We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should not be classed as 4 star!!”
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Inglaterra
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Terrible hotel, and most certainly not 4'star in any way. I really don't know how they can claim they are. So let's start with the room. Most of the rooms are internal and do not have windows, giving a dark, cell like appearance. The rooms are damp and smell of rotting sprouts because of this. Our shower room had a dirty toilet, no plug in the sink, a shower curtain with pink mould on the bottom and a hairdryer which was an electrical hazard in how it was just about attached to the wall. Our chamber maid was lovely and left our towels in the shape of swans and elephants. However, when we opened out the towels they were dirty too. So let's move onto breakfast. Not too bad a buffet. However the table cloths got progressively more dirty as the breakfast service went on, and they were not changed. Cups and plates often dirty and had to be replaced. Often no cutlery and often after getting a knofe and fork, had to ask for a spoon for our coffee and a spoon for cereal. Rooftop terrace was very nice, with good views of the city. Staff up here were friendly. However don't book this hotel for the jacuzzi... when we opened the lid there was a strange floating mound across the top of it ... yuk. And finally the famous terrace to watch people go by. Firstly the service was terrible ... we saw lots of people sit down, wait 20 or 30 minutes with no service and then get up and leave. We also had a surprise in the evening ... it was really hard to get a table and then we realised that the majority of the tables were occupied by single female prostitutes waiting for clients! It was fascinating to watch men come in choose a girl, have a drink, disappear into the hotel and the girl return later on her own to sit at another table! I am surprised that a supposed 4 star hotel should allow this on its premises. Finally, we got sick of some of the staff repeatedly asking for tips when they did no more than offer very basic, and somewhat sullen service. I have also never known a hotel which has no city maps and charges 3cuc for a city map .... it does not offer currency exchange and sends you to the wrong hotel to get money and then the woan just shrugs when you tell the. .... provided a card for internet which did not work and then refused to replace it unless we paid again. The downstairs restrooms were utterly filthy and stomach turningly stinky. No toilet seats, no toilet paper and some of them missing a handle to flush the toilet. I know this is a poor country, but no need for poor service and then expecting a tip for the pleasure All in all awful hotel. Pay a bit extra and go 5 star!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Que3nieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

This is not a perfect hotel. But it IS perfect for a stay in Havana because it encompasses Cuba in so many ways. if you can't live with idiosyncrasies then don't stay here - but if you can then definitely do. Our room was serviceable (we stayed 5 nights), old fashioned but effective air conditioning, clean enough, decent shower (with a life of its own) and breakfast was good. Location is absolutely ideal for a visit to the city. Live music at breakfast, live music on the ground floor bar, live music at the rooftop bar (who doesn't want to drink cocktails at midnight overlooking Havana ?). If you're visiting Havana to feel like you're going somewhere different then this is the place to stay.

I loved Havana and this hotel undoubtedly helped ! There are rumours that it is going to be modernised - that would be a terrible shame, especially if it turns into an anonymous western style bland experience.

Room Tip: We were not on the Parque Central side or third floor which probably made our room so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The hotel has a great central location. It as a charm of and Andalousia like Spanish palace not really my taste. As all critics say it, it’s obsolete : rooms are clean but air conditioning is deficient and it smells like humid in the room. A half bottle of rhum and big bottle of water are house gifts. Despite being clean the towels smell like poorly dried. The staff is nice except for an old unpleasant and grumpy female at the desk. The outside bar is major attraction with live music, unfortunately unable to serve any cocktail besides Mojito (not good by far). The rooftop bar also as music in evenings, beautiful view over old Havana, but unable to prepare a Pina Colada as they don’t have pineapples (those you can get for 3 cts, 2 blocks behind hotel) - I am talking not one day, but for our entire week. Breakfast is decent but I personally don’t have sautéed pork or pasta carbonara at 8 am. WiFi is available, a little slow, you get an hour free card if you stay one day or one week. Elsewhere the star rating would barely be 2 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JARAWAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

It's a nice place with a beautiful terrace where you can see the city from high above. Breakfast is good and the waiters are so nice. During the day there are so many different groups are performing music in front of the hotel where you can have some drink and enjoy the music.
Rooms are alright. But to be honest I recommend you to stay in a casa after learning a bit about Havana by staying in here 1-2 nights. Casa's are way nicer and it's good to have a better communication with Cubans.
I said after staying in here because the hotel is located in a very nice place, you can easily learn your directions taking the hotel as a base.
But the stuff in the reception should be a little bit kinder to the customers.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilke u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

It is very valuable your opinion for the hotel and will be analyzed with our team to achieve a better satisfaction of our customers. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Rooms had aircon, a safe and a fridge, as this is an old building it is not double glazed and the location is VERY noisy. The only meal we ate there was breakfast, there was almost no service, dirty tablecloth, no plates (I had to take one from under a juice) and poor food. The building is lovely, but needs a complete overhaul. Wifi is almost £2/hour. There are much better hotels in this area. Our balcony was tiny, overhead was a dripping aircon system and the balcony was littered with lots of cigarette ends.

Room Tip: We had 2 different rooms, both were very, very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieNelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0.1 km away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
2.4 km away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,839 reviews
4.4 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,773 reviews
9.1 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Address: Paseo del Prado No 416 | San Rafael y San Miguel, Havana 10200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: $190 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Inglaterra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the oldest hotel in the city, founded in 1875, declared Nacional Monument in 1981 and located in the center of the city, in front of the Central Park and near to interesting places in Old Havana. The architecture, history, location, and the presence of the cuban culture are the principal atractions of this charming hotel. It was considered one of the most famous hotels in Cuba and the world, attracting the atention of many important personalities like: Sara Bernhart, Enrico Carusso, Ana Pavlova, Imperio Argentina, Gabriela Mistral, Jose Marti Perez, Antonio Maceo among others . Concerts by the Band of the City, launching of books, recital of poems, talkings about history and exhibitions, are the kind of activities offered to guests and cuban population. You can also enjoy the cuban plastic arts since its tables and the menu of the Colonial Restaurant designed by the most famous cuban painters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing