We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for 2 couples on dive trip”
other travellers have booked this property
Front Row Bonaire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Row Bonaire
Dine to the sounds of the waves
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Front Row Bonaire
Dine to the sounds of the waves
This high-end 2200+ sqft apartment was designed as the primary residence of Sand Dollar's developer.
Klein Bonaire in front
The Blue Zone
Dive Shop at the Resort with boat diving facilities
Dive Shop at the Resort
Your hostess Catherine - and Dominique
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kralendijk, Bonaire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Billie T
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for 2 couples on dive trip”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in August 2016

This unit has 2 bedrooms (others the same size have 3) so there is plenty of communal space for relaxing, eating, playing cards, etc. after diving. The patio area is incredible with the most amazing unobstructed views. The unit is well furnished and has very comfortable furnishings. The art is amazing, photography and paintings of the owners and absolutely stunning. The bedrooms are air conditioned for comfortable sleeping, the common area is not, but with doors/windows open a nice breeze comes through.
There is a dedicated dive locker and sink for the unit on the ground floor and diving is literally steps away. Put on your gear, walk to the ladder and you are on Bari Reef, one of the best dives spots on earth (#1 in the entire Caribbean for the fish diversity with over 300 species sighted and surveyed). Dive Friends shop has an on-site facility so you can swap out tanks 24 hours a day (note- only for Sand Dollar guests, recently stayed at Hamlet Oasis and the Dive Friends shop there is open 8-5).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H
Clemson, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family made our first trip to Bonaire in June. We will definitely be returning, not only to the island, but to The Blue Zone at the Sand Dollar. The location of the complex was ideal, about a 5 minute drive to downtown, but still within walking distance of everything that we needed. Coffee, breakfast, and lunch just a short walk away at Between Two Buns (have their frappucino!!!). The Blue Zone @ the Sand Dollar was absolute paradise - amazing views at sunset, ocean breezes, and a short walk (like right outside the door - really) to some of the the most spectacular diving and snorkeling that I have witnessed. There is a dive shop on sight, a locker to store your gear downstairs, and an outdoor shower.....no detail overlooked. Everything in the condo was working, clean, and very tasteful. This was the first vacation in which after a week, I was not ready to return home. We will be returning next year and look forward to working with Catherine again. Catherine helped us arrange a rental car, had someone meet us at the airport, and answered all of our questions in a timely manner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve K
Somerville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Apartment - wish I could have stayed!”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Blue Zone at Sand Dollar is a spectacular apartment. The views are breathtaking and it's only steps from the water. We were there primarily to snorkel, and there are stairs leading right into the water and some amazing snorkeling.

Bonaire isn't an island with big sandy beaches and the Sand Dollar isn't for you if you're looking to lay in the sun all day. However, at the other end of the development (a 2-3 minute walk) there is a small beach with lounge chairs which we found useful. The sun is strong, so I suggest packing a small beach umbrella or two (we did and it was worth the luggage space).

The apartment itself is very comfortable and airy. There is so much leisure space - the 4 of us were always comfortable. It was great to have a full kitchen and we ate most of our breakfast and lunch (and a couple of dinners) there. There is food shopping fairly close by and we packed an extra suitcase with non-perishable food that we brought from home. It was convenient to have a washing machine, although there is no dryer so you'll need to plan ahead for laundry so it can air dry on the drying rack - it wasn't a big deal for us. Wifi was surprisingly strong and stable.

The location is convenient to downtown and some great diving/snorkeling sites not far away. There are some restaurants and shops very close to the complex so you can walk to a number of things quickly. There is a spa and gym directly across the street, which we used several times. I suppose it's a 15-20 minute walk to downtown, but we drove each time because of the heat. We rented the owner's car for the week, which was very convenient.

Overall I was very pleased with my stay at the Blue Zone and I am sure you will be, too!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The layout of the apartment and the proximity to the water
Liked least: The coffee pot was a little quirky - a very small complaint!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Blue Zone is a little but of heaven on earth! We were greeted at the airport by guest services who drove us to the condo and gave us keys. The condo is absolutely beautiful. The owner is an amazing photographer and her pictures are everywhere. Her other half is an amazing painter and his painting compete for wall space as well. The furniture is comfortable with Living room, dining room and full size kitchen. There are 2 full bathrooms with showers, etc... and a half bath off of the living room. Outside is a rinse tank for all your diving gear and a private locker to hang all you wetsuits, BCD's, etc...It locks so you can leave all your things down there overnight to dry and you do not have to haul equipment up and down stairs! We were there for a week in June and it was peaceful and quiet! It is near Dive Friends Dive Shop and Buddy Dive. We rented tanks from Dive friends and it was easy and convienent. I highly recommend staying here while in Bonaire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was clean, comfortable and quiet.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall G
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed there 5-2 thru 5-9-2015. This was our third trip to Bonaire. We love the island because it is laid back and you can dive where and when you want to. The condo is 16 feet from the water and right on top of Bari reef. What else could you want?? We took another couple with us on this trip. It was their first trip to the island. It won't be their last. We could not be more pleased with the unit. Catherine made it a breeze to book and her guest service person was waiting on us at the airport. The unit is right on the water, all screened in (no bugs), constant breeze, big sliding glass doors to open up the whole condo to the breeze and ocean sounds. You could not ask for anything more in a condo. The pictures on the site are spot on. Wish we could have stayed longer. Maybe next trip !! Soon I hope.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was fantastic. Couldn't ask for anything else. (More time there)
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing