We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This was a very nice hotel, located in a busy and interesting area near the harbour. Very pleasant rooms, exellent food and good service. Wi Fi very slow, but it works.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steinargy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    191
    54
    17
    18
See reviews for
64
250
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boulder co
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed here on a recent Nat Geo tour of Cuba. It is a recently renovated hotel, and that does show. The wi-fi is extremely slow and only works if you get close to the source. The staff seemed to know nothing about it. Some of the rooms smelled of drains. And, when it came time to check out, we had to wait while one person checked each room to make sure nothing had been taken. Needless to say, this took forever. If it rains, the courtyard, where the bar and restaurant are located, get drenched and the walkways are slippery. The rooms, like nearly all our rooms in Cuba, were dark. Bring your own reading light.

That sounds like a lot of complaining, but this was actually a great base to explore Old Havana, and that's what we were there for. The rooms were clean and attractive. The food was acceptable, and when you consider that the locals still use ration cards to get bread, you just have to be grateful for what you are served. This food certainly was better than what we got in rural Cuba, so don't get your expectations up if you are headed into the countryside.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank traveling_foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jef-ind
Level Contributor
306 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Spent two nights here when in Havana. The hotel is in a phenomenal location directly across from the old pier terminal and on one of Habana Vieja's main squares. It is within 20 minutes walk of just about any sight in old or downtown Havana. The building is beautifully restored. My room was very well appointed with comfortable beds and linens and a balcony looking out over a narrow street. The staff were generally very helpful, especially the door men/porters, who seemed to know the city very well. If there was a disappointment, it was the breakfast. It was included in our room price and included many choices. Both mornings, it was rather slow. The coffee was not as good as I had elsewhere in Cuba and the fruits and juice were far from great. The orange juice was clearly out of a box. This was surprising, given the great fruit and juices we had at other places, including private homes where supplies were harder to come by. But in a value-for-money perspective, this was a great place. Great location, clean, efficient for the price.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms have nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jef-ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed there a solo traveller from 30 June till 6 July 2011. The hotel was opened only 7 months ago but I found everything working very well. Start with reception people and manager every one very helpful, friendly. Food quality is excellent.
The renovation of the old place was excellent and it is really wonderful boutique hotel with only 27 rooms; my rooms( a suite) was facing the Plaza and looking from the balcony it was wonderful feeling.
I cannot wait to go back to Havana and to this particularly this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms ( in fact, all 3 suits) facing the Plaza are the best in terms of view and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank banexltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed in the Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal in April this year and were very impressed. It had only been open just over 6 months, but everything was running perfectly; no hiccups. The staff are charming and very proud of their small hotel: this place has only got about 30 rooms; so you quickly get to know your staff: and they you.

It is situated at the edge of Habana Vieja in a pedestrianised zone right next to a gorgeous church with a tower which can be climbed for 2 pesos and which affords a nice view over the city. This view is obviously surpassed by the one from the roof of the Hotel Parque Central; but bear in mind: you don't have to be a resident of the HPC to visit their roof terrace.

For a visit to Old Havana this hotel is a wonderful starting point. It is on calle Oficios, next to Mercaderes: both very interesting streets to amble around to take in the atmosphere. The most important sights of Old Havana start on your doorstep and are all within a 20 minute walk; including the Hemmingway bars: I recommend the Bodegiuta del Medio above the Floridita. But they're both quite sexy in their own ways.

This hotel has got its own little roof terrace which is quite intimate. We were never interrupted while enjoying a gorgeous sunrise over the harbour.

Yes: I know you want to say you stayed at the Nacional or the Parque Central &c. But you can visit their bars and foyers and restaurants without having to fork out for their rooms; and I recommend you do visit these hotels precisely for their bars, foyers and restaurants. But have you seen the TripAdvisor reports on their rooms? Not that clever, eh?

We found the service to be excellent as were the breakfasts which were not of the buffet kind but waitress-served.

Our room was clean and comfortable: no complaints there.

We would certainly return on our next visit

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GerineldoMarquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
0.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 km away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal

Property: Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
Address: Oficios 152 esq a Amargura, Plaza San Francisco de Asis, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Havana
Price range (per night): $362 - $474
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal 5*
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing