We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated luxury in an elegant colonial setting!!”
Review of Royal Westmoreland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint James Parish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Westmoreland
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Understated luxury in an elegant colonial setting!!”
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed at no.28 Cassia Heights in Royal Westmoreland for the 1st week of November, 3 couples in total.
What a wonderful villa! Amazing views, spacious and felt like home from home. I have previously stayed in hotels in St James but the freedom of self catering and being able to have BBQs on the decking with the wonderful views has changed our minds from now on!
Leann, our cleaner did all our washing so we came home with clean clothes - yet another luxury!

We ate in the wonderful Lonestar (next to Alan Shearer!) which has to be the best restaurant on the Island!! Our friends at in the Cliff and Tides.

Royal Westmoreland is truly aspirational.........very slick yet unpretentious.......we need to get saving for a place there now!!

The only negative was that the Beach at Mullins Bay gets quite busy and can be noisy by the road.......but this is a tiny tiny negative!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lau_Jonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    21
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
63
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Royal Westmoreland is an absolutely first rate place to stay, we have been each year for the last 5 years and wouldn't keep returning if we didn't get it! From the day you arrive nothing is too much trouble for the Conceirge Team (special mention to Chris the manager) and they looked after us well once again on our most recent visit.

You see the thing about Royal Westmoreland is the complete privacy you enjoy when you stay on the estate but you still have access to all the facilities of the Island Bit like an exclusive members club without the formality.

Great selection of restaurants in nearby Holetown, both for formal dining or just relaxing, so you really are spoilt for choice. Neither my wife nor I play golf but we really enjoyed the early evening atmosphere in the Clubhouse watching the fabulous Caribbean sunsets. So there is a dress code, but then there is a most golf clubs here in the UK.

Fabulous Villa with it's own pool which would have slept up to 6 guests, friendliest housekeeper you could ever meet, serenaded by the singing frogs each evening and no more bugs than you would find on your family pet.

Will we be back - yes for sure!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank trevorandlinda_bls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

stayed in apartments 3 bed villas and also a bigger villa in Coconut Grove for some of the trip(The Royal ones are the newest and have often Bose hifi & TVwide screens ) agree with other comments on Clubhouse as over stuffy and dress code stupid and not open for evening meals - the Rum Shack is open SOME nights otherwise you have to cook in or drive to HoleTown - we really liked Groots fish n chips and curries - dont judge a book by cover - Tides the best for us too -VERY GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE AND SETTING NEXT TO WATERFRONT but note everywhere is expensive - Spago next to ocean nice also - prebook for best seats - having not visited Barbados we didnt realise no AC in any rooms in most apartments,villas ONLY BEDROOMS so it can get VERY HOT in the kitchen or watching TV late at night - this time of year there are lots of VERY noisy bugs and most bedrooms (worth checking your residence pre arrival or booking) DO NOT HAVE SEALED WINDOWS so if you are a light sleeper like me you get no sleep as its like sleeping in a tropical jungle !

Bugs everywhere frogs,mosquitos,lizards,some monekeys none threatening etc and birds seem to fly into the houses often - suggest DONT FEED ANY animals as we were pestered by cats and birds that appeared to have been fed by owners or previous residents ! - keep kitchen surfaces clean to keep flies away and always keep everything chilled - we ve holidayed a lot especially in FLORIDA this is very different and appreciate its not fair to make a like for like comparison - we liked the Bajan people very much......

but Mullins Beach bar part of Westomreland was VERY dissapointing and we were like other reviews HASSLED on the beach for rides and my teenage daughter was offered a massage - probably not appropriate - The Westmoreland need to up their game with the Beach area it is VERY SHABBY as its the bar......we probably wont come back - the people were nice but we DONT GET IT despite being a seasoned and well travelled family.....We also didnt know our fault that there are no private beaches in Barbados - we drove to THE CRANE and it looked like a shabby tenerife resort we turnaround and drove away - yes the beach was nice - but that was it ....At Westmoreland they should also have a jogging track in my view for those of us in a mid life crisis ! No bar at night meant lots of trips to the supermarket where you can top up on Gin 150% of the price in UK and Waitrose Houmus if you are missing it !We had a nice break for about 2 weeks but will that was all - expect to pay for dinner without going mad 250 to 250 per night for four people -- when it rains - it really rains so you can get stuck in the house with no AC for hours with kids - so be warned ! There is no proper shopping like in Florida or elsewhere - we went to Sheraton Mall and that was dire. Sorry to be negative but we hope some of this helps you have a better holiday than we had !! Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SleepyEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Me my partner and 4 yr old stayed at westmoreland for 10 days in a forest hills villa. The villa was outstanding, well designed with beautiful views. The pool at the sanctuary good, well sized and clean. In fact everything at westmorland is meticulously clean. Great you might say, but it also leads to a distinct lack of atmosphere. Now we were staying in July, so it was obviously alot quieter but i still think it will be little sterile in high season as well. The staff are polite and helpful, but again there was just a little lack of warmth from some of them, which is highly unusual from bajan people. We had breakfast at the clubhouse once, once was enough! Overpriced and not fantastic. Mullins beach is a good 10 minute drive, not 5 as they say. The beach is lovely, but food at mullins good but not great. The tides was the best restaurant we went to. The staff and food excellent. All in all i would recommend rw if you want to keep you can keep yourself to yourself, but if you want something a little more going on it's not for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The Royal Westmoreland isn't the easiest to find, but then again most places in Barbados aren't easy to find. Then again getting lost isn't a problem as the locals are helpful and the drivers are courteous.

We rented a private villa in Forrest Hills, near the clubhouse and pools. The villa was wonderfully appointed, well provided and located. There were a few teething problems with directions, instructions and arrangements but this was down to to the property agent rather than Royal Westmoreland. When you take account of the accommodation and the facilities at Royal Westmoreland, the villas are fabulous value, even if you don't play golf, which I don't. The gym, pool, security and on site restaurants are very good. Those not acquainted with Golf club etiquette may balk at some of the dress codes, but it does add a sense of occasion to the place, and lets face it, how many times have we seen someone whom we wished had the grace to cover themselves up in public?

Royal Westmoreland is a quick drive down into Holetown, which although becoming a bit of a tourist trap, still has some kicking Bajan restaurants, shops and bars. The chat with the locals is alway fabulous. Surfside is the tops for flying fish sandwiches and there is an amazing fish market 10 minutes north in Weston. The Mullins beach restaurant and spa isn't worth the trip. Get down to Oistins any night for good chat and fresh fish and sometimes live music.

Finally I've got to mention the wildlife which excited my unfortunately unwell son. Green monkeys, lizards, mongeese and the biggest toads you have ever seen are abundant, along with the odd premiership footballer fresh from an early world cup exit!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Equality_7-2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
4.3 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,050 reviews
1.9 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
4.1 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#12 of 26 in Saint James Parish
293 reviews
15.7 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,030 reviews
2.1 km away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Westmoreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Westmoreland

Property: Royal Westmoreland
Address: St James, 24023, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price range (per night): $323 - $458
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Westmoreland is an exclusive Barbados estate and country club, a gated community of luxury homes and holiday villas with exceptional facilities, including the world-class Royal Westmoreland championship 18 hole golf course. Spread across 750 acres of lush tropical landscape in the Parish of St James overlooking the Platinum coast, Royal Westmoreland offers the ultimate Caribbean lifestyle, for a holiday or for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Westmoreland Hotel Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing