We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,389)
Filter reviews
6,389 results
Traveller rating
2,108
2,496
1,133
414
238
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,108
2,496
1,133
414
238
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel tour missile crisis hall of fame historic hotel frank sinatra movie stars executive floor national monument cabaret parisien steeped in history famous guests step back in time old havana lots of history cabaret show buena vista social club terrace bar
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 6,389 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here in August. Although regular travellers to Cuba and Havana hotels this was our first time here.
Fantastic help at reception. Beautiful rooms well equipped. Not worth using coffee machine at 5 pesos for unpleasant coffee.
Delightful welcome drink.comfortable bar and music area. Great history with helpful guide re missile crisis free tour. Loved the pool although sometimes overcrowded.
Great views.
Only one situation which was totally unacceptable. The Sunday carnival night as we went with our children to watch from the seated area, the security personnel , whilst letting through all other tourists who were not required to show documents, stopped mu husband (who was born in Cuba) and did not want to believe he was a resident. Even when we had our documents, certain of the group caused an ugly and upsetting scene in front of our children and other residents.
We eventually passed of course but this prejudice was extremely upsetting and for me ruined our stay.
Hence whilst I would give 5 stars for all the great parts, I can only give 3 - that on the understanding these men need to be trained.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chapmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest.

Thank you for letting us your opinion about Hotel Nacional de Cuba.
We are happy because you enjoyed our services and the hotel locatetion in front to the malecon.
Our apologize for the inconvenients during carnaval night.
I believe that travelers will understand that they should not miss enjoying a cocktail on the terrace facing the "malecon".

Welcome back again!!!

Best Regards,

Antonio Martinez Rodriguez
General Director
Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not sure how this hotel got 5 stars - but needs to be reviewed
The only good thing about this hotel is the historical signifance
Overpriced
Money exchange ridiculously overpriced
Bottled water 3CUC!
Taxis and tours overpriced
Hotel too far from centre be prepared to pay 15CUC one way in taxi
Windows in room that don’t open- be prepared for terrible air quality in rooms -mould a big problem
Extremely poor quality everything else - whilst I understand it’s 3rd world the food and cleanliness in restaurant was disgusting
Breakfast buffet do not go near the man cooking omelettes. He cooks yr omelette and with same spatula starts scraping the bench top behind him
Plates, cutlery were filthy too could only eat croissants seemed safe
The other restaurant where u get pizza/burgers from don’t bother - the older female waitress was arrogant and did not want to be there and food bad except pizza was safe
Was there for five days and last 2 days had the worst diarrhoea that lasted over a week
And I was very careful in my choices of food and ice
Ruined the next leg of my trip as was hotel bound
the only nice thing I can say is the view was great out in garden, the lovely cleaners on floor 3 - thank you and the sales staff in gift shops thank you for yr help
I do love the country but won’t be staying at this hotel
It’s such a shame as could be absolutely amazing

Room Tip: if u like fresh air ask for room with windows that open
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank tbl12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights in August.

Location right on the Malecon - a short taxi to Old Havana, we took (about 10 CUC) due to the heat and travelling with children.

Check in was efficient. Pleasantly surprised by room which was large and spacious. Dated vs western standards however very comfortable and clean.

There was a safe in the room and air con which was very welcome in the heat.

Service was quite slow when we had issues with the toilet and tv not working - we had to chase several times to get sorted.

The grounds are lovely, looking out over the sea and Malecon - perfect place to watch the world go by and drink a Mojito, we got welcome drink vouchers on arrival which was a nice surprise.

It was Carnival time when we there, the only shame being that they section off an area so you couldn't sit and watch. Not sure who was allowed in.

There are 2 pools, great to relax and cool off after a morning of exploring Havana. We had Pizzas from the pool bar which were really nice.

Breakfast - had a large selection of everything you could want and more. The only downfall being that they were quite slow to replenish things at times.

We joined one of the free daily tours, which was great - exploring the history, tunnels and seeing the views from the roof of the hotel. We did leave the tour after an hour and not sure how much longer it went on.

Check out was quick once we joined the correct queue, maybe better signposting would be great rather then a short sharp response from reception.

Would return if wanted to balance exploring Havana with a hotel that had a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K1000M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest.


Thank you for selecting the Hotel Nacional de Cuba during your stay in Havana. We consider your opinion will be useful for travelers, thanks for sharing it.
Welcome back soon!!!
Best Regards,
Antonio Martinez Rodriguez
Generl Director
Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's a place full of history, with lovely gardens overlooking the famous Malecon, bar offering great cocktails and live music.

It is officially rated 5 stars, but this is also part of the history. The check-in we experienced for one overnight was really frustrating. It is a huge and very visited hotel, but there were only one reception desk for guests, no matter check-in, check-out, others. We had to wait a huge queue couple of times in order to check-in. The rooms were not ready an hour after the official check in hour, which in Cuba is also quite late 16h. But we were lucky to finally have them, not the same with other tourists.

The rooms they finally gave us were great overlooking the ocean and Malecon.

The hotel common areas are very charming and beautiful. It is very clean.

The wifi was of really good quality, which is not the common case for other 5-star hotels in Cuba.

The breakfast they serve is fine, good choice of fresh food, great bread.

There are a lot of bars with live music nearby. The Vedado neighbourhood is also very charming to walk around. The taxi to Habana Vieja is 10 CUC but you need to negotiate first the price in order to avoid surprises.

Hotel National is one of the must visit places in Havana.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the ocean and Malecon are fantastic
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenitsaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest.

Thank you for letting us your experience with us in the Hotel Nacional de Cuba.


It is true that the schedule check in is at 16 hr to have the optimum room because it is high hotel occupancy.

Thank you for recommeding us.

Welcome back soon!!!

Best Regards,

Antonio Martinez Rodriguez
General Director
Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my second stay at the hotel. Last visit was almost 2 years ago and the Hotel once again lived up to its reputation of a 1st class hotel with friendly staff and great service! The room, common areas and grounds are very clean and well maintained. Looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear William.

Very nice opinion about Hotel Nacional de Cuba! Thank you very much for sharing it and being faithful to the Hotel Nacional de Cuba.

Welcome back soon!!!

Best Regards.


Antonio Martinez Rodriguez
General Director
Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews