We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Holiday Ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of IBEROSTAR Tainos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Holiday Ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is an honest review taking into account the cost of my stay.

First of all the good bits. My room was spacious, well equipped, comfortable and in good order, with a large balcony and bathroom. The staff were excellent and very friendly. The grounds and the beach were superb.

Now the bad bit. If you are a meat eater I think you will be happy with food, if on the other hand you are a vegi like myself, be prepared to eat salad and pasta for two weeks. Note to the chef, there are thousands of vegi recipes on the internet, please try a few. Meat eaters also eat vegi food as well.

In short, don't hesitate to try this hotel, it's lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paininthenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Friends,

Thank you very much for your title Best Holiday Ever, that despite that you found that we did not have a great vegetarian selection you had a great time. We would lilke to assure you that some of our vegeterains guests praise our selection, however it can always be improved. Whenever you decide to visit us again please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Dejan Grubanov
General Manager
Iberostar Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,603
    1,433
    565
    191
    128
See reviews for
1,201
1,636
108
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We went to Iberostar Tainos after a week touring Cuba. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is clean and tidy and the food, while not great was good. The beach was as good as any I have seen anywhere in the world. What makes this place very good is the staff. In the restaurants and bars, the maintenance staff and the entertainment people. All the staff there are outstanding, Elvis, Dasi, Orlando etc. They all make you feel very welcome in a genuine manner.

We went on a Catamaran Trip which we would thoroughly recommend. All day with a snorkelling stop, a Dolphin Experience and a 2 hour stop on a tropical island. Free booze and a meal all for about £65 each.

Have no worries about staying at this Hotel
San & Jim

Room Tip: People seem to want to stay in the Bungalows, however we stayed in the main building which was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear San & Jim,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. I will pass your words to Elvis, Daysi,Orlando. All my staff are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clientes. We do hope to have a plasure of welcoming you back at Iberostar Tainos

Kind Regards

Dejan Grubanov
General Manager
Iberostar Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Where do I start telling about This amazing place!

Rooms
We had à really Nice bungalow! 3302!! Everyday we got the most amazing towel art! The room was very clean And spacious!

Restaurants
The buffet restaurant was Great! A lot of choice and everyday something new! Very Nice food! The japanese restaurant was excellent! Nice food And a real experience! We did not go to the cuban restaurant! Just because we enjoyed the buffet restaurant so much! When we return we Will try the cuban restaurant!!

Bars!
What a amazing cocktails! Rum rum rUm!! Got to love the rum!

Beach!
One word: beautifull!

And then entertainment!!
The staff really make you want to go back to tainos THE minute you leave! I loved hearing music all day long and people dancing all the time! Special thanks to Fernando! He can put à smile on your face everytime he is around! Definitly a reason why i want to go back asap!!!

So overall amazing hotel with the best staff you can imagine!

Hoping to go back in august!

Kind regards,
Marlou

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlou-kox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Travelled 28/3-11/4 and had such a great time, so much so that there were tears when we left. I said it all in my last review - i'm not even sure why it was better this time, it just was. We would like to say a big thank you to the following people who made our holiday so special. Giselle for helping us with the room we required, Beatrix in the restaurant who welcomed us every day with a smile, Julio who provided great service by the pool (and who helped me with my Spanish), George for being a great bartender, Daysi who constantly provided us with drinks, Betty for always brightening our lunchtimes and Lucy who had the knack of attracting our children like a magnet for the full 2 weeks. There were others (all the animators and people in the restaurant) but those specifically mentioned were the ones who really treat us like we were part of the family. We met so many lovely people and were really treat as if nothing was too much bother. We met with the manager who asked if the food was as good and if there was anything missing. The food was as good but there weren't any onions (I wasn't complaining). OMG the next morning, there was an abundance of onions, I was embarrassed for mentioning it but it was great, it really was.

We will be returning to the Tainos, perhaps in a couple of years. My heart would love us to travel there again - this year or next but my head tells us not to spoil something by over-visiting it, despite the fact I will genuinely miss those we met and those who remembered us from last time.

I feel very protective towards this hotel and its staff and so to those who comment that you only get service if you tip, we never noticed this. We tipped a small amount after our first week and saw no difference in the great service. We were friendly with the staff from the start - not treating them like staff but having big smiles, chat and laughter. If you give them friendliness, they repay you with friendliness.

Furthermore I am very frustrated that someone who was so 'devastated' after their holiday felt 'so devastated' that they waited nine months to leave a review.

Neil and Elizabeth Hodgson

Room Tip: Request a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dizzy-wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Neil & Elizabeth Hodgson,

On a behafl of the staff and menagement here at Iberostar Tainos Thnak you very much for your nice review. I will pass your comments to Giselle, Beatrix, Julio, Gerorge, Daysi,Betty, Lucy. All my staff are wonderful people and most of the reviews even mentioned the good will of everybody. We are glad that you had again such a good time ,and I assure you that all the things that we can solve (including onions) we are trying to sove it ,as fast as we can. However it was our plasure of meeting you and thank you for everything.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Dejan Grubanov
General Manager
Iberostar Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

room - bungalow rooms are great, large, airy and with a big patio/balcony. our location provided us with beautiful breezes. we had 3903 which was also very private.
food - the buffet always offered a choice of pasta, pizza, fish, chicken and pork and/or beef, and hot veggies, in addition to the salad bar. the dessert selections were great.
we liked the Japanese restaurant as it was entertaining as well as filling.
the Cuban restaurant had too many mosquitoes for us to enjoy our dinners.
we liked having outdoor breakfast and lunch at the snack area by the pool.
we loved the music by the pool everyday.
the entertainment at night was better than a lot of cruise ships I have been on. The dancers were really dancers, not just wannabees. Their energy was incredible!!!
The activity staff were all like energizer bunnies. Again, the cruise ships could learn something here. They made sure that all of the guests were included, not just the pretty girls.
The beach at Veradero has to be one of the best in the world. Clean, talcum powder sand, turquoise waters and it seems to go on forever! And it has a great beach bar!
The resort has a nice pool area, although we wish the pool bar used red solo cups.
This was our first visit to Cuba and it will not be our last.
Thanks Ibersostar Tainos for a terrifc vacation. We'll be back!

Room Tip: ask for a bungalow room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank willing292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Friends,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience in Iberostar Tainos. Please on your next visit do not hesitate to contact me prior your arrival. It will be our plasure of welcoming you back.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Dejan Grubanov
General Manager
Iberostar Tainos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.1 km away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
2.8 km away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,845 reviews
0.3 km away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#12 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
3.5 km away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,761 reviews
4.1 km away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Tainos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Tainos

Property: IBEROSTAR Tainos
Address: Las Morlas, Km. 12.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Varadero
#6 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price range (per night): $189 - $402
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Tainos 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine sandy beach of Varadero. Tropical gardens. Water sports galore. A Caribbean village. Colourful, Cuban atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your IBEROSTAR Tainos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Tainos Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Hotel Tainos
Iberostar Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Tainos Cuba
Iberostar Tainos Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing