We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not overly impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Considering this is a four star hotel I was not overly impressed. Stayed here for 3 nights before moving on to Varedero. The location is excellent with all old town attractions in walking distance but that was about the only positive. Our room was on 7th floor which had nice view over the pool and out to Capitol building. Within the room AC, television and hair dryer did not work. Despite several attempts to notify reception and customer services desk, nothing was done about it. In the end we gave up. Just as well it was not hot for those few days in Havana. Breakfast was very average and they frequently ran out of things like fresh milk if you got there after 8AM. Restaurant did a buffet in the evening for 15CUC which again was very average. We had an introductory meeting at the Parque Central which is 2 blocks away and far superior from what I saw. I would recommend paying a bit more and staying there. We also booked a City tour for 19CUC from the tourist agency which is in the small shopping precint adjacent to the hotel. This was probably the worst tour I have ever done. To start with we were picked up 40 minutes late. The group was mainly Spanish and so the guide spoke mainly in Spanish with minor translations in English. We seemed to miss a lot of the things I expected we would be shown and spent far to long sitting in cafes or visiting shops owned by friends of the guide. I would advise paying a bit more for an English speaking guide for an English speaking group only.

Room Tip: Higher floor as possible but with AC that works.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,506)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,001 of 3,507 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

I had a good experience in the Hotel Sevilla.
The staff gave us a warm welcoming. This was just perfect.

The building looks great, and is close to some strategic points in La Habana (Prado, Habana Vieja, obispo street, malecon...).

The room on 7th floor was really nice and wide enough, with a great view on the Capitole.
Air conditionning was OOO, but I didn't miss it as the air was cool at this night at this period of the year.
I appreciated my windows to be sound proof from the streets noises.

The bathroom has been nicely restored, though the hot water tap didn't worked at mine. Just a minor detail.
The shower temperature was fluctuant (cold/hot).

Nice view and relaxing breakfasts on the 9th floor, though I found the buffet a bit deceiving, it was pretty average ; and could have been better.

Some cuban bands are playing at the ground floor during the evenings, and it's nice to just stay and listen, though you will have to deal with cigarettes and cigar smoke.
The bar there is said to be open 24/24.

To conclude, I would say I globally had a very pleasant stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: I heard that rooms at the prado side are sometimes exposed to the noise of the street at night (mayb...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, Gerente at Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

The hotel is about to conclude the proccess of renovation of his rooms included bathrooms. Since june 2011 all furniture have been renewed : rooms, restaurants and Lobby.
At the same time we proceed to the hotel renovation, about to finish, we keep going training and preparing our staff in order to improve our quality standards of all our services. In that way, we hope to reach the expectations of all our guests with the well knowed Caribbean Hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Was a little disappointed with this hotel. Our room was tatty, stained bedspreads, large patch of mildew in bathroom ceiling. Shower was just a dribble if lucky. Breakfasts were not good. Very little choice, food ran out quickly and you were lucky to get bowls, cups etc. Snacks were fine in bar area. Watch out for scammers near hotel, they get talking to you then make their move with the baby milk scam, cigar scam or arranging for dancing. They are all out to scam you with their sad tales of how badly off they are. DON'T GO ANYWHERE WITH THEM! Don't even start to talk to them. Single men in our group were forever being pestered my Ladies Of The Night . Remember this is Havana and be on your guard.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a higher floor. We were on second floor and had Street noise. Think room 501 w...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshireScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, Gerente at Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

The hotel is about to conclude the proccess of renovation of his rooms included bathrooms. Since june 2011 all furniture have been renewed : rooms, restaurants and Lobby.
At the same time we proceed to the hotel renovation, about to finish, we keep going training and preparing our staff in order to improve our quality standards of all our services. In that way, we hope to reach the expectations of all our guests with the well knowed Caribbean Hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Since years now I am visiting Havana and, when possible, stay at The Mercure Sevilla Hotel.
The staff is very friendly, the location is great and the rooms spacious. The pool area with the restaurant has sunshine till late afternoon and at the lobby bar there is almost every afternoon a life band playing. I am looking forward to my next Havana rip to visit this hotel again. Manfredo

Room Tip: rooms upper floors
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manfredo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, Gerente at Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you very much ! Your comment makes us happy and motivate us to improve our Service which we will offer to all new guests who will give us the opportunity to welcome them during their next vacations in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Right off the Prado that divides Old Havana from Centro Havana. We walked all over Old Havana one day, and walked Centro another, no need to hire transportation. Also within walking distance of the Malecon/sea wall. Wonderful unheated (thank God) pool to cool off in upon return, not crowded. Snack bar beside the pool for a beer or mojito (staff were good: friendly, efficient & had good memories). Terrific open-air patio bar right off the lobby with great live music daily at lunch time and late afternoons and nights. The bands always want 10 cuc's for their cd's - worth it. Half the staff became our amigos, the other half didn't seem to care. Affordable menu with good food: huge sandwiches for 6 cuc's, med. pizzas for 5 cuc's, chicken dish for 10 cuc's.

They have WiFi in the lobby now, and a currency exchange counter, but they only gave us 90 cents on the dollar, versus the Cadeca in the hotel's 'commercial gallery' gave us 95 cents on the dollar. (I had to show my passport once at the Cadeca.)

No view from our 3rd floor room, TV remote didn't work, our toilet made a loud screeching noise every flush, satellite TV, but reception is poor. A/C worked wonderfully, good mattress & pillows, good sleep.

Excellent security at both hotel entrances, more security patrol the lobby, all professional, most are friendly. Concierge was greatly helpful in introducing us to a driver who could take us out for a day's drive. (The 1st driver said $250, we walked back into the lobby in shock, next moment another driver came in & quoted us $180, - too much, $150 - done.) The lobby is lovely, filled with photos of Hemingway, Al Capone (who lived on the 6th floor), and others. Fabulous architecture throughout.

The worst thing about this hotel is the gauntlet of desperately poor Cubans awaiting you outside near both hotel entrances. Security does a good job, but we were hit a dozen times before walking 20 feet for taxi rides, horse & buggy rides, rickshaw rides, women wanting $, men wanting $, people wanting something from you. Not the hotel's fault, but there it is, you're in Havana.

Room Tip: I asked for a room high up, with a view of the Malecon, but was given a 3rd floor room with a view o...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likewyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, Gerente at Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

The hotel is about to conclude the proccess of renovation of his rooms included bathrooms. Since june 2011 all furniture have been renewed : rooms, restaurants and Lobby.

At the same time we proceed to the hotel renovation, about to finish, we keep going training and preparing our staff in order to improve our quality standards of all our services. In that way, we hope to reach the expectations of all our guests with the well knowed Caribbean Hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 km away
Iberostar Parque Central
9.3 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,427 reviews
2.5 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 80 in Havana
1,355 reviews
4.5 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,701 reviews
8.9 km away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#26 of 80 in Havana
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Havana

Been to Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane

Address: Trocadero 55 e Prado y Zulueta Habana, Havana 19260, Cuba (Formerly Sofitel Sevilla La Habana)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: $181 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of world heritage listed historic Havana, the hotel stands out thanks to its Moorish architecture, its unique and spectacular view over the city as well as by the prestigious personalities that have stayed in the hotel since 1908. 178 rooms,2 restaurants, 3 bars, a meeting room for up to 50 people and a swimming pool. 24hr dining available. N.B. in Cuba the EUR to CUC (cuban pesos) exchange rate is subject to a fluctuating gouvernment tax. American credit cards are not accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sevilla Havane
Mercure Hotel Havana
Mercure Havana
Havana Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing