We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Barbados Resort
Nearby Hotels
Island Inn Hotel(Bridgetown)(Great Value!)
USD 377
USD 306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, Barbados(Bridgetown)(Great Value!)
USD 203
USD 189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados(Bridgetown)(Great Value!)
USD 222
USD 167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nautilus Beach Apartments(Bridgetown)(Great Value!)
USD 84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
The Preserve(Bridgetown)
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (4,083)
Filter reviews
4,083 results
Traveller rating
1,840
1,437
511
171
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,840
1,437
511
171
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungelighthouse restaurantpool barbay viewkids clubtour deskhappy hourcareenage barbrown sugarthe grillpool sideneedham's pointday passrented a carthe gapprivate beachthe cliff
Filter
Updating list...
2,770 - 2,775 of 4,083 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We spent the last 4 days of our 3 week vacation to the Caribbean at the Hilton. Our room was clean and spacious with a wonderful view of the ocean, but if you are looking for modern chic this isn't the hotel for you.

We stayed on one of the Executive floors, which we found to be quieter than the normal floors. We had free wifi in our room and access to the executive lounge, where you can enjoy complimentary continental breakfast each day. If however, you prefer a cooked breakfast the breakfast buffet in the Lighthouse Terrace was excellent and has a wide variety of choices.

The staff at the Hilton were incredibly helpful and had a really good eye for detail.

Whilst we don't have children, we did note that the Hilton had an excellent "Kidz club" with a good selection of different activities.

The beach is picturesque but the sea can be a little rough, if you want to swim without fear of crashing into rocks, it's best if you walk round to the other side of the hotel and swim in Carlisle Bay.

The hotel was in a great location, it's a 10 minute drive to St Lawrence's Gap and 12 minute drive to Oistins.

Overall we had a nice relaxing stay and would definitely stay again but I'm not sure it's the type of place I would go on a 2 week vacation.

Room Tip: Stay on one of the Executive Floors
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your great stay with us. All of us at Hilton are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We (Bridal Party) booked a room for the day to get ready for a wedding. The rooms are ok (both size and furniture) and did have beautiful views of the ocean.
I have to say I wasn’t impressed with the service overall – when we first arrived, the three of us were struggling to carry our stuff in (wedding dress, bridesmaid dresses and quite a few bags). The porters were very polite and wished us a good morning, but just looked on without offering to help. When we checked in, the lady at reception didn’t ask the porters to help us either. When we finally did ask for help, they did, I'm just not used to having to ask at a 4 star hotel!
The keys to our room didn’t work, when we complained, reception sent one of the bell boys to make sure it wasn’t user error, and found that we were right and the key actually wasn’t working!! It took them a few attempts and they sent an engineer to fix the problem.
Internet as previous reviewers have indicated is not free – which is amazing as most places on the island offers free public WiFi…
We ordered lunch in the room which was expensive, but that is to be expected in a hotel. We were disappointed in the quality of the food, which we found to be just about acceptable.
Overall, hotel is ok, good location, nice grounds, but service not to the standard of a Hilton.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NasPin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

We are sorry that you were not impressed with your experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest enjoys their stay and we regret that on this occasion you were less than satisfied. Your feedback will help us to better deliver our brand promised quality accommodations and hospitality moving forward. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again should you return to the area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at the Hilton for a few nights recently. Like most Hiltons it is reliably clean and up to date. Our bed was super comfy. Our room was a basic room that overlooked the beach. It likewise was clean and well appointed. The staff were extremely friendly. While I would not call this a resort per se, as there were no organized events, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you and I was pleased to read you enjoyed the comfortable rooms and the pleasant service provided by the team members. Thank you and hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Beautiful, clean, relaxed Hilton. Lovely entrance and open-air lobby. Beautiful ocean front room with spacious balcony and gorgeous views in the Lighthouse wing. The room was not large, but well appointed and well kept. Nice bathroom...roomy with walk in shower. Appeared to be a fresh coat of tropical color paint. I appreciated that the floor was tiled with an area rug under the bed; the floor was washed every day. Much more sanitary than just vacuuming wall to wall carpet. I found the bed to be vey hard; and as always, the pillows were great. The pools were very nice, but shallow. We particularly enjoyed the less-popular top level infinity pool for relaxing. Very nice pool side bar/restaurant with the friendliest and most accomodating staff. The beach was the cleanest in the area, with the softest, whitest sand. Not a huge beach in front of the hotel, but nice and safe to swim, and you could walk for miles (literally) along several beaches, each with it's own character.
We found the entire staff, from the front desk, to housekeeping, to maintenance, to restaurant staff to be more than accomodating and among the friendliest of anywhere we have stayed. In fact, with very few exceptions, we found the entire Barbadian island to be filled with happy, friendly people (except the tourists..expecially a few Europeans we came into contact with!)
The weakest link in this particular Hilton, I think, are the restaurants. I understand that the food will be expensive...it is an island. Everything is expensive. However, we found the quality of the breakfasts/dinners at the Lighthouse Restaurant were sub par, including the dinner buffet we had one evening. A generous selection of bad food! Even my chicken cesar salad was terrible. It's not easy to ruin a salad. We had a nice dinner on our last night at the Grille (more expensive, but beautiful atmosphere, wonderful wait staff, and the best fresh fish we had all week). All in all, we enjoyed the Waterside Bar the most for both lunch and dinner...with a good selection of pub-type food. The Hilton Burger was amazing, as was the Caribbean chicken wrap. I was disappointed at the Hilton as well as everywhere else we went on the island that there was a very limited choice of fresh fish cooked any way other than fried.
My biggest complaint about this Hilton, as well as most others, is their "need" to charge for in room internet. There is free WiFi in all public spaces; lobby, pool, beach, restaurants; but this "high class" hotel chain finds it acceptable to charge $12.95/day for inroom internet. To me, this is an outrageous practice and I refuse to pay it. I expect to pay high prices for food and drink, but not for internet! Overall, it was a very pleasant and relaxing stay. I definately wouldn't recommend it (or any of Barbados for that matter) for teens, since there is very little to do at the hotel, (or anywhere) and I wouldn't recommend letting them go out exploring the island alone.
As an aside, the islanders walking the beach selling jewelry get alittle annoying, although very friendly and respectful. They are just always there...everyday....approaching you to buy something. And on several occasions, we were approached by islanders selling drugs on the beach, which I understand is common practice on most Caribbean islands.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Glad you had an enjoyable trip to Barbados and thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our wonderful beach. We do charge for in room internet however it is free in all public areas and to Gold / Diamond Hilton Honors members. Please do get in touch if I can assist in any way. We hope to see you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Everything was great.......The property is beautiful, and located on the beach which was really good. There is another popular beach with watersports (enjoyed the paddle-boarding) immediately outside the hotel property. Location is ideal because it is in town, nearby is a restaurant with local food within walking distance, and a very small shopping plaza, but you have to walk about 5-7mins to a nearby bus-stop. As expected, taxis are always at the hotel, and there are a number of car rental companies available which is a better way to move around in my humble opinion.

The food was good, a bit expensive, but that is Barbados. The hotel has a nice offer for family with kids less than 5 eat free, and kids 5-10 eat for 50% of the cost, which is works out pretty decent. Breakfast was great, buffet style and seating with a view of the beach. If you sit outside you should be cautious that the birds don't share your food, but they don't bother you if someone is at the table.

My room was pretty clean, and included a safe, television with cable, and private balcony with ocean view. The staff were very kind and friendly. Checkin was pretty easy and check-out was very quick.

I definitely return and I recommend this hotel to travelers looking for this kind of brand, or a nice hotel close to the beach (there are other hotels close to the beach as well).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krazy_doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and it was our pleasure to have you with us on the beautiful island of Barbados. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future to experience the wonders of the Caribbean once more. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews