We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 344
USD 239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 271
USD 196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
USD 228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 212
USD 179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 193
USD 186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Cactus(Varadero)
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 368
USD 285
iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
USD 113
USD 107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
USD 249
USD 200
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 427
USD 222
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,720)
Filter reviews
7,720 results
Traveller rating
2,415
2,438
1,578
726
563
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,415
2,438
1,578
726
563
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzamain poollobby bara la carte restaurantsfishmain buffetjapanese restaurantquiet poolbeautiful resortchickentex mexother resortsfriesevery other dayrecommend this resortbring your ownstar friends
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 7,720 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Was really nice time with Iberostar Staff. People are friendly. Hotel is regular clean and the view is just amazing. Was my first time and i will return with my kids. I were there with my wife, but with strong regrets to not be with my kids. Family place. I was in Easter, high season with full capacity and even like that not terrible lines, room available on the beach and pool. Kensi is the customer service responsible and such a friendly and great guy. Ask for him on the reception to help you with your party, room, wine and everything.

Room Tip: best views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rogério T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Gerente at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018


Dear clients,

Thank you for having chosen IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul for your vacation. It was our pleasure to host you as our guests. We appreciate your positive review and haven taken all your suggestions into consideration to make some improvements. Thank you for your feedback. If you decide to visit us again in Varadero, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Let me start off by saying this is an amazing resort :)
We stayed at this resort from March 27- April 3,2018

Rooms:
The rooms were always cleaned by our maid Regla and Jackqeline.
The room is very sapacious, it includes a bath with a shower head, a fridge, two beds, and a balcony. It also has a safe to include all your personal/ valuable items. They also refill the fridge everyday and they always give you a bottle of water with a couple cans of soda or/and beer.

Restaurants:
The main buffet is called Argenta it is very good and had a wide variety of food
Breakfast was from 7:00am- 10:00am and some food they had were eggs, pancakes, bacon, cheeses and much more.
Lunch was from 1:00pm- 3:00pm and lunch had pasta, pizza etc
Dinner is from 6:30pm-10:30pm and it was similar to lunch but more options such as fish, shrimp, pizza etc
Big thanks to Eduardo for always helping us out to matter what we needed and always helping others with a smile on his face. Also another big thanks to Michael for the pizza or as he would say “The best pizza in Cuba”.
We tried two a la carte restaurants one of which was was the Cuban which in our opinion wasn’t the best and we also tried the Japanese which was very good, great food and nice entertainment.

Staff:
The staff is the most happy, joyful team of all time. Special shoutout to Regla, Thomas, Osneil, “Johnny Walker”, Boris, Ronaldo and many more but those are the ones that are at the top of my head but for the most part everyone in that resort is so nice and always ready to help.

Beach:
The beach is the best it was so blue and crystal clear and we couldn’t ask for much better then that.

Activities:
There was always something to do at this resort from pool and beach dancing to nightly entertainment either in the lobby or seeing the show every night in the theatre.
You could also play ping-pong, tennis, basketball, soccer, volleyball and they have much more to offer.

Hotel:
It is always kept clean and nothing is crawling on the floor. There is very few mosquitoes in this resort. It is also about a 45 minute drive from the airport.

Overall experience:
This is a gorgeous resort and we will definitely return we are planing to go in July.

Thanks to everyone in this hotel for making our stay very special :)

Stayed: March 2018
4  Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Gerente at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review.
It is our highest reward to hear that our guests enjoyed their vacation with us! Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
Should you choose our hotel, or some other IBEROSTAR Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the resort before the 4:00pm check-in time. We checked our luggage with an attendant (who we tipped). Two of the attendants told us a few times that the room was going to be ready in a half hour. I hear them telling other people as well. How do they know, they’re not the front desk. Anyways at 2:30 the attendant said it was ready and was surprised when we went off to the room without him. That means no extra tip. It was a total mess. Garbage everywhere, towels, messy bed and toilet. We left our luggage and didn’t go back until 3:30 and it was then cleaned. The 2 room cards were tricky at times. We were lucky if we got it on our first try. The tv remote didn’t work and we called the front desk and the maintenance man came and took out the corroded batteries and said he would be back with new ones and he never did. We tried it with new ones and it wasn’t the batteries, the remote was broken. We told the front desk 4 more times and for the whole week we got no response. We even wrote it on the “Review the hotel, or tell us how we’re doing” comment sheet which they passed out at our second day during Dinner at the buffet. They did however come and removed the hall closet door which didn’t work, while we were out but didn’t replace it. The other door had glass that was a sorry sight. There was a coffee maker in the tv stand but no extras to make a coffee. Bath tub/shower was over 2 feet off the ground making it hard to get in and out. It’s a nice sunken tub but no plugs. My husband 6”2 almost took a tumble a few times. The 1200 watt hold down the on button hairdryer was on a 30 second timer and would recharge after 3-5 minutes. I was lucky cause some people didn’t have a hairdryer or it was broken and nothing done about it. Ironing board but no iron. They will give you one if you ask for it. You have to book a la carte when you first get there or they book up fast. Your only allowed 3. The Japanese is the best. The Cuban was a disappointment. It’s in the outdoor snack bar beside the pool. There is no Cuban feel whatsoever. Food or ambiance. They give you a large bottle of water and you can get it refilled at the bar. The gift shop sells the small $1 bottles. Food was mediocre. Food looks refurbished. You will see some of the food at all 3 meals. They have an omelet stations and two grills, one for omelettes and one for fried eggs. These lines can get long. I wish they had bagels, French toast, waffles, hash browns, pancakes instead of the thin dried out crepes. I wish they had more variety of fruits instead of the same 3 fruits every meal (watermelon, pineapple and papaya I have ). I would have loved some coconut, oranges, grapefruit, bananas. There is a juice station but no coffee/tea station. They bring that to you and work off tips. Buffet is on the first floor 7:00 am, 1:00 pm and 6:30 pm. There is room service but they don’t leave you the sheet in the room and it changes everyday. You get the sheet from the front desk. Two best drinks for me were pina colada and blue daiquiri. I tried the margarita, Cuban sex on the beach and strawberry daiquiri and didn’t like them. And I tried lots. They have a drink menu in the lobby. It was my husbands Birthday and they sent an invite to meet in the lobby and they gave champagne and a big piece of Birthday cake. That was nice.There is 2 outdoor snack bars and the food is fresher and better there have no problems with the grounds. They are beautiful and the pools are great. And it’s one of the best beaches in the world. However I would try a different resort next time.
Tips for improvement: Brochure in the room describing the amenities, there was no information(lack of disconnect) alarm clock, bar of soap, iron, remote that works, coffee maker with the stuff to make it, descent hairdryers, shower cape, plug for bathtub, spoons on the table during all meals or near ice cream and soup, snacks in room. These are just a hand full. I could go on and on.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sheila270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityMCuba, Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Sheila,

Foremost, thank you for visiting Iberostar Bella Vista and for bringing to our attention your concerns. We are expressing our heartfelt regret for the inconveniences you have encountered during your check in process.
We have passed on to the Front Desk Manager your remarks, to review and improve our service. Nevertheless, we would like to emphasize that at Iberostar service orientation and personalized attention to our customers are of the utmost importance. We train our staff on a daily basis to exceed customer expectations and work according to our high standards of quality. We find it very sad to read your comments and see that on this occasion we have not been able to meet your expectations and we will do our best to ensure that any situation that does not meet our criteria is corrected.
We sincerely regret that we did not fulfill your expectations with our beverage offer and room amenities. As we aim to satisfy our guests on every level and gastronomy, in general, is one of the pillars of our establishment. Therefore we will pass on your comments to the correct departments, and we are sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Once more, we would like to thank you for your invaluable feedback, and we hope that you had a pleasant journey home.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This was our first experience traveling to Cuba. We are three retired seniors. We arrived at resort at 4am. Check in went smoothly and they were most helpful considering the ugly time. We were extremely tired but found the beds to be rock hard or springs sticking into you. The resort needs many repairs. The closet doors had fallen off in our room and were never put back on. The hallways had many broken tiles,a real tripping hazard. Only two elevators worked and then not well. We had water flowing in the hallway from an adjacent room, which they left beach towels to soak up the mess. The resort has great potential if the owner repaired and maintained it on a regular basis. Very sad to let it get so run down. Shameful! Most of the staff we met were very friendly, a few not so much. I don't understand why we were allowed only three dinner reservations in the Al La Carte restaurants. The restaurants were not being utilized to their potential. Possibly a shortage of staff? The Japanese & Romantico restaurants on the resort were a nice experience. We never had the opportunity to try the Italian. I was not fond of the Cuban. We enjoyed great fish and chips or chicken and chips at the poolside restaurant for our lunch. The staff did an admirable job there. The buffet was awful. Cramped space, unsanitary conditions - we never saw any hair nets or gloves being used for food prep. Lots of flies landing on the prepared food. The beach was nice, our son who was traveling with his friends enjoyed the water and sand. Every night at 9:30pm they have entertainment. It was enjoyable. The dancers are very professional. We traveled to Cuba to see Havana. It was an amazing day trip. We do not regret traveling to Cuba, just wish our experience would have been more positive.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lorise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityMCuba, Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Lorise,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write to us and share this review of your recent holiday at our hotel Iberostar Laguna Azul.
It is good to know you and your partners had a smooth check in and enjoyed our food at the Romatico and Japanese restaurants, as well as the service of our professional and friendly staff.
As per our hygiene procedures allow us to say we have an in-house H & S department as well as an external company (MINSAP) that undertakes regular control audits. They verify our system procedures and the quality of our food and drinks and they never find any trace that indicated that these were not up to the demanded standards. Nor did they find any bacteria or parasites. It is possible that flies appear, mainly with the heat during the day and if our clients leave the doors open, therefore we daily fumigate to avoid contamination.
We would also like to mention that our Management and Maintenance Department are constantly working in areas to be improved. All our facilities follow a maintenance standard roll in order to try to keep our areas and rooms impeccable. We wish you might consider giving us another opportunity to host you in the near future to experience all the positive changes made based on our guests recommendations with the intention of enhancing our facilities and keeping the natural environment that represents our hotel.
Once more we thank you for choosing Iberostar and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a week at Laguna Azul, and we were very pleased. We went on the recommendation of our travel agent and we weren't disappointed. From the moment the bus pulled up it was great curb appeal. The lobby was very nice, great atmosphere. We found our room no problem and we were very happy to get a ground floor room with walk out to one of the quiet secondary pools, it was very convenient. The grounds were beautiful and well taken care of. The staff was great, from the receptionist, the servers and the maid. Always smiled said hello. A shoutout to all bartenders they were amazing. My cup was never empty and they always remembered my name when I came up. The food was outstanding as well. lots of variety, we didn’t go hungry that’s for sure. The entertainment was also great, always something going on by the pool or beach, and the shows at night were outstanding. We met alot of great people. We will definitely be returning to Iberostar Laguna Azul next year.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Gerente at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review.
It is our highest reward to hear that our guests enjoyed their vacation with us! Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.

Should you choose our hotel, or some other IBEROSTAR Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews