We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was simply devine !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was simply devine !!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed there a solo traveller from 30 June till 6 July 2011. The hotel was opened only 7 months ago but I found everything working very well. Start with reception people and manager every one very helpful, friendly. Food quality is excellent.
The renovation of the old place was excellent and it is really wonderful boutique hotel with only 27 rooms; my rooms( a suite) was facing the Plaza and looking from the balcony it was wonderful feeling.
I cannot wait to go back to Havana and to this particularly this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms ( in fact, all 3 suits) facing the Plaza are the best in terms of view and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank banexltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    207
    72
    28
    21
See reviews for
72
290
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed in the Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal in April this year and were very impressed. It had only been open just over 6 months, but everything was running perfectly; no hiccups. The staff are charming and very proud of their small hotel: this place has only got about 30 rooms; so you quickly get to know your staff: and they you.

It is situated at the edge of Habana Vieja in a pedestrianised zone right next to a gorgeous church with a tower which can be climbed for 2 pesos and which affords a nice view over the city. This view is obviously surpassed by the one from the roof of the Hotel Parque Central; but bear in mind: you don't have to be a resident of the HPC to visit their roof terrace.

For a visit to Old Havana this hotel is a wonderful starting point. It is on calle Oficios, next to Mercaderes: both very interesting streets to amble around to take in the atmosphere. The most important sights of Old Havana start on your doorstep and are all within a 20 minute walk; including the Hemmingway bars: I recommend the Bodegiuta del Medio above the Floridita. But they're both quite sexy in their own ways.

This hotel has got its own little roof terrace which is quite intimate. We were never interrupted while enjoying a gorgeous sunrise over the harbour.

Yes: I know you want to say you stayed at the Nacional or the Parque Central &c. But you can visit their bars and foyers and restaurants without having to fork out for their rooms; and I recommend you do visit these hotels precisely for their bars, foyers and restaurants. But have you seen the TripAdvisor reports on their rooms? Not that clever, eh?

We found the service to be excellent as were the breakfasts which were not of the buffet kind but waitress-served.

Our room was clean and comfortable: no complaints there.

We would certainly return on our next visit

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GerineldoMarquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
166 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stayed 4 days with our daughter and her son of 16 and we all enjoyed very much our stay in this new charming "Palacio". Best breakfast (no buffet), nice rooms with flat screen TV and good service from the frontdesk to the chambermaid. Excellent situation
to visit Havana and what we enjoyed most, no groups.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Derobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We booked months in advance through an authorised third party for the Hotel, the Carribean Travel Network and as it was our honeymoon ensured that the reservation was confirmed through a series of emails. On arrival our experience was to be left waiting around while the two parties blamed each other but the end result was the booking not being honoured. To be fair they worked hard to find alternative accomodation and the difference was refunded, but the cab organsied for the transfer took over an hour to arrive and dropped us at the wrong location. The hotel they found was OK for the price but not what we were after for such a special occasion. Such a pity we could not get into the full booked Saratoga, forget about this place and book there if you can in future.

The hotel though looked great we would have loved to stay there are it was one of the few hotels in that area with a consistent (but slow) intenet connection.

Room Tip: Book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aussiejames007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We are both professional and international travellers. We stayed one night at this hotel in Havana. The staff were unfriendly especially in the bar and had poor english. The bedroom was dark and poorly lit and the bathroom smelt of drains. At night it was extremely noisy due to the open structure of the hotel which amplified all noise from arriving guests and then hotel cleaning staff. There is no breakfast buffet just a large menu - the choices we made seemed to come in random order and really we had no idea what they may be. A late checkout cost double most of its competitors - 60 CUC and the exchange rate was 10% worse than other hotels we stayed in. The dining room was small and felt cramped although we did not eat there. Finally we were accused of taking things from the mini bar that we had not had. In all not a pleasant experience in contrast to the other excellent hotels we stayed in - Sol Cayo Largo, Valadero Paradisus and Sarratoga in Havana.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StylesKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
10.1 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
3.5 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
5.5 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#23 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
9.7 km away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal

Property: Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
Address: Oficios 152 esq a Amargura, Plaza San Francisco de Asis, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Price range (per night): $253 - $457
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing