We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
4
10
13
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
10
13
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2017

In many ways a shame. The location is at the heart of Old Havana - none better but from there it is downhill. The Suite is old fashioned ok but is no Raffles. The dining is just terrible - the breakfast bread roll could have been fired from any local cannons - I seriously could not brealk it. While it is State run, I suspect nothing will change - they just do not get it and do not seem too concerned. At the very top end price for Havana, we expected much better.

Room Tip: All rooms look the Square
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Room had mild unpleasant smell. Check in staff were not friendly. Breakfast staff were slow and perhaps even indolent. After politely asking for coffee for a 3rd time waiter was rude to us. Pricey hotel for what was on offer to us.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the plaza.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauzmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We had a lovely stay at this hotel, which is in Old Havana. The rooms are large and well-furnished. We had room 312, which has a terrace overlooking the square. It is definitely worth booking a terrace room as it gives you the opportunity to relax outside with a drink, overlooking the bustle and activity of the hotel. The location is great - 2 minutes walk from the waterfront, and within a 5 minute walk of most of the interesting bits of Old Havana such as the major museums and the Cathedral.

The only reason this hotel gets 4 stars not 5 from me is the breakfast. It is served outside, which is lovely. However, the service is atrocious. On one morning we arrived at 7.45 for breakfast, we asked for a cup of tea and a cup of coffee. The tea arrived after 10 minutes, it took a further 10 minutes before the coffee arrived. We waited 30 minutes to get some bread, and over an hour for our actual breakfast to arrive. There were three waiters on duty, and only 10 tables occupied (20 people). Two of the waiters spent a lot of time playing on their phones in full view of the customers despite me asking 3 times for a cup of coffee. It wasn't as bad on other mornings but it still wan't quick.

The staff on reception and in the bar were fantastic.

Room Tip: rooms at the front on the 2nd floor (3rd floor if you're american!) have a terrace which is definitely worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsAnon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Excellent Location; Facility with a memorable historic value; Good Food; well educated staff ... spaced rooms with a great view to Havana Vieja..... Affordable prices .. The best experience

Fabian Niebles

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FABINI2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Cuba which started with a three night stay at this hotel. The inside reception and bar area has been modernised to good effect but thankfully the room we stayed in had not been tampered with too much! We had a large, comfortable bed, plenty of towels, hot water and toiletries. Please remember why you are in this lovely country-it is NOT like anywhere else and should be judged on its own merits. I agree the 'buffet' breakfast is not a buffet, but the food we had was cooked freshly and served politely. There was plenty of choice (something we had been led to believe was not available) and any request was dealt with promptly and efficiently. We would highly recommend this hotel as it has an excellent location for sightseeing.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the square at the front of the hotel, and it was very quiet. The hotel is only two floors high.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews