We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shades Holiday Apartments
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We stayed in apartment 2. A lovely 2 bedroomed, kitchen, bathroom, living room and outside patio. A wonderful pool and gym. Only a short walk to Paynes beach. Jackie the hostess will help you with anything you need to make your break perfect. Don't miss BBQ night they hold once a week the food is amazing.

John + Carol

Room Tip: All apartments appear to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2017

Fantastic location, very clean and nice units, great staff
Enjoyed being able to easily walk to Paynes Beach
Jackie the manager is very helpful and nice.
The units have everything you might need. The grounds are very pretty

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank luv2trvlfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

What a lovely evening spent at Shades in the company of friends. The food was delicious and the conversations were engaging. The ambience was relaxed and homely. The setting by the pool added to the beauty of the evening. Looking forward to the next event.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Heather Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Shades was everything we had hoped for from looking at the website. We stayed in Apartment 7 which was clean, spacious and well equipped - even down to beach towels being provided. Shades has 2 apartments blocks overlooking the pool and the beautiful gardens provide lots of screening and shade.The peace and tranquility here were just what we needed. Jacqui and Errol made us feel so welcome it felt like visiting old friends rather than checking into holiday accommodation. Go easy on the rum punch!They were full of useful information about restaurants, supermarkets, car hire, things to do/see on the island and any request was dealt with quickly and efficiently. The apartments are literally a 3 minute walk to the beach where you can easily rent a sunbed for the day and there is a variety of watersports available as well as plentiful snorkelling and swimming with turtles.Would highly recommend to anyone considering a trip to Barbados! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This was the perfect place for me to rest and recuperate. I went on my own but was never lonely. Jacque and Errol made it perfect for me they treated me like family. This is now my go to place for R&R

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank _sandi062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,131 reviews
0 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Little Good Harbour
Little Good Harbour
#1 of 4 in Saint Peter Parish
280 reviews
0 km away
Sweetfield Manor Boutique Hotel
Sweetfield Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saint Michael Parish
86 reviews
0 km away
Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shades Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades Holiday Apartments

Address: Laynes Road | Paynes Bay, BB29004, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $245 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shades Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Shades Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shades Holiday Apartments Hotel Saint James
Shades Holiday Apartments Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing