We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wheelchair accessible diving in Bonaire!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Sault Sainte Marie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wheelchair accessible diving in Bonaire!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have been to the Divi twice and have to say that they offer some of the most accessible scuba diving for divers with a disability. The resort offeres several wheelchair accessible cabins, and although the 'accessible' bathrooms leave a little to be desired, the rest of the room is very good. The biggest challenge in the bathroom is the shower...it is intended to be a roll-in, but the space is too small and the pull down shower chair is not quite what I've come to expect with accessibility.
Now, all that being said, the accessible diving is second to none! The staff at the dive shop go above and beyond to accommodate divers with a disability. They are friendly, helpful, courteous, and they really respect us as divers.
I would wholeheartedly reccommend the Divi as a destination for diving, and well worth any disadvantages that the bathroom might have. As I have told others, if you want your environment to be perfect, stay at home. I personally do not want to stay at home, as this world has too many things to see and do, and diving in Bonaire is one of them.
We will be going for two weeks next year, as one week just isn't enough!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeSSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    331
    126
    42
    20
See reviews for
126
297
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had a great time last week at the Divi Flamingo. The room was great. Was kept nice and clean and the snorkeling was second to none from shore as well as with the Dee and the Woodwind group. Tghe staff at the Divi were very curtious and helpful. We look forward to going back as soon as we can. Carl & Gail Pieper

Room Tip: I recomend trying to get in the 701 to 710 room area or above them to catch the fantastic trade wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCleanNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have been going to the Divi Flamingo for about 10 years, though some ups and downs, and now definitely on the up again. The most outstanding feature is the dive shop. Serge, the staff and divemasters are outstanding. How they help the disabled divers is an inspiration. And the easy operation and dive boats make it a pleasure for all of us. I love the way the hotel is built right at water's edge (although that does mean little or no beach). It is the closest thing to being on a boat, being able to take morning coffee out on a stone pier and watch birds and fish. The bright colors add up to a funky charm that makes it easy to ignore any flaws. Short walk along the waterfront to town to a variety of good restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penticton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was my third trip to Bonaire. The staff and crew at the Divi Dive Shop were great. The captains and dive masters on the boats were so helpful and went the extra mile to make sure my dives were a blast. The Management and staff of the dive shop made sure all my diving needs were meant. silky smooth experience, I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My wife and I returned to dive in Bonaire at the Divi Flamingo Resort for the our second excellent adventure in February (2012) with our Canadian dive group for persons with disabilities "Freedom at Depth". Each year members of Freedom at Depth go to Divi Flamingo (Divi Dive Bonaire) for an exceptional and unique dive experience. The accessible cabins (accessible rooms) are close to all the resort activities, breakfast, diving shop, dive boats and restaurants, bars, pools and casino. They are conveniently located, private, and a unique experience compared to regular hotel rooms. The accessible cabins are a little tired and could use accessibility upgrades especially in the bathrooms but they meet basic accessibly needs. The resort staff are all friendly and helpful. The resort is also within reasonable wheeling distance of central town and all the excellent restaurants and stores. Cruise ships tie up regularly within site of the resort and as a result shopping and dining opportunities increase when the cruise ship passengers are in town. The diving experience here is always first class. The dive facilities are a minute wheel away from the accommodations and are all wheelchair accessible, the staff is friendly, helpful and well experienced in dealing with persons with disabilities. In fact some dive staff have instructor certification through the HSA (Handicapped Diving Association). Accessible lockers are available on the dock beside the dive loading area so equipment can be stored between dives. Not all the dive boats are wheelchair accessible but the dive crew provide any needed assistance. Before, during and after the dives the dive staff were nothing but courteous, accommodating and helpful. As a paraplegic (paralyzed from the upper chest down) in the over 29 dive, over a combination of three weeks, I did not have one bad dive. The dives were leisurely and we always saw an abundance of living corals, colourful schools of fish and all sorts and types of other marine life, usually between 30 and 60 feet. All dives were a combination of able bodied and our group of divers. If I had equipment issues or problems Serge or the dive staff was there to find or facilitate a solution. I would highly recommend this dive location to any diver with a disability looking for a unique, amazing and accessible dive experience. One drawback is the availability of flights and connections to Bonaire especially from Canada.

P.S. Local accessible transportation is available (big new accessible van) and the driver offered local tours or excursions for a reasonable rate.
The accessibility in Bonaire is exceptional when compared to our previous (last year) dive holiday to the Bahamas.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paonald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
2.0 km away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
2.4 km away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 22 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
3.5 km away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#10 of 22 in Kralendijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
3.2 km away
Buddy Dive
Buddy Dive
#5 of 22 in Kralendijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
7.4 km away
Caribbean Club Bonaire
Caribbean Club Bonaire
#8 of 22 in Kralendijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino

Property: Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Address: J.A. Abraham Boulevard 40 | Bonaire, Dutch Caribbean, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#2 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
Price range (per night): $192 - $340
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino allows you to experience the simple pleasure of tropical life. Whether you want to lounge around all day by one of our two freshwater pools, test your luck in our on-site casino at night, relax with a massage in the on-site spa, or scuba dive and snorkel through the beautiful Caribbean ocean, our Bonaire resort offers a truly memorable experience for all ages. Divi Flamingo is colorful, laidback, and fun; our resort and casino serves as the perfect home base for divers and vacationers drawn to explore the unpretentious island and stunning waters surrounding Bonaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and Booking.com so you can book your Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Flamingo Beach Hotel Kralendijk
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort And Casino Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing