We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
97
183
82
48
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
183
82
48
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the square plaza de armas old town excellent location other hotels standard room first floor hot water people watching bars and restaurants by cuban standards internet restoration rooftop rum obispo history
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel was a disappointment from the moment we arrived and it's a shame as It looked so lovely from the outside ! The rooms were ok (2 star) although hotel rated itself 5 but we were on the top floor and the elevator broken. The phone to reception didn't work and neither did the safe. We could have put up with this ( it is Cuba after all) except that the Staff were totally unhelpful and dismissive from the moment we arrived. When we tipped the bellboy one peso for taking our bag 20 yards he looked grumpy and demanded 3 - we then had to carry our bags up and down stairs as no one helped us and the elevator was broken. When asked about the safe not working the receptionist shrugged her shoulders- the concierge seemed to always be looking at her phone and when asked where a restaurant was seemed annoyed to be disturbed and said she didn't know ( even though we found out later it was a block away and was famous - The breakfast staff were unbelievably dismissive never waiting for an answer and throwing plates down in front of us and the breakfast itself was very very bad. Other guests we spoke to all said the same thing. The final straw for us was on the last day we requested a late check out 1pm as opposed to the usual 12 . The desk in the morning said ok and that it would be 10 pesos to which we agreed. When he went down at exactly 1pm as planned a new person behind the desk literally screamed at us in front of fellow guests saying how dare we check out late and then to add insult to injury demanded 20 pesos ! We were shocked by the attitude of the man and felt almost verbally abused. There are much nicer hotels to stay in Havana that are just as quaint and historic so don't waste your time booking this one.

Stayed: January 2017
4  Thank mdvLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We spent a week at Santa Isabel in January 2017. We had expected shabby with few amenities but were pleasantly surprised. We had a suite overlooking the Plaza des Armes with a sunny stained glass window in the door opening onto the Plaza. The bathroom toiletries were wonderful, as was the jacuzzi tub and bidet. The furnishings were old but the bed was comfortable. Our only complaint is cleaniliness: the carpet was dirty and didn't seem to be cleaned while we were there, and there was a biting bug -- a spider? -- in the bed. Breakfast was terrific, with lots of options. And the location is outstanding!

Room Tip: Regular room rate -- for a tiny room -- is $350/night; our hotel cost was embedded in tour price and we paid extra for suite.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I did not stay here but after quite a few poor meals [Cuban cuisine seems to vary from awful to wonderful] I chose to have lunch here. It is a good place from which to people watch and have a leisurely meal. However, one family had to take their food away in bags as they had to wait so very long for it to be cooked. I was not in a hurry but certainly had to wait longer than expected in such a luxury setting.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pippa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

An excellent location- viewing one of main, old city squares. In a 200 years old private rich family house, a nice and big roof terrace overlooking the square.
Rooms are spacious bit poorly equipped relatively to 5 stars hotel. Maintenance is poor. Stuff is willing to help and service is o.k. Breakfast is very good and served outdoor facing the square.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramidov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy R, Gerente at Hotel Santa Isabel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Dear ramidov:

First of all, thank you very much for choosing us to enjoy your vacation, and also for publishing your magnificent views on our Hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed our room and the breakfast, we like to serve it outdoor, this way you can feel the Havana in the morning.
You are absolutely right about the room equipment and our maintenance, we are doing everything in our power to improve this, but sometimes it doesn’t depend on us. We would like to apologize if this could have caused an inconvenient to you during your stay.
For us it would be a great pleasure to receive you again very soon. In this house you will always be welcome!!
Greetings
Ernesto Quintana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel is several hundred years old and used to be a private home. We received a warm welcome and a Mojito on arrival. Our room over-looked the harbour and was comfortable. The hot water system warned of 50 degrees but we could never get more than luke warm out of the taps. The room safe didn't work for our two nights stay despite it being reported.
Breakfasts were served on the veranda and were tasty.
This hotel is fine as a B&B, which is how we used it, but I'm not sure we would want to stay there all day.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Wilmaasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy R, Gerente at Hotel Santa Isabel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016


Dear Wilmaasdad

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our Mojito on your arrival. Our staff will have pleased to know that you feel welcome in our Hotel.
I’m sorry that we were not able to fix your safe, I’m going to cheek why no body went to your room and fixed it, thanks to let us know, that way we can improve in our costumer service.
For us it would be a great pleasure to receive you again. In this house you will always be welcome !!
With my warmest regards,

Ernesto Quintana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews