We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort, had an amazing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Resort was amazing: little houses in the middle of an amazing garden: this was very beautiful and you never had the 'big hotel' feeling where it to crowded. You share a swimming pool with +- 4 houses which makes that most of the time you swim alone.

Cabana beach was nothing special: just a beach where you can also eat (but we found it to pricy for what you get).
Mood beach: (open since 1 year): this was the beach that made our vacation!! Very cosy, very chique, live music, experienced staff, kitchen was the best of the island!! In my opinion: the best investment they ever made!

The only downside we experienced: late night party's from the neighbours.. (till 3 am). This was very loud. Tip for management: let your guest know when this will happen, so they can be prepared. The last time we knew there would be a party, so you can prepare for it, and join the party yourself!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Sam,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your review and stay at Kontiki Beach Resort.

I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our resort. Thank you so much for your kind words about the little houses, our tropical garden and salt water swimmingpools. I am glad to read that Mood Beach made your vacation! I really take care of your feedback about the late night party's from the neighbors.

Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future to Kontiki Beach Resort!

Kindest regards,

Terence vd Valk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

We had a nice room located in a beautiful, tropical surrounding. We enjoyed the wonderful pool in front of our patio. We booked half board and were surprised about the high quality of the food! But unfortunately the service in the cabana beach restaurant did not convince us at all. Almost everything took too long, after a hint given to staff it became better! We would like to mention Rafie, a waitress at Cabana who was very sweet and caring!
In overall the resort was quite in a good shape, rooms were clean when arriving, but in our opinion the room was not really cleaned during our 2 weeks stay!
Music from the beach clubs was much too loud, even at 3 pm the dj started to play at the beach!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank blessednurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review and stay at Kontiki Beach Resort.

I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in our room. Thank you so much for your kind words about the location, salt water swimmingpool, our tropical garden and food. I am very disappointed to hear any inconvenience you have experienced at Cabana Beach. I really take care of your valuable feedback and your experience.

Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future to Kontiki Beach Resort.

Kindest regards,

Terence vd Valk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The beach is something else. A natural paradise. Great rooms and good staff. The food could use some more authentic and local ingredients and items. Definetly would stay here again on vacation. A very good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rafaelmZ7588ZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Rafael,

Thank you very much for your review and your stay at Kontiki Beach Resort.

On behalf of the Kontiki team, I would like to thank you for your kind words about the rooms and staff. I really take care of your valuable feedback and your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Terence vd Valk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

It's like this! Early morning stepping outside your room waking up in your private jungle patio enjoying the sunrise, to get ready for the beach where it's crystal clear water with relaxing lounge music, perfect white beach with great service and people, and when sun sets it's sunset dinner on the beach, to party hard afterwords to close the day :-) Just perfect!
And the cherry on the pie is getting engaged on one of the most wonderful beach settings. The Kontiki beach team excitedly prepared the most romantic settings for me to pop the question! My hero's!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jef H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Jef,

Thank you very much for your review and your stay at Kontik Beach Resort.

I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our resort. Thank you so much for your kind words about the rooms, tropical garden, and the Kontiki team.

Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future to Kontiki Beach Resort.

Kindest regards,

Terence vd Valk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

It was a very nice stay at the Kontiki Beach Resort. We went here for our honeymoon and we went home very satisfied. The resort just looks like a rainforest with all it's plants and pools. The room was very nice and well air conditioned. When we arrived the room was nice cold. The bathroom had an nice shower and bath and everything was clean.

The beds were also very nice, we didn't missed our own!

If you want to have everything in one place, just go to Kontiki! The resort, room, beach and the restaurants are very nice.

Room Tip: If you got a room on the groundfloor you can use the pool immediatly when you step out of the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Cherelle,

Thank you very much for your review and your stay at Kontiki Beach Resort.

I am so delighted that you chose to celebrate your honeymoon, such a special occasion, with us! Thank you so much for your kinds words about the tropical garden, salt water swimmingpools and the room. It makes me happy that you would recommended our resort to other travelers.

Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future to Kontiki Beach Resort.

Kindest regards,

Terence vd Valk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
3.1 km away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
716 reviews
0.6 km away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
3.2 km away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Willemstad
377 reviews
2.9 km away
Papagayo Beach Hotel
Papagayo Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Willemstad
339 reviews
1.3 km away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort

Address: Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Kontiki Dive and Beach Resort Curacao)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: AU$255 - AU$335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the most beautiful island in the Caribbean, on the most desirable beach of tropical Curacao you will find Kontiki Beach Resort. This luxury resort offers everything to make your holiday an unforgettable experience. You are welcome for a memorable and exotic stay. The resort has an extraordinary set up and is built with natural materials. Complex and vegetation, architecture and nature, all combined harmoniously into a relaxing atmosphere. The Tropical Superior is a wonderfully luxurious, renovated room. The extras of the Tropical Superior (full service) will not be available in this room. The Tropical Superior (full service) is a wonderfully luxurious, renovated room for extra comfort. In the tropical superior (full service) you can expect the following extras: bathrobes and slippers, mini-bar in a cold beach bag (on day of arrival), a free luxurious lounge bed at Cabana Beach or a comfort lounge bed at Mood Beach, daily turn-down service (except on day of arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontiki Dive And Beach Resort Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Van Der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing