the facilities, amenities and services.
We would be more than honored to welcome you back in the near future.

Sunny regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

This was our first time visiting Curaçao and before we even left we were planning our next visit.
The airport was small but efficient. There were plenty of Taxis, and several that could accommodate our group of 8. We made it to our resort in 20 min from the airport for $50.

The check in at Lions Dive was quick and we were escorted to our gorgeous one bedroom suite (511) quickly. The view was just amazing.
The entire suite was perfect for our family of 4 with an adjoining balcony to our friends. The king size bed was very comfortable and the pull out in the living room was as well.

The kitchen was perfect. Once we got the hang of the multipurpose oven we loved it.

Each day there was a shuttle to the local grocery store where you could buy reasonably priced food, wine and beer. Shopping kept the cost of the stay down as the restaurants were pricey, especially the drinks.

The beach was out of this world! Perfect for our pile of kids. The 50 meter pool was the most beautiful resort pool I have ever seen. It was so clean and and the temperature was perfect. The early morning hours catered to those who did laps and the afternoon to the kids who played in it.

The grounds were immaculate.

All of the staff was kind and many took the time to learn your name. This attitude carried over to those staying at the resort as well, everyone said hello, good morning and so on.

Being able to drink water from the tap is also a plus.

I cannot find one bad thing to say except the night club noise for our rooms was loud but the kids all slept through it. I would gladly stay in the same room again despite the 2 nights of noise.

Take the time to have pasta at Piazza and the meat skewers at Chill. Hemingway’s was just ok and we didn’t try Nemo.

Lastly, rent the giant floating raft for $10 an hour, that was a blast!


Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank jillian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info L, Manager at Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear jillian k

We want to thank you for stay and for sharing your LionsDive experience with us.
A guest who’s visiting Curacao for the first time and already planning their next visit before leaving , precious words is not enough to express our gratitude.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and also of the facilities we offer.
We aim daily to provide our guests a personal and excellent service and we are delighted when our guests go home with a memorable experience.
Don’t hesitate to contact us when you have planned your next visit .

Sunny Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing vacation at Lions Dive! The hotel was excellent in the most perfect location on Mambo Beach.  
 
Rooms- We were a little disappointed with the rooms to be honest. I had emailed a few times prior to arriving to request a high floor room, upon arrival we received a ground floor room which was handicap accessible and old. We asked for a different room according to our requests and were given a higher floor, nicer room. However the rooms are very tiny and very basic. No seating area, just two double beds, desk and wardrobe with mini fridge. We made the best of it as the shared balcony overlooking the water was nice. We opted to take the free shuttle to the grocery store (which is amazing by the way-HUGE variety of foods, organic and gluten free options as well as wine and liquor. Also great prices unlike some other islands. ) We asked the hotel for plates and wine glasses to enjoy cheese, fruit, bread and jams in our room each morning or evening. The rooms were cleaned daily and though we left a tip each day under the pillow- the maid did not take it. A few days we did not get towels replenished until the afternoon, but they left a sweet note, we didn’t mind at all as they were always there by late afternoon. They do not have face cloths so bring your own if you need one.
 
Staff- EXCEPTIONAL staff, willing to go above and beyond anytime of the day. We had issue with our room when we arrived and they were quick to switch us. Customer Service was excellent, friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Tessa, Shettica and Marianne you made our stay wonderful.
 
Grounds- The resort grounds are beautiful and incredibly clean all the time. It is a small property and very well maintained. Does not seem small though, being so close to Mambo beach. The beach areas are beautiful and also very well maintained and monitored, to avoid non guests from staying without a day pass. Even with cruise ship guests there was plenty of seating in both the sun and shade. Lounger service is available and they will bring you drink and lunch menus on request.
 
Restaurants- So many restaurants to choose from in close proximity. I do not recommend staying All Inclusive as it is much cheaper and more variety eating off the resort. There are so many options on Mambo beach and in Punda and Otrobanda. (See specific reviews I wrote about various restaurant options). The restaurants on property you can charge to the room which is helpful.
 
Car rental- We opted to rent a car for two days from the rental company on resort property. We should have booked prior to our vacation in hindsight to get the days we wanted. The driving was very easy and we explored the whole island over two days. There are no GPS units in the vehicles so we downloaded offline google maps- highly recommend doing this. The island was very safe and we enjoyed visiting local beaches, restaurants, road side smoothie stands as well as touristy locations such as:
Hato Caves
Ostrich Farm
Grote Knip beach (best beach EVER!)
Casa Abou beach
Porto Marie beach (feeding pigs)
Playa Piscado beach (not a great beach but turtles are fed by local fisherman there and you can swim with them)
Santa Martha lookout
Boka Tabla
Curaçao Sea Aquarium (2 minute walk from resort)

Looking forward to returning! This resort is the most perfect location with all amenities close by! If your picky about rooms, you may want to upgrade from the standard room.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dawn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info L, Manager at Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Dawn Q

On behalf of the LionsDive team thank you for your stay and for sharing your stay experience with us.
We are happy to read that you found the location perfect and that our staff made your stay exceptional.
Your kind words and observations will be shared with the team.
We are glad you explored our lovely island of Curacao.
We would be more than honored to welcome you back .

Sunny Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews