We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,850)
Filter reviews
1,850 results
Traveller rating
297
762
470
183
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
762
470
183
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest hotel rooftop bar old havana central park cuban music fantastic location plenty of hot water calle obispo central havana old cars earplugs musicians capitolio rum culture malecon
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 1,850 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The hotel has a great central location. It as a charm of and Andalousia like Spanish palace not really my taste. As all critics say it, it’s obsolete : rooms are clean but air conditioning is deficient and it smells like humid in the room. A half bottle of rhum and big bottle of water are house gifts. Despite being clean the towels smell like poorly dried. The staff is nice except for an old unpleasant and grumpy female at the desk. The outside bar is major attraction with live music, unfortunately unable to serve any cocktail besides Mojito (not good by far). The rooftop bar also as music in evenings, beautiful view over old Havana, but unable to prepare a Pina Colada as they don’t have pineapples (those you can get for 3 cts, 2 blocks behind hotel) - I am talking not one day, but for our entire week. Breakfast is decent but I personally don’t have sautéed pork or pasta carbonara at 8 am. WiFi is available, a little slow, you get an hour free card if you stay one day or one week. Elsewhere the star rating would barely be 2 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JARAWAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

It's a nice place with a beautiful terrace where you can see the city from high above. Breakfast is good and the waiters are so nice. During the day there are so many different groups are performing music in front of the hotel where you can have some drink and enjoy the music.
Rooms are alright. But to be honest I recommend you to stay in a casa after learning a bit about Havana by staying in here 1-2 nights. Casa's are way nicer and it's good to have a better communication with Cubans.
I said after staying in here because the hotel is located in a very nice place, you can easily learn your directions taking the hotel as a base.
But the stuff in the reception should be a little bit kinder to the customers.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilkeu17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

It is very valuable your opinion for the hotel and will be analyzed with our team to achieve a better satisfaction of our customers. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Rooms had aircon, a safe and a fridge, as this is an old building it is not double glazed and the location is VERY noisy. The only meal we ate there was breakfast, there was almost no service, dirty tablecloth, no plates (I had to take one from under a juice) and poor food. The building is lovely, but needs a complete overhaul. Wifi is almost £2/hour. There are much better hotels in this area. Our balcony was tiny, overhead was a dripping aircon system and the balcony was littered with lots of cigarette ends.

Room Tip: We had 2 different rooms, both were very, very noisy
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieNelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

An older but clean hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. We arrived on Sunday afternoon so changed our money (Euros) to CUC here.
We only stayed one night but had 3 nights at an Air B&B around the corner so came back here for breakfast buffet most mornings (8 CUC) and used it as our hub for arranging a bus trip to Vignales and to store our luggage after exiting the ABB. All staff speak fluent English in our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathiernc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

142/5000
Thank you very much for your opinion and your preference for breakfast. It will always be a pleasure to take care of our visitors and to repeat their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We had one night to enjoy Havana and this hotel did not disappoint. The only criticism we would have would be the plumbing / water pressure, but understand that this is an old building. The appearance, service and location are all very good and the rooftop terrace bar allowed us to enjoy the atmosphere well into the night. If anyone was booking an independant visit / looking to explore Havana on their own terms, this hotel is definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
Thank alexanderdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear alexanderdavidson:

Thanks a lot, in first place for choosing us for your stay in Havana and also for the time spent in writing this wonderefull review about our hotel.
Our apologies for any inconvenience during your stay.
We just wish and would like that you return to our hotel and make this hotel your favorite in Havana.
We thank you again, please if you are planing to come back just let us know to the email provided.

Best regards,

Ania Mastrapa Pérez
Relaciones Públicas
Hotel Inglaterra
rrpp@gcingla.gca.tur.cu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews