We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,856)
Filter reviews
1,856 results
Traveller rating
772
769
207
69
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
772
769
207
69
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colonial section beatles bar manager david lobby bar main building cuban bar la comparsita pool guy public relations havana club beach towels my home away from home pasta station josone park downtown varadero the general manager amazing beach
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 1,856 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The most horrible experience. Tatty rooms, bathroom full of insects, loud disco till the morning so you can't sleep properly, unhelpful receptionists (wouldn't even give us a glass of water for the night and told us to go to bar opposite the road to buy it (??) ).The worst part of all is terrible food - the same every day. Both me and my other half got food poisoning on the second day of our stay in there and it lasted for a week! A flight back was NOT pleasant as you can imagine. Funny cause we traveled all around Cuba prior to that and had amazing experience with cheap air bnbs and local cafs where we had no problems whatsoever (mind you we are not fussy people) and a supposedly good hotel which was supposed to be a luxury ending of our trip completely ruined our holiday. Very unhappy and shocked how many good reviews this place get.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank NatalyaP1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We were booked in the Econo room which were across the main road. I was very concerned about this, but turned out not bad at all. Our room was nice and the walk to the buffet was maybe 3 minutes, walk to the beach from the room was 5 min. The resort is small so 5 min to the beach is nice. We enjoyed volleyball most everyday, other than when it got too windy.

Food was good. I really enjoyed the Cuban ala carte. Although it took me 2 days to figure out how to sign up. They have a sheet of paper inside the buffet door, although it was full by the time I usually go to breakfast, so I had to set alarm to wake up early. That goes the same for getting a lounger at the beach. If you don't reserve one by 8 or 9 they are full of towels.

This was not the best hotel I have stayed in in Cuba, but was a great week for the price. We also enjoyed the Calle 62 and Beatles bar across the street. We felt very safe walking around Varadero at any time.

I usually do not stay at the same resort twice, but I may return to this one because it had everything we needed. :)

Room tip: Rooms near Calle 62 or Beatles are noisy.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Manager at Starfish Cuatro Palmas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,

It is an honor for all the team that makes up the Starfish Cuatro Palmas family, to receive your excellent comments regarding your vacations. We are very happy to know that we were able to be part of special moments and we appreciate that you highlight the service provided by staff.

We also appreciate your feedback regarding the improvements that can be made in our service and activities, which we take very seriously.

We hope to hae the pleasure to pamper you one more time in our little paradise, guaranteeing the improvements in our service, as we always say, the satisfaction of our guests is our only wish.

Warm regards from Varadero,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights and were glad it was not any longer. We had a lovely sea view and did enjoy the beach and pool. Most beach sun loungers were reserved by towels early morning with many remaining unused for hours. We much prefer hotels where this is no longer seen as polite to other guests. The buffet was noisy and provided quantity rather than quality - the pasta station was particularly disappointing. We were excited to discover the waiter service restaurant and the food was the worst meal we had eaten in Cuba. Our room was shabby with many fixtures being in need of repair or replacement. Was glad we didn’t have high expectations

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Dwooda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Manager at Starfish Cuatro Palmas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Dwooda,

It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kind preference of visiting the Starfish Cuatro Palmas and especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your experiences concerning your stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to adjust and improve our services as well as the hotel facilities.

We are sincerely looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Starfish Cuatro Palmas, and assure you that you will enjoy even superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This resort is in the heart of Varadero and right across the street from Calle 62 (Cuban night club with live singers and dancers) and a block from The Beatles Bar (live classic rock bands every night.)

The hotel is good, nicely kept and quaint. Make sure you book on the Cuatro Palmas section so you'll be on the beach, otherwise the Las Palmas section is across the road.
The rooms are in need of a makeover, even the Cuatro Palmas rooms. But you don't go to Cuba to stay in your room. So the sleeping part was good.

Go to the buffet early! Otherwise don't complain that there's not a lot to chose from.
The beach at this resort is the best I've been on in Cuba. Very nice powder beaches, very clean and lots of chairs.

This resort is a 3 star hotel, but because of it's amazing location and affordability, you won't be disappointed.
If you're the type to not leave the resort and go exploring, I would suggest another resort. We walked around every night and had a blast!

Enjoy!!!

Room tip: Cuatro Palmas Section - farther from the main action, but quieter
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steve_Watters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Manager at Starfish Cuatro Palmas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Steve,

It is an honor for all the team that makes up the Starfish Cuatro Palmas family, to receive their excellent comments regarding their vacations. We are very happy to know that we were able to be part of special moments and we appreciate that the service of our Staff stands out. Rest assured that we will share all your words with them.

We also appreciate your feedback regarding the improvements that can be made in our service and activities, which we take very seriously.

We hope to have the pleasure to pamper you one more time in our little paradise, guaranteeing the improvements in our service, as we always say, the satisfaction of our guests is our only wish.

Warm regards from Varadero,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Food was awesome! Great selection. Daimon, Andy, and Arturo at the main dining hall were especially accommodating and always remembered our fav drinks when we arrived. Mattias at the pasta counter was great too; please get that poor man a new cook top!!! :)

Save yourself some $ and get it converted at the bank one block away behind the Las Palmas.

We stayed at Las Palmas bungalow 2 overlooking the pond/island and it was loud at night with music from the Beatles bar echoing but it didn't bother us.

If you want a carriage ride look for #51 and it will be either Arienne or Juan driving; both great honest guys who are very good to their animals which we appreciated.

If you go to Havana, take a tour or hire somebody you trust; we decided to be adventurous and rent our own car. After changing a flat tire before we even got on the road we had the nasty realization once lost in Havana that there are NO SIGNS to help a traveller get out of town and back to Varadero. I think the Havana locals have taken them down on purpose because it wasn't long before we got scammed 100s of dollars after a man offered to give us direction only to hustle us for an extremely inflated cab ride back. Live and learn! Although scammed, we never really felt unsafe or in danger and we could have been more assertive in saying no or threatening to involve police.

Varadero beach is beautiful as always, but with being close to downtown and many others accessing beach be careful of glass, etc.

The gentlemen serving the Las Palmas breakfast area in the mornings who were at the beach in the afternoons serving were very attentive and sweet.

Hotel was clean and efficient, not as updated or nice as newer ones further out on peninsula but to be expected. Beach and lobby bathrooms always had plumbing issues.

Calle bar across from hotel is hopping all night and so much fun to just go let loose and dance.

Shows on site were excellent! The opera singers and flamenco and cuban dancers were impressive for sure.

If staying in town this seemed to be the place to be; lots of repeat customers.

We would return if we wanted to be in the hub of town again, but would travel to ones further on peninsula if you wanted quiet and relaxation with more of the spoils of hotel luxury.

Room tip: If staying at Las Palmas, it is across street but not far from beach, but can be noisy depending on which bungalow/side.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Gerente at Starfish Cuatro Palmas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Mal,

We hope you had a nice flight back home.

It has been such a huge pleasure to receive your compliments. Our team will be delighted once they read your wonderful comments. Thank you very much for recommending Starfish Cuatro Palmas to future guests. You have praised so many aspects, including food and staff, which are very important booking factors and for this reason we appreciate your honest point of view and recommendation with other users.

Best regards form our little paradise.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews