We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shades Holiday Apartments
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I booked Shades apartments for its location and the five star reviews. It turned out to be well worth it. It started with the lovely Jacqui (the best bit of Shades) answering all my silly emails and enquiries. When we first arrived it was a bit worrying as we turned off the main road and up into to a very local area, which actually had very nice people in it, but when we went through the gates we found the lovely gardens and a great swimming pool. The apartments have all you need and are quiet especially if you are in a one bedroom apartment as they are a little bit away from the others. The owner is a lovely man and If you want anything at all Jacqui is on to it instantly including booking you the best table at The Cliff restaurant!

Room Tip: One bedroomed are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bessiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

I stayed at Shades of Barbados from 17-24th November with 2 friends. The minute we got there we felt so welcome. Jackie and Errol are one hell of a top team. Their knowledge of the island, attentiveness, keenness to help us make the holiday the best it could be and friendliness is thre best I have see.

They really do have a unique service style that is hard to beat. And with only being a couple of minutes from the stunning (!!!!) beach and 10 minutes on bus from the busy Holetown.. it really was the ldeal place to stay.

Don't do the over-priced hotels along Paynes Bay - go to Shades!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This was a real find thanks to the wonders of the internet and TripAdvisor!! We wanted good quality not necessarily luxurious self catering accommodation for a family holiday in Barbados and Shades does not disappoint. It thoroughly exceeded all our expectations in every way. We booked apartment 7 the two bedroom penthouse villa and it was totally perfect for us and two teenage children. Plenty of space, excellent bathrooms with large walk in showers, high quality fixtures and fittings throughout and flat screen plasma tv with hundreds or channels, not that it was ever used very much! The bedrooms are airconditioned with good quiet fan units, a real plus is the free wifi, great to look for and book local restaurants on your smartphone or iPad etc.
There is a lovely small pool and gardens and the staff are fantastic. Jacqui our host looked after our every need and booked a car, catamaran trip for us and even stocked us with a few groceries for our arrival tea, milk etc. Nothing was too much trouble and we will definitely return.
The fabulous Paynes Bay beach is only 5 minutes walk away and Holetown is only 5 minutes drive where there is a good supermarket (even selling Essential Waitrose products!) and lots of good restaurants catering for all budgets.
Shades is excellent value for money and perfect for a family holiday, thoroughly recommended, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Apartment 7, perfect for family of four with two bedrooms and bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Buddyboyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Location of this place could not be better, it is off in the middle of a neighborhood within minutes of walking distance to some of the best restaurants and incredible calm beaches. We stayed in Apartment 6 and it was extremely clean and included everything needed. Awesome bathroom, kitchen and bedroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and the whole apartment made us feel right at home. Jacqui was extremely nice and very helpful in finding good deals around the island as well as activities to do. The pool and the workout room as well as the little covered tent make it really nice to relax outside by the pool. They even have a sound system to hook up your Ipod, computer or whatever music player you have. Once again cannot go wrong with this place with such an awesome host like Jaqcui. Definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: All are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david4billion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed in one of the 2-bed room apartments (ground floor) with our two children (6 and 8). The whole apartment was spacious and clean. The manager Jaqui was very friendly and helpful. She helped us arrange pick up from the airport and drove us to the grocery store the first day. She gave us great advice on things to do on the island and she helped us with booking a fantasic sail trip where we got to swim with turtles. The Shades offers car rental with very affordable prices. We recommend renting one and explore this fantastic island.

The apartments are located only a few minutes walk from one of the best beaches on Barbados. Our children also loved the swimming pool at The Shades. The bus stop is also just a minute walk away, you can take the quiet "official" bus or one of the many "reagge buses" (it's great fun!).

We found this a perfect place to stay with children.

We had an absolutely fantastic stay at The Shades and if we go back to Barbados we would with out a doubt stay here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ckro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.8 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,131 reviews
0.3 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
15.9 km away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#2 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Little Good Harbour
Little Good Harbour
#1 of 4 in Saint Peter Parish
280 reviews
9.8 km away
Sweetfield Manor Boutique Hotel
Sweetfield Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saint Michael Parish
86 reviews
1 km away
Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shades Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades Holiday Apartments

Address: Laynes Road | Paynes Bay, BB29004, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $248 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shades Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Shades Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shades Holiday Apartments Hotel Saint James
Shades Holiday Apartments Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing