We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
100
24
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
24
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rum shack guest services forrest hills golf resort great golf concierge service hired a car tennis courts hour security main bedroom seen better days colonial style air conditioning self catering clubhouse villa shak
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2016

The staff at the bar and restaurant at the clubhouse really let this place down after a game of golf. Today whilst ordering drinks the young lady couldn't be bothered to look at me, she seemed to have some issue going on with one of her colleagues and was totally preoccupied with that. She looked miserable and did everything at a very slow pace as if she couldn't be bothered to serve anyone - inconvenient customers! We also found the staff lacking in charm and politeness when we had breakfast there last weekend. Come on guys people in your place are there for a nice time and you can help create a nice atmosphere with the right attitude and presence.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

What you experienced is not acceptable. The matter has been raised with senior management, rest assured it will be dealt with and you won't experience this again.

We do hope to see you again at the Clubhouse soon enjoying a friendly atmosphere.

We do appreciate your business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Not what I would consider a 5*. This is the smallest room in a Royal Villa, no 8 Ocean Drive! Broken shutters so no natural light available into this truly tragic room. The shower was unusable as it was just a trickle, the bathroom was actually smaller than the shared guest toilet. We were informed that all rooms were of the same standard, no they are not. The 2 upstairs rooms are lovely just what you would expect, nice furniture, very spacious bathrooms and a huge balcony over looking views to the carribean ocean. The 3rd room was acceptable and had a small terrace area which we didn't use but was a nice touch.The grass around the villa was long and unkempt. Guest services were helpful to a point, there was no assistance with the broken windows we were informed the hinges were broken, as there is continual development all over West Moreland it would not be unreasonable to ask for them to be fixed there were plenty of builders and maintenance staff around. We requested this on more than one occasion and were just told no! Same with the shower! In the end we stopped asking and the guests used another guests bathroom. The Villa has 4 dble rooms you would expect to all have a sun bed around the pool, nope, there are only 6, one of our guests used towel and a yoga mat to sun bathe on!! The bus down to Mullins beach only went every 2hrs, not nearly enough and would not stop to let you off on the coast road if you wanted to go the otherway say to Holetown, very unhelpful and time consuming. No drop off either around the resort so it was a treck back from the Clubhouse to the villa. Fortunately we had a golf buggy, goodness knows how you would get back to your villa if you didn't. The sanctuary pool was lovely and the changing rooms ok. However, staff not very helpful, trying to get a locker key was like pulling hen's teeth, it was 'self service' to set up your beds, the bar was locked shut, there was not even ice for the water provided. It is a pretty souless place and the resort is definately missing a trick as it could be beautiful. On our last afternoon we were awaiting our airport transfer in the Clubhouse which is really lovely and has superb views. We wanted to order some light food but were informed as they were hosting an event there was no bar service after 4pm!! Not even drinks. Fortunately the guys in our party who play golf were able to enjoy the complimentary golf for the Villa but I would not have been happy if I had paid $500pp for a game and not been able to sit and enjoy food and beverages in the clubhouse, poor, very poor indeed. Once again we went to Guest Services where Michael, one of the managers was there and we asked him if we could order food etc. We were told 'NO' and just shrugged his shoulders, very unhelpful & unprofessional. I went to sample this resort with a view to purchase, I would not touch it with a barge pole there are too many inconstistencies, the quality of service is poor and the Villas are not maintained to a high enough standard. We will not be back and will not recommend. On the plus side our housekeeper Andrea was very helpful and did a superb job.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
5  Thank brenbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi246, Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Ocean Drive No.8 is an Exclusive Villa, worth over 2,000,000 US$, It is a custom built home comprising of 4 large en suite bedrooms with one bedroom slightly smaller than the rest, all bedrooms are finished to the same standard. During the booking process we ensure all clients are informed about bedroom size prior to confirming the booking.

Our sincere apologies for any problems with shutters, when this was brought to our attention we made every effort to rectify the issue immediately however with all custom built properties specific designs are required to ensure all the windows are the same and the delivery was delayed from the supplier. The hinge is repaired now.

We pride ourselves in our beautiful landscaping across the resort. We have gardeners attend this villa twice a week maintaining the landscaping. Long grass was not reported to us at any stage.

The resort experienced Low water pressure during your stay when the pressure increased again debris blocked the filter and caused your shower to trickle. When you reported it to the housekeeper Maintenance went that same day and fixed this for you. No problems were reported after this.

The Beach Shuttle on High Season schedule is every 2 hours until 5pm. The Pick Up point is very central for everyone at The Sanctuary and the Royal Villas gate. It would not be feasible to do collections and drop off from all areas of such a large resort. You receive a complimentary resort buggy with your villa so clients can get to the Sanctuary very easily, park the buggy for the day until your return from the beach.

We employ a very large ground maintenance team along with landscapers and housekeepers to ensure our villas are maintained to the highest of standards.

Our guests are extremely important to us and we aim to ensure each stay with us is as comfortable and rewarding as the next. We Believe any problems raised with us during your stay were dealt with efficiently and fairly.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Sitting at club house just now waiting for airport transfer after 7 nights in ocean drive villa. We have had numerous issues since arrival but icing on cake as can't even get served a coffee as kitchen closed!! Please look very carefully at the villa you are booking as everything is promised before arrival but very different whilst here. Love Barbados but definitely will never return to royal westMoreland. Our housekeeper Andrea was fab!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank diamondsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

As you will have experienced and seen from media reports rainfall in Barbados has been persistent and plentiful during these last two weeks and during your stay with us. Persistent heavy rainfall unfortunately caused issues with maintenance at the villa you stayed at, along with long lasting damage to local businesses who are still recovering, this is not something that we could have foreseen and believe we did everything within our power to resolve this issues for you while you were there.

We aim to provide accommodation for our guests on the day of departure until they are ready to leave for the airport but with the resort extremely busy and at maximum capacity and all property types full with holiday makers we ask clients to check out at the agreed time of 10 am. The clubhouse was booked for a prior engagement and so we made arrangements to open another facility and made our clients aware so guests like yourself could relax and enjoy a beverage prior to leaving for the airport.

We go to great lengths to ensure our rental properties are as described, our agents are given regular familiarisation trips to ensure extensive knowledge of our product. Information and descriptions provided at the time of booking are based on individual properties, something you would not get from other properties on island who will often provide generic photography for illustrative purposes only.

We are sorry to hear you wont be returning to Royal Westmoreland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

If your undecided about visiting Barbados my advice would be just do it,this is only my first visit and I can promise you, you will not be disappointed. We are currently staying at royal Westmorland and it is exceptional. Our villa is beautiful and is equipped with everything you could possibly need and more. The resort is stunning and you will want for nothing during your stay, everyone from the security staff to the pool man couldn't be better at there jobs. Angela our house keeper doesn't know it yet but I'm taking her home with me, she has taken care of us from day 1. Jodie at guest services has looked after our every catering need and booked everything in advance, I literally haven't had to pick up my phone, she has made our time here so much easier. If your thinking of booking royal Westmorland please don't look any further than Aideen at pure leisure group, I've hounded her for 18 months with constant questions and requests, nothing is ever to much, the women is a credit to her company, she has made our Barbados experience a remarkable one so for that a massive thank you. This is without doubt the place we shall be returning to year after year.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Thanks very much for your kind words, we hope to see back to the island again very soon!

We will pass on your thanks to the team who of course will miss you too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We had several issues since our Saturday arrival through to the Monday, the management handled these issues quickly and I commend Chris Pitt for his help.

I will therefore review based on general experience rather than specific issues.

** BUYER BEWARE **

The Royal Westmoreland is an estate over over 750 acres primarily focused on selling building plots for high end housing development and also time share arrangement for apartments, bungalows and houses. As such there is a great deal of development happening across the estate although this does not generally impact on the stay unless of course you are allocated next door to a building plot.

The Buyer Beware notice, due to the size of the resort accommodation including the apartments are a great distance from the reception and club house. It is therefore essential to either rental a golf buggy (BD$340 per week) or rent a car. Without either of these things you will be completely isolated with an unbelievably long walk to any of the facilities (we rented a golf buggy to avoid isolation).

We booked directly with Royal Westmoreland and decided on an apartment as we were disembarking a cruise and felt it would be a great type of accommodation to reduce the food intake and relax. As stated above these apartments are a great distance from the club house certainly after dark it would not be a pleasant experience as you have to cross a main road. Apartments are on three levels the lower level we were allocated was facing the garen and close to the main road. The three bedroomed apartment was quite spacious with a lounge/kitchen but no indoor dining space just an outside table and chairs. Only two sun beds and as this apartment could accommodate 6 people it would be a tight squeeze. Overall apartments were OK but nothing special.

Due to an issue beyond our control we were moved to a 4 bedroomed villa (very nice), this was even further from the club house/reception. Although we appreciated the upgraded accommodation the villa was in need of refurbishment especially in the kitchen and lounge area. We lost water one afternoon for several hours and only after calling reception and posing the question of how do we drink water did the management send water to the villa, claims from the PR lady on another post that they have a procedure for guests who have booked directly are I am afraid incorrect.

We booked a cook each evening so we could chose our own menu, we booked Malcolm who was absolutely brilliant, a great chef and very creative.

I am sorry to say the whole Royal Westmoreland experience was pretty underwhelming, several serious issues which needed a lot of effort to resolve, not really geared to ad-hoc short stay guests in terms of support and infrastructure. Basically they do not have any proper restaurants on site for the evening apart from Rum Shack which is more snacks and drinks, club house only opens for lunch and only serves breakfast at weekends. If you want to dine out it would be your hire car or a taxi each way, a round trip to The Cliff was US$40 return so that needs to be taken in to account when budgeting.

I think the Royal Westmoreland should stick to selling plots, houses, apartments and time share and arranging peoples golf and avoid ad-hoc leisure holiday bookings for which they are not set-up for in any way.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi246, Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Thank you for taking time to review us.

Royal Westmoreland is a growing community and due to increasing demand for custom built properties, the resort is every expanding and which our guests are fully informed about in advance, as you note, the works taking place on individual plots north of the resort in a new development did not impact on your stay with us.

We provide a map of the resort on our website which outlines distances between facilities and accommodation and recommend car hire and resort buggy hire during the booking process and for those who want to wait until they arrive we offer buggy rental on resort. I understand you were provided with a buggy on a complimentary basis. The buggies make the whole resort very accessible within five minutes and security provide assistance with the short, safe skip across the small road between areas of the resort.

Our Royal Apartments prove extremely popular as you will see from previous reviews among families and golf groups offering open plan living and kitchen areas and large en suite bedrooms. Our upper floor apartments benefit from the most amazing west coast views.

The 4 bedroom villa you describe is a villa owned by Joe Calzaghe situated overlooking the golf course and facing the West Coast is currently on the market for over US$2.2 million, At a cost of up to £2,880 per night in peak season you occupied one of the finest villas on island.

Unfortunately the island often experiences water shortages during periods of drought an issue that is beyond our control. We ensure all of our guests are provided with water and assistance wherever needed.

Although unforeseen maintenance issues can at anytime threaten to impact a guests stay we are confident that staff and management deal with each and every situation extremely promptly and fairly.

We pride ourselves on our product & services and along with been one of the most recommended resorts on Island we continue to invite thousands of new & repeat guests and home owners year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews