We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
100
24
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
24
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rum shack guest services forrest hills golf resort great golf concierge service hired a car tennis courts hour security main bedroom seen better days colonial style air conditioning self catering clubhouse villa shak
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We were recommended to this resort by friends.We understood that we had 4 rounds each of golf but this turned out to be 4 rounds or two rounds each. On our first visit to the golf course we were informed that the first 9 holes were closed for maintennce and we would have to play the second nine twice. We had not been informed of this when we booked the holiday and naturally complained. The management apologised and gave us unlimited golf for our 7 days. The apartment had everything we needed. We stocked up with what we wanted from the supermarket in Holetown and catered for ourselves throughout our stay. The overall ambience was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epicure40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Royal Westmoreland.

I am sorry to hear you stayed during a time of course maintenance which takes place in May and September each year. We understand the importance of enjoying the golf course is to our guests and so we display our full fixture list 12 months in advance along with this we send our fixtures lists to all booking agents so they are armed with the relevant information to ensure all guests enjoy the best experience while on our resort and avoid any disappointment. I am sorry that you were left disappointed after not receiving clear guidance. We fully appreciate how frustrating this would be. I am pleased to hear that management were able to offer a speedy solution and you enjoyed the apartment and the remainder of your stay with us.

We do hope you visit us again in the near future and thank you once again for reviewing your time with us.

Best Wishes for the team at Royal Westmoreland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful trip. The customer service from everyone we encountered was tremendous. This group knows how to make your stay memorable and your desire to return soon, strong!
Cleanliness of all areas impressive, grounds kept immaculate and well maintained.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dreneepressley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and our grounds team who are forever working hard to keep the resort and the course in tip top shape.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

We can only review the vacation on the services offered by the Royal Westmoreland and not our villa as it was rented privately from the owners.
The grounds are immaculate and the staff are as friendly and helpful and I would heartily recommend the concierge service who booked restaurants and boat trips etc for us with the many great restaurants locally at the last minute.
The pool at the sanctuary is really nice and the hot tub was very hot indeed.
We walked through the estate and the quality of the various villas and properties is world class and compare very well with other golf course developments we have stayed on in the USA.
If your villa and maid is as good as the one we stayed in then this is a great location for a holiday in Barbados.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank silverthorn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi246, Public Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Hi, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time staying with us and the services and facilities provided were up to your expectation.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Been coming back for great golf for a decade. But this year was different. While the golf staff is still complete and very competent, they have cut back on the services in the clubhouse. Poor at best. Lunch meals are cooked a table at a time. It can be 45 minutes before your food is delivered (quality thankfully is still high). To be a first class golf resort, you need a great course (it is nice but rain resulted in some turf issues), good golf staff, but a great experience before and after the round. This last point unfortunately no longer exists. The staff quality is high, but the cutbacks have been too severe

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Greg799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

To Greg

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is very disappointing to hear you have felt a decline in the services we offer on your most recent visit to our course. I have taken the opportunity to speak to our CEO in relation to what you have raised. He has confirmed that we are operating with the same level of staff as this time last year and so you shouldn't be seeing a decline in the services offered. Please rest assured we will speak with the team in question about improving food wait times moving forward.

Thank you for your kind words in relation to staff quality and competency.

We do hope that you enjoy your next visit to our golf course and you experience the same service you have being enjoying at Royal Westmoreland for the last number of years.

Thank you once again for feedback and we hope to see you again soon


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

A year ago I would have put this estate into the good bracket but unfortunately it has slipped. When you rent a villa for this amount of money you would expect a cushioned surface on the top of your sunbed. When we asked if any were possible we were told a blank "no" despite asking twice. So for 2 weeks when lying by the pool a towel is placed on top of a wooden rack. This is very uncomfortable after about 10 minutes.

The rest of the house is now becoming very tired and need of refurbishment throughout. The bathrooms in particular have seen better days and need upgrading urgently. All the woodwork needs attention and the rugs and furniture are now well past their best. There is a tv in only one of the bedrooms. The beds are very entry level and too small. The pots and pans are past their best and generally the villas requires some investment.

Perhaps the estate owners instead of building new expensive villas should invest a little in their rental stock. For the type of clients that RM is trying to attract this tired product no longer fits the shoe. We stayed in a villa on the corner of Mahogany Drive.

On the upside the golf is included and the course is excellent. The club house is unfortunately lacking much atmosphere and runs on fairly empty and in need of an updated menu. The staff at the clubhouse are excellent along with the staff at the villa.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Checkingoutroom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

I am very sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with the villa allocated to you this year. New sunbeds were supplied to this villa last year, they are the wooden type and do not require cushions.

We take on board all feedback and will review the level of comfort these beds have to offer.

We are pleased to announce the release of new villa builds in the areas of Sugar Cane Ridge and Sugar Cane Mews. Here you will find development of twenty-two semidetached, four-bedroom townhouse villas, all with private pool. The Sugar Cane Ridge development benefits from a sought after location on the estate situated near the golf house, the first tee, short game practice area, the tennis garden, the Rum Shak and the Sanctuary pool and gym.

The Royal Palm Villas are also now available for exclusive rental via Royal Westmoreland holidays, each boosts a private pool and are designed to make the most of the stunning resort views and Barbados’ perfect year-round climate.

We pride ourselves as being at the forefront of exclusive holiday rentals on island.

We do hope to welcome you back to Royal Westmoreland in the very near future.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews