We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little taste of Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A little taste of Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We usually look at trip advisor before we book a trip and the reviews have been spot on so far (apart from the woman who complained about the lousy pool and the broken beach chairs??? not sure where she stayed but it can't have been here). We were very impressed with the way the whole booking was organised. We had ordered a welcome package and some cheese and wine for our first night and Carrie and the staff made sure it was ready for us. The apartment was gorgeous, we had booked a one bedroom unit and ended off with a 3 bedroom (2 rooms were locked). The kitchen was beautiful and fully equipped, tea and coffee supplies were left daily. We appreciated the cd player, cable tv, free wi-fi etc. Everything was spotless and modern and we felt extremely comfortable.
I would recommend the Monday night bbq;it was delicious and gave us the opportunity to meet some really interesting people. Grocery shopping in Holetown was so easy, we just hopped on the bus and then got a taxi back (you can even wait for a free shuttle bus back from the supermarket if you want). We rented a car for a couple of days and Robin organised this for us which was also very easy and stress free. We bought fish from the local fish market just over the road and it was delicious. One of the highlights was the cocktail party held at Robin's on Thursday night, transportation was provided and the rum punches were delicious but deadly! On Saturday we went over to the fish market as they do a fish fry supper - bring your own wine but beer can be bought there - the whole meal for the two of us including beers was less than $30! We did eat out at Champers on the south coast and the Crane, both of these were amazing. We only managed cocktails at The Cliff one evening but the views were spectacular. There were many other restaurants within walking distance also.
Disadvantages - not many. The pool was a little cool when you first went in,but in my opinion that made it all the more refreshing. We had to be out of our room by noon and unfortunately there were others booked in so we couldn't extend our stay; it would be nice if the resort had a hospitality room so you could shower and change if you wanted to stay longer by the pool. Ths wasn't a huge issue for us as we had an earlier flight and some of the wonderful friends we met this week invited us to their appartment for a farewell drink, but if your flight doesn't leave until later in the day you might not enjoy your last day quite so much.
This might not be the place for you if you like a lot of on-site entertainment; we absolutely loved the peace and quiet, even the road noise didn't bother us. I wouldn't recommend this place if you have teenagers but for couples of any age and young families I would say it is perfect. We are already planning our next trip!!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second and third floors have great views. I would not recommend the Paw Paw block a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love to Travel around the world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    132
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
312
525
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We just spent 2 weeks on this beautiful island - our first trip to Barbados. We chose the Beach view based on its high rating on Tripadvisor, and we weren't disappointed. The Beach View is located on the upscale west coast, a location which provides easy access to Holetown, Bridgetown, and tourist attractions located in the centre of the island. The condotel complex consists of four buildings with 9 units per building. Each unit is individually owned, and the layout, furniture and household goods do vary from unit to unit. We had a centre unit on the third floor with a glorious ocean view. The bamboo furniture was bright and comfortable. The rooms are very spacious. The deck was enormous, and also comfortably furnished with teak tables and chairs. This particular unit had two bedrooms, but as we required only one bedroom the second one was locked off and we were charged for a one bedroom unit only.

The condo was cleaned daily. A minor complaint is that some of the kitchen utensils, the ironing board and the iron were flimsy and low quality. There is a good assortment of pots, pans, dishes, and cutlery. If you are planning on baking, best to bring your own measuring utensils as there was no measuring cup or spoons. Appliances consisted of a toaster, blender, coffee maker and kettle. The condo comes stocked with salt and pepper, sugar, coffee, tea, and coffee creamer. You will have to bring or purchase your own cling wrap, or storage bags. The staff will arrange to stock your fridge with basic groceries - a great convenience to have when arriving thirsty or hungry. They were also able to fulfill my request for gluten-free bread and non-dairy milk. This was greatly appreciated. There is no barbeque on the deck, however the staff will make one accessible if you require it.

The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. The complex is gated, and security guards man the gate 24 hours a day. It is a short walk to the Payne's Bay beach, however you must cross a busy highway (2 lanes) to access it. The only reason I didn't give the Beach View an excellent rating was because of this busy and noisy highway. Of course, this has nothing to do with the operation of the hotel which is excellent, but may be a concern for those who are noise-sensitive or light sleepers.

The Payne's Bay beach is small but excellent for swimming. You can walk the beach all the way from Payne's Bay to Holetown when the tide is out. This walk takes about 45 minutes one-way and passes some beautiful resorts and restaurants. Once in Holetown, you can hop a bus ($2 Barbadian/$1 US) to take you back to Beach View.

The Beach View is family-run and they build a sense of community by holding a Monday-night barbeque at the onsite cafe, and Thursday night cocktails at the manager's beautiful cliff-side residence. These are great venues for meeting other guests and developing new friendships. As well, the hotel organizes a bus to take guests to Oistins for the Friday night fish fry.

The staff are very friendly and enthusiastic, offering advice and also booking sight-seeing trips and recommending restaurants. We tried a variety of activities and were very pleased with all of them. I would recommend diving with Andrew Western at Eco Dive Barbados, mountain biking with Randy at Trail Seekers (he takes you to places only the locals know about), the Mount Gay rum tour, Aerial Trek ziplining (the view from their property is worth the trip alone), and a visit to Speightstown - a quaint and colourful fishing town where time seems to have stopped in the 1950's. On the west coast explore Bathsheba and have lunch at the beautiful Atlantis Hotel restaurant, then visit the beautiful grounds of the St. Nicholas Abbey boutique rum factory. Barbados has one of the densest road networks in the world, so navigating around the island in a rental car is challenging as the majority of road names do not appear on road maps. We were lost constantly - a right of passage for newbies to the island!

Room Tip: The top floor of the two central buildings have great views and are farthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Skuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chigwell, Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just back from Beach View after a fabulous 9 days. The apartments are spacious, clean and modern fitted out to the highest possible standard. Situated just across the road from the glorious beach within 10mins walking distance of Sandy Lane and all the fine restaurants nearby. Robin and his daughter Carrie together with their friendly staff are extremely helpful with all your vacation needs and the Thursday night cocktail party at their magnificent cliff side house is a highlight of the vacation. If you want a jetset holiday but at a more realistic price then stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

The Beach View hotel is everything the web site says and more. The rooms are very very nice with a great kitchen to make meals if you want. The pool is out of this world. The snack bar on the property offers a very nice breakfast and lunch. The property is well located with very good restaurants within walking distances. We rented a car, during out 14day stay and this added to the vacation, as we were able to discover other beaches, close by for our snorkeling adventures. We cannot wait to book the Beach View again...5stars all the way!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carole Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

The staff and the Beach View could not be friendlier. But, the office clears out at 5 on weekdays, and 3 on the weekends. The apartment was gorgeous, with a full kitchen, washer dryer, and two large balconies with amazing views! But, the pool was only okay looking, and the vast majority of the pool chairs were broken. Also, none of them lay flat. They only give the occupants one pool towel each. Its true, you only have to walk across the street for the beach, but it only a thin strip of land, and you can hear the coars whizzing by on the road. If you are looking for an amazing room, with subpar facilities, then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvbarbados, Manager at Beach View, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear RachelP,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our apartments & friendly staff!

We just wanted to clarify a couple of points. There is someone on property 24 hours. We regularly check our pool chairs & we did so again after this review and didn’t find any that were broken so we are a little confused by this comment. We would have provided additional pool towels had they been requested.

One of the great pluses about Barbados is that all of our beaches are public & many of our guests really enjoy taking long strolls along the beach. At low tide you can get all the way to Holetown, which is about 3 km to the north. Approximately 15 minutes walk will get you to the area where the catamarans dock to feed the turtles & this is always something that our guests really enjoy. I am sorry that you did not get to experience the beach to its full potential.

It’s true, we do not offer the same facilities as those of a full service resort but we don’t pretend to & we try our best to ensure that what we do offer is to the best standard possible. I am sorry that you felt this was subpar.

Kind regards,

Beach View Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.3 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
15.4 km away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
12.9 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
9.3 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
21.7 km away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Property: Beach View
Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price range (per night): $225 - $590
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a small self-catering condo hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Certificate of Excellence 4 years running and Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 2 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing