We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shades Holiday Apartments
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Wasn't sure what to expect,but was very pleasantly surprised,on our arrival,we had 4apartments as we were a rather large group..we were greeted by Jacqui on our arrival, she let us settled in ,then gave us a tour ,showed us how everything worked. Gave us a complimentary rum punch, informed us of all the local and best places to eat,she was absolutely wonderful,Errol's rum punch really packs a punch.
The apartments are close to the beach and amenities.Jacqui also arranged a birthday cake for my granddaughter who wanted a pool party and was granted her wish thanks to the wonderful Jacqui and Errol.
Apartments are clean,and bedrooms air conditioned.
Had such an amazing time I'm going back in November.

Room Tip: I stayed in the penthouse,but all the rooms were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rhondadianag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2016

We only stayed at Shades for 1 day, prior to our villa being vacated. Jackie was extremely welcoming, and made us feel like old friends. Th e room was perfect for our needs, and Shades is well located, close to Sandy Lane.

Room Tip: Some rooms close to the pool could get a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveharris52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

We had a lovely stay in apartment 5, the apartment was super clean and comfortable. The bed room had air conditioning and the bathroom had a huge beautiful shower. Jacqui is a fantastic host who will help you make plans for site seeing and dinner and is there whenever you need her. We spent our days down at Paynes Bay, which is a short walk from the grounds of Shades. It was very nice having the refreshing pool too. The grounds of shades are beautiful, it really was like a little oasis there. You are close to great restaurants and beautiful beaches - not much more you could ask for. The west coast of Barbados is fun, beautiful and lively and Shades is a great home base for enjoying all the area has to offer. Thank you Jacqui we hope to be back next year!

Room Tip: Apartment 5 was clean, quiet and perfect for me and my husband!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwood05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Very nice place to stay. Jacqui was helpful with anything we had questions about. We went snorkeling just minutes away from the apartment. Found a lovely guy named Spider on the beach who rented us a mask and snorkel. He pointed us to where some turtles were and a reef. We had snacks at Daphne's just up the beach. Very good coconut chicken and fish cakes! Lovely memories would stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOTravelers911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This is our second visit to Shades and we are so glad we came back. We were in a different apartment (number 1 on the ground floor of the two-story block) and it was superb. Having a living room, bedroom and kitchen area is very convenient and we spent most of our 9 days on site. The apartment has pretty much everything you need for preparing breakfast, lunch and dinner. The furnishings are comfortable and the rooms are serviced regularly.
The pool area is extremely pleasant, with plenty of space for all guests. This is a quiet hotel with guests being very respectful of privacy and peace and quiet. There is plenty of shade and it is easy to spend hours just relaxing, dipping into the pool or listening to the birds.
There is even a small gym for burning off extra holiday pounds.
Jacqui is an extremely warm-hearted and helpful manager. She makes everyone feel welcome and is very quick to help with anything or sort out any minor problems (teaching me how to use the can opener!)
The beach is a couple of minutes walk away if you fancy a dip. Holetown is about 5 minutes drive away and has a well-stocked supermarket and a quality butchers (behind the petrol station), together with numerous restaurants, cafes and shops.
I am delighted we found this place, will definitely be back and wholeheartedly recommend it for anyone who enjoys peace and quiet and the benefits of somewhere small, but with great apartments and facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mel_Who_Sings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,119 reviews
0 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
381 reviews
0 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments
0 km away
Sea-U Guest House
Sea-U Guest House
#2 of 3 in Bathsheba
368 reviews
0 km away
Santosha Barbados
Santosha Barbados
#1 of 1 in Saint Andrew Parish
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shades Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades Holiday Apartments

Address: Laynes Road | Paynes Bay, BB29004, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $244 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shades Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Shades Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shades Holiday Apartments Hotel Saint James
Shades Holiday Apartments Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing