We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,755)
Filter reviews
3,755 results
Traveller rating
1,740
1,395
433
108
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,740
1,395
433
108
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar old havana free shuttle sea view business hotel miramar district large balcony the hotel offers breakfast buffet our honeymoon beautiful pool mini bar wi fi decent hotel cigar shop currency exchange by cuban standards
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 3,755 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Melia Habana for one night in Havana, Cuba. Very modern and beautiful hotel. Had a large and very nice room with a balcony with a view of the ocean and the city. Well located in the diplomatic neighborhood of Miramar. Enormous pool and the breakfast buffet was amazing. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Arrivons in Havana can be.... an experience. Yes, the City is quite in a bad shape but people are great.

Meanwhile, after looking at the "very concrete" style of the hotel, everything totally meets the interbational standards, from the pool to the equipments of the rooms, from the breakfast to the dinners.

The distance from downtown is very good for the silence and a shuttle brings you to downtown every hour.

Great experience

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank florent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

In a nutshell, save yourself time and money and don’t go. To Cuba.
Despite all advices from friends and travel agents, we decided to go and visit Cuba. We are a family with 2 kids, age 5 and 14. My wife s dream was to visit Havana, so we decided to spend a week in Cuba: 3 days in Havana and 3 days in Varadero.
Troubles started at the arrival in Havana at 11pm: drones are not allowed in Cuba, which is understandable despite the fact that nobody never mentioned it, so we were stopped at the customs. It took 1:30 hours and a lot of paperwork to leave the drone in custody there to be picked up on our way out. Free and safe service according to the officer. Which was not since at the time we finally left Cuba, it took the officer 1hr to find my drone and he charged me a fine of $20 for custody...

Once done we headed to our hotel - Melia Havana - using a local taxi, just to listen from the attendant that our rooms were not ready. At 2 am!! After another 1 hr wait we finally got one of the 2 rooms to put the kids to sleep. The last room took another 20 min to be ready, so basically at 3:30 am.
The hotel, like all others, is owned by the government and operated by a Spanish company, Melia in this case. It is badly maintained, inside and out.
The pool is huge but dirty. Cigarette buds everywhere, hairs, straws and cups floating around.
To go to your room you need to take one of the Chinese elevators which can kill you. It almost did in our case since we got stuck in one for 30 min by 35 degrees with no ventilation. My wife and daughter started to feel claustrophobic after 15 min and started crying. We only managed to exit after opening the doors by ourselves and jumping out between two floors with no sign of help from anybody. Our calls were useless, the call for assistance button broken. The only answer from the staff after 25 min shouting was that help was on its way. It never arrived or if it did it was hours after we left.
My kids cried nervously for more than an hour after the accident. Nobody from the hotel never apologised. One security guard said it happens often.
Breakfast is very bad and packed, with way less food than necessary for all the guests. Service is sluggish - 15 min for a bad coffee.
Restaurants at the hotel are ok but over priced for the quality. Staff is trying its best to be nice and smile despite all of this. At the end this is not their problem, they are underpaid by the government...

The Melia group should be ashamed of putting its name on such a disaster.

Havana looks like a city destroyed by a war. Most buildings are falling apart, and the others are badly maintained. The famous classic cars are everywhere and probably the only interesting and fun thing to see together with a few historical monuments still standing. Riding one of the classic cars will put your life in danger, because of the heat - no AC of course - and the fact that they are at least 60 years old with no trust worthy maintenance. Roads and unskilled drivers do not help neither. I don’t think that a Chevy 1952 should go over 50 kmph, but all drivers do.... well above.

Cubans are nice people. They try their best to welcome tourists and work around the lack of everything. They also try their best to survive and this includes over charging for everything or dragging their feet unless you give them a tip.
Every Cubans we talked to - local guides, taxi drivers, maids, barmen - didn’t wait long before complaining about their faith and the system. After making you swear you won’t tell anybody, they can go hours complaining about the government, socialism, revolution, etc. The revolution is long dead and only fear keep them quiet. Nothing works there, and living in Cuba is a daily challenge. From food to basic supply and infrastructure, they are lacking everything.
Political propaganda is omnipresent, contrasting with the reality.
A quick visit to a local supermarket makes it very clear. Even water is missing!
Everything which is not considered essential by the government is heavily taxed, making Cuba one of the most expensive place to visit despite the lack of quality of all products and services.
Access to internet is restricted, slow and expensive. The local state provider forces you to login every time you access WiFi and enter a 15 digit login and 15 digit password, making the process even more painful.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino E, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Patrick F.

We are deeply sorry for your awful experience between us. We can understand your comment, and regret that nothing was good for you. You are rigth in explainning that you had to wait to get your rooms. That night we had some unexpected situations that led us to have to clean rooms until really late that night.

We took seriously what you express in your kind comment, and work in order to improve the experiences of people who trust their quality time here, in Havana. Thank you for your help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

I went back in July for a visit same service 5 star on the floor no 9the level. A new resto opened near the Italian with a Spanish chef food is good steak and the rolls . The pool was going strong bec of the heat had a baguette sandwich very tasty , and the new terrace outside the lobby bar where all are smoking cigars Open 24 hours

Room Tip: Ask for one where the ac is strong Pool view is nice
Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank canadian361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

We booked this as we stayed as a family of four with 2 young children (aged 4 and 6). We were staying for a few days in Havana before heading up to Varadero.

Overall, I was a bit disappointed with this hotel. Nothing major happened or was poor, I just felt for the price (we payed just under $200US per night for a family room with a sea view) it was just a bit below par. If you go there expecting five star (which we didn’t having read reviews) you will be really disappointed.

The hotel is a 20min drive outside Havana old town. Most of the hotels are at least 10 mins away though. There is a free shuttle bus that runs from the hotel to the old town which was useful. The area is Miramer which is where some of the big hotel chains are. Eg Sheraton. There are very few other eating places around other than the hotels in the area.

Our booking included a “free gift” and a “room upgrade” as we booked direct with Melia.com but we received neither and the receptionist looked at us blankly when I showed her the paperwork.

The pool is vast and there is a really good pool bar which you can swim up to. The only negative I encountered about this was that you are not allowed in before 10am and with two young kids we are early risers.

The room was again ok, but it could have done with some updating for a modern large hotel chain. Everything was dark wood and the colour scheme wasn’t very modern. But it was clean and today and the maid service was good. The AC was rattley though and needed looking at.

The grounds have a lot of potential but again I felt there were a lot of missed opportunities as the indoor rainforest is underplayed and not lit up at night. Also there seems to be loads of mosquitos about. Also the paths are quite uneven.

We ate in one of the restaurants for two nights, in the Italian more family restaurant. It was decent, good pizza and pasta for the kids. Reasonably priced and also the drinks were quite cheap relatively speaking.

The hotel staff were OK not unfriendly but not friendly either. The best staff seems to be the concierge guys who were really helpful. Overall this is a shame as I found Havana very friendly and easy to get around.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank teacherman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews