We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
St. Catharines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We just returned from a week long vacation on March 2nd. It was our first trip to Cuba and enjoyed our Varadero experience very much. Having had friends stay at this resort the week before us was very helpful. We also have had a lot of friends holiday in Varadero so we were very prepared with little suprises. As most or all of the reviews mention the beach and ocean are amazing. The staff were all very helpful and extremely friendly. The lovely lady taking care of us and our room was fabulous. The room was always very clean and we had lots of toilet paper , clean towels , shampoo and body wash every day. The pool was great along with the bar staff. Beer was always cold but bring your Bubbas gents or you will get your beer in what I would best describe as a beer shooter. Watch them make the drinks because for me they were always too strong. ( usually about half and half ) It"s along day and not seeing suppertime can be hard on the body ! Speaking of food....yes the food is somewhat bland in general but we came prepared with hot sauses and some spices. Get up early and get yourself a nice omellete with bacon and some of the greatest bread you will taste. The lunch down at the beach bar is grilled fresh in front of you everyday. Fish , chicken , pork chops, ribs and scrimp with a side of rice and potatoes will keep you plenty full. Dinner can be a little repetitive but you will find some pretty good pasta at the pasta bar and the grill always had fish , pork , beef , and the one night I had some of the best baby beef liver done how I asked for. I have never had that at any 5* star I have stayed at. The resort in general is in good shape with continuous improvement. I wish I could tell you for sure which of the blocks of rooms have been refurbished but I do not want to guess . We were in #6 block and that set was not done , yet the rooms were fine. Remember folks this is Cuba , 3* and nice and easy on the pocket book. Reach into that pocket and take out a peso or two and be amazed at the good service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
32 Thank Sisterwives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    1,023
    606
    320
    229
See reviews for
776
830
103
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Everything was super! The hotel is nice. We went from Feb 26 to March 5. The weather was amazing and the Beach is soo beautiful. The trip from Calgary: 5 1/2 hours.

Pros:
- Great and clean Beach (In the afternoon they pick up every cup that the tourists
leave)
- Cubans are very friendly
- Food is really good (bread in the morning is delicious, pasta is soo good!)
- Entertaiment for all ages (Shooting, minigolf, pool games, dancing lessons, contests)
- Rooms are nice. (We stayed at room 917, second floor, pool view. In the middle of beach and lobby, just Perfect!)
- We receive 2 bottle of water, shampoo and soap and 2 toilet paper every day. Enough for us.
- Tips for the maid twice a week, 1 peso each time.
- We paid 100 pesos for a trip to Habana in a private car. (We were 4 people)
- 50 pesos for snorkeling.
- Tip for the waitress, when they were nice. And also for the singers that give me a serenade for my birthday.

Cons:
One week is not enough. =((

Room Tip: building 900 are great. close to beach and the lobby. Restaurant A la carte: you have to book 2 day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T4ni4R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Ontario
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Food
Relatively bland & repetitive
Bringing your own condiments is a MUST and will make all the difference!!!
I'd recommend salsa, ketchup, peanut butter
Fresh juice at breakfast is good
Seafood al la carte was best
Pizza at Italian was also good

Drinks
Piña coladas were best at pool bar!
Mojitos were better at lobby bar!
No Havana club on the bar, so we bought a bottle at the gift shop for $5 and drank that instead of their rum

Service
We had bottled water, clean towels and toilet paper everyday….but we heard other people did not. On the first day we introduced ourselves to our maid and left her gifts everyday (clothing, toiletries). She seemed very appreciative.

Rooms
We requested an upper level room in building 5 and got it. Our room was basic but extremely clean! No mold, no musty smell

Resort
Grounds were well maintained and clean, especially for an older resort! No... There's no toilet seats in the lobby bathroom but if you venture off the resort you will notice there's no toilet seats in ANY public washroom. Probably no toilet paper either

Beach
Very clean, despite reviews I read about garbage on the beach. Crystal clear water. No problems getting beach chairs. Don't miss the sunsets at night! Gorgeous! The people selling things on the beach will no bother you if you simply say "No". However, i did find they had the best prices for souvenirs! The people selling coconut and pineapples to drink…they are very pretty but not worth the 5 pesos…. we tipped the resort gardener 1 peso and he got us fresh coconuts off the resort that tasted like heaven!!!!

Excursions
We paid $40 each and took a tour bus to Havana. We had no problem exploring on our own and thoroughly enjoyed doing so at our own pace. People who did the guided tour spent far too long inside churches and learning history in my opinion...... We loved walked around on our own! Bike taxis were best for getting around and the flea market had best prices for shopping. We also rented mopeds and explored downtown varadero on our own!


Overall we thought this resort was great value for what we paid (less then $800 each) and would recommend this resort to friends and family.

Room Tip: Building 5 was extremely clean (Recently renovated i believe). Choose an upper floor for no bugs. Se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul-and-Kel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield Park
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We booked our trip in December to visit the week of Feb 26. I read the reviews and the majority were negative. I was quite nervous to go, but once we arrived, we were quite pleased. We are a family of 5 and the reception gave us joining rooms (407-408). We each had 2 bottles of water in our rooms everyday and 2 rolls of toilet paper. Every bathroom we went into, had toilet seats. The rooms had air conditioning and running hot water. The staff was very accomadating to our needs. There was one pool staff member that would bring us a parasol every morning. The bartenders at the swim up bar are nice. My 4 and 6 year old would order their slushes and the guys always served them with a smile :)
If you treat them nice, you will be treated the same way. You get what you give.
The Italian rest. is delicious. I had the veal, my husband had the beef and the 3 kids had delicious pizza. Our food was never raw. The buffet...Breakfast: delicious crepes, omelettes, fresh bread, and orange juice! The bread is so good!!! As well as the pastries!! We brought Peanut butter, Jams, Nutella, ketchup. seasonings, chips, power bars, powdered juice sachets. I would recommend that you do the same. The seafood restaurant was not to our liking. You can order a lobster for 10 pesos at the lobby in the morning to have for supper. It is worth it. If you can't get extra reservations to a restaurant that you like, you can have the chef cook up something for you ex: pizza, and you can eat it in your room. We tipped the guy each time he made us pizza to eat in our room ;)
The beach grill is delicious....chicken, sausage(hot dog), shrimp, and pork.
We left our maid nylons, chocolates, tooth paste, tooth brushes, clothes, on the pillow as well as a dollar everyday.
We did the Jeep Safari tour. It was very long but fun. Be sure to bring candy and fun things for the kids that are alongside of the roadwhen you drive through the poorer side of the city. You will be their hero! We gave candy to 60 kids. The Catamaran trip to Cayo Blanco is amazing as well!
Bring your own medicine and gravol etc...
oh yeah.... for 20 pesos/adult and 10/pesos per child, Johnny can take you out snorkelling for 2 hours. Go down to the beach where the water activities place is. There is a photographer that will take pictures of you while you snorkel and feed the fish. We bought a CD with 50 nice pictures for 30 pesos.
Go with an open mind and a smile on your face, and you will not be dissapointed.
Also, for 25 pesos/adult and 10 pesos/child, you can go into the VIP room at the Cuban airport. It is worth it because there is air conditioning, American outlets ( bring a converter for your hotle room), and unlimited food and drinks. Smoking section is closed off and away from the non-smokers.
The beach is beautiful!!!! Especially in the morningwhen it is calm. Around 1:00pm it got a little wavy.
Hope this helps.

Room Tip: rooms 407 and 408 are joining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaranPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

First I would like to start by saying every neg review I have read was COPMLETELY unfounded!I saw one toilet seat missing in the whole resrt, and I don't sit on them in a public washroom in Canada! Food was pretty good beach bar lunch amazing! Rooms were all you need mattress was firm but we liked it, never ran out of hot water. Staff was amazingly friendly and accomodating. The kids club staff remember every kids name! Read the little info pamphlet you get it will help to know when and where everything is. We took a flashlight b/c we were arriving at nite and I reada review thst pathawy lighting was lacking...not true did not need it.Also they are not shy with the booze when pouring a drink so you may want to tell them just a little, they tatse much better.Tip the maid a couple here and ther your bartender and waitress as well they greatly appreciate it.
They told us for future trips what they really would like from tourists is kids clothes and shoes, adult clothes and shoes ( they are crazy expensive for them to buy) and old house phones that still work ( 150.00 for them to buy one, they only make 40.00 a month)
All in all I totally recomend this resort if yu are picky and like to complain then you will ultimately find something to complain about its in your nature, but if you like sand sun and enjoying your frinds and family you will do that well here!
Cheers!

( we travelled with our son a(8) and 2 other couples)

Room Tip: i think building 8 was refurbished just relax enjoy your vacation don't bother room hoping, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunworshipers1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
0.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 km away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas

Property: Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Address: Autopista Varadero km 17 | Playa de los Tainos, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#18 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price range (per night): $187 - $424
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Also Known As:
Arenas Doradas Varadero
Arenas Doradas Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing