We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another wonderful stay”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bonaire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RyanParty
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have recently returned from yet another wonderful 2 week holiday at Bonaire Sunset Villa. We missed our annual visit in 2015 so we were thrilled to return to this beautiful home and find all of the improvements that have been made since our last stay.

As usual, the owners, Lamber and Jaqueline, have seen to every detail in remodeling all of the bathrooms, adding thoughtful touches in each bedroom and replacing the floor tile throughout. It truly is a gem! Clean, comfortable, well appointed; from diving equipment area to kitchen to sleeping areas, there isn't a thing missing! We also love and appreciate the hospitality and kindness they convey to us and all their guests ... I couldn't agree more with the review I just read by DustinC for this property!

Our group spent most of our time out by the water and used the grill and new stove several evenings. We even saw a pod of dolphins swim by one evening while waiting for sunset! The addition of "mosquito pots" near both dining areas really helped cut down on the bites this year so that was a bonus. And the Tiki Toss game on the back porch was a fun surprise too!

We can't wait to return again next year! We've already got our 2 weeks on the calendar!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the garden and the comfort of the entire property.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mshrub687...
Queensbury, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We recently spent one week at the Sunset Villa in Bonaire. This was our second year staying there. There were 4 adults and an 18 month old child this year. We had a wonderful time. Lamber (the owner) has created a beautiful Villa that lacks nothing. It is especially good for little children. The villa is equipped with a highchair, baby pool with toys, crib, a baby bath, and childproof gates within the villa and in the yard. The bathrooms are newly remodeled and beautiful. (each bedroom has a private bathroom) The kitchen has a new stove and a large refrigerator. The flowers in the yard attract hummingbirds and butterflies throughout the day. Snorkeling is excellent just off of the private stairs. Lamber is extremely nice and accommodating. It is important to him that his guests have the best experience possible. We look forward to our next visit to the Sunset Villa.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biff S
Jamestown, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Phenomenal!”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The Villa comfortably accommodates 10 people in a beautifully appointed modern style with plenty of room to spread out. But you are most likely to spend your time in the lovely garden or on the terraces. Taking your meals right by the water on the large table beautifully tiled by Jacqueline is always a treat. If you prefer to be a few minutes away from the busy downtown area, but without losing all of the important conveniences, the Villa is a fantastic choice. Located steps away are a dive shop, grocery store, and a restaurant on the water. Lambèr is a wonderful host and will ensure that your every need is met. He knows the island and its people, so don't hesitate to ask him about anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and accommodations
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dustin C
Little Rock
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Words can't do the place justice.”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I could go on and on about the quality of the Villa, but I could never adequately express just how great it was. Lamber's (the owner) attention to detail is a study in perfection. Nothing was overlooked. No detail was overlooked. When he created what the villa has become, he demonstrated an ability to create an environment dedicated to pure relaxation.

I'll start with the dive gear facilities, since Bonaire is a diver's Mecca. The rinse tanks are connected via a pipe and an over flow into the rinse shower. So filling up the tanks with a small flow of water ensures that your gear will have a flow of fresh water to help flow the saltwater out. Being that it's saltwater draining, they drain onto the rocks back into the sea. There are 2 big lockers that gave us no issue holding our dive gear. We had 4 divers and it was more than adequate. The drying rack was probably almost 20 feet long and had no issue at all with adequate space. The whole section is next to the house ensuring a great pathway for the wind coming in over the island. Every single morning we put on 100% dry dive gear. The parking backs up the gate to his section so it was easy to get everything back there to rinse and dry. Tank racks and a bench completed the section, for ease of set up and tear down of gear.

The Lanai, I list it second, because it was the center of our life at the villa for the entire week. A ten person table with wooden ceiling as a basis for a grapevine cover was our hangout and dining table. 4 deck chairs also saw heavy use. The wall and staircase were makeshift camera holders for our nightly rushes to get great views of the sunset for our cameras. And those views were breathtaking.

Each bedroom was different. The beds were comfortable. My wife and I use a very high dollar mattress at home, and always fear travel for the beds we often encounter in hotels. These were perfect for us. Two of the upstairs rooms had balcony access. It also had 4 deck chairs. And stairs lead to the roof. It had amazing views of the mountain looking down on us and the sea.

The air conditioning and fan in each room was more than adequate to keep them cool enough that we used our blankets, despite our hot naturedness.

The kitchen had everything you'd need. Measuring cups to foil to coffee to a bbq brushes were all there. Lamber had it stocked with some foods not common to us in the states. The cheese spread was amazing, the crab dip was great as well. Our group of 7 ended up going through probably 10 or so bowls of each. (available from the 'warehouse' grocery store). Though most dinners were cooked at the grill next to the Lanai, not in the kitchen.

Next to the kitchen was a small office area with a ton of info about the island. Dive guides, maps, birdwatching books, etc.

We loved everything about it. Lamber is an absolute master of customer service. Every need, question, want, or desire we had, he could handle. Anything from help with restaurants to trips to different sites on the island.

Finally, he can arrange for discounts on rental cars, and dive gas, and has other people he can set you up with for things like Fishing. These aren't just business arrangements he has. He knows and trusts these people, and they're good people. The lady from the rental agency was actually pointing out scratches and marks on the car we couldn't see, so we wouldn't get dinged for them on return. She made sure the levels of gas marked were a tad lower than actual, again making it easy on us.

He got us set up with Dive friends Bonaire for our Nitrox. We were initially concerned about them closing at 430, whereas some different places offered round the clock access. It was never an issue at all. They had a location in Hamlet, the gated community that BSV is in. It was 2 doors down from us. We walked several times. No big deal at all.

And for the divers, "Cliff" is straight out from the back yard with one of the easiest entries of any site on the island. Easier even than the dive shop's entry into it. It remains one of my favorite sites on the island.

We'll absolutely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: Leaving, I want to go back.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
divingste...
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Paradise at your door step”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I have been planning a two week holiday for a year, first week for diving with a group of friends, second week for the family, organized a surprise birthday party and renewal of the vows.
These two events requested some serious logistics and local organization.
Lambèr and his wife Jaqueline went far and beyond their role of house owners, and helped me out throughout this entire year of planning.
By the time the two weeks started we were already good friends...to the point that I included them in our festivities.
The house is perfect for divers and for a family getaway... Lambèr is on top of every details, and when a small problem occurs it is addressed or fixed within 24h.
Highly recommended, and don't be surprised if you get invited for a Polarcita at one of the local Snaikys!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing