We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it.”

Henry VIII Restaurant, Sushi Bar and Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 60
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This was our first restaurant experience in Bermuda. We were quite shocked with food and adult beverage prices... but once we got over the sticker shock we enjoyed ourselves. Henry’s has great food, the bangers and mash were amazing and he fried shrimp dish was on point. The bartending staff were quite friendly and informative as well. Highly recommended to anyone visiting!

Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
75Henry, Guest Relations Manager at Henry VIII Restaurant, Sushi Bar and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Good Morning Mike, we would like to thank you for your 5 star review and for saying that you feel Henrys is 'highly recommended to anyone visiting'. Bermuda being a small Island, everything is imported. Prices are often a shock as they are higher than some guests are expecting, especially some new visitors to the island. This can sometimes have a negative impact on their experience. I am pleased to read, you still enjoyed yourselves and found that 'Henrys has great food' and that the 'bartending staff were quite friendly and informative'. Your feedback is valuable to us. During your stay, if you enjoy entertainment, join us over the weekend at night. We have a great Live Band every Friday Night called Hindsight, a fun DJ to dance into the wee hours of the morning, on Saturday night and Live Jazz on Sunday night to listen to while having dinner. We hope to see you again. Enjoy the rest of your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

We walked here from our hotel (comfortable walk from the Fairmont Southampton) and were pleasantly surprised by our first meal in Bermuda. We had to try out all things Bermuda of course. We had Henry's Famous Bermuda Fish Chowder which was served with Gosling's Black Seal rum and sherry peppers and the Rockfish Bermuda style topped with banana and almonds-both were equally good and different. To top it off, we had one of the best fusion sushi rolls ever (we had the six wives' roll and a chef's special). Our server, Lester, was knowledgeable, attentive to detail and very friendly. Sushi chef Rene also came out to chat with us and made sure everything was made to our liking. Added to all this, we were regaled by the music duo of Max and Eugene. Good food, music and relaxed ambiance all made it a wonderful first night in Bermuda. We liked the sushi so much we went back and availed of the 20% off Tuesdays.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Saskatoonmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
75Henry, Guest Relations Manager at Henry VIII Restaurant, Sushi Bar and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Good Day, we love to hear when we get it right and to know that we helped start your vacation with a good meal, friendly service and that you enjoyed our live jazz that we have every Sunday is great to read. Also to know you enjoyed it so much that you joined us again for sushi and took advantage of our Tuesday 20% off Dine in Sushi special is much appreciated. We hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Excellent restaurant, food very tasty, prepared and presented well, will flex menu for your own needs, and not overpriced as numerous Bermuda restaurants are. Setting is stellar, views of the ocean, lots of windows so the light pours in, very friendly, warm people, waitstaff superior, manager very personable. They all want to make your dining experience memorable. Friday night roast beef special is amazing - the slow roast it for 8 hours and it is tender and delicious. We ate there three times and every meal was a winner. I rate it excellent food, service, and value.

Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
75Henry, Guest Relations Manager at Henry VIII Restaurant, Sushi Bar and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Kathy, thank you so much for your feedback with this awesome 5 star review. We appreciate you detailing your experience and rating us with the overall comment of 'excellent food, service and value'. It is great to know you enjoyed the tender Prime Rib which is served on Friday nights and is a favourite with our regulars. Also after a recent renovation it is good to hear that you enjoyed how light the restaurant is with all the windows around the whole restaurant so you can see amazing ocean views everywhere. I will share your praise with all of our staff. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Eat twice here once for a snack at lunch which was pleasant as sat on the verandaed outside.
Second in the evening, food was okay but expensive for what you were given, there was a disco on that night playing 70/80s music which was terrible.
Decor dark

Thank Suewestlondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
75Henry, Guest Relations Manager at Henry VIII Restaurant, Sushi Bar and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Good Day, thank you for visiting Henrys and for writing your review, we appreciate your feedback. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Henry VIII was just a hop, skip and a jump down the road from our hotel. The concierge at the hotel recommended the restaurant and we were so happy he did. Seeing the spectacular ocean each day really made me crave sushi and Henry VIII delivered. To preface this, I am VERY picky about where I eat sushi; I'm a bit of germaphobe. To be honest, I was a little skeptical about this restaurant making quality sushi and that was only based on the first impression. (The restaurant was very clean, that was not the issue. The design, food, theme was more European and didn't exactly give me the "sushi house" feeling.) But boy, was I wrong! I suppose just like my Mother told me I shouldn't judge a book by it's cover. The sushi was spectacular and the Pink Lady roll was a particular favorite for me. We dined there twice on our trip and were pleased both times! The fish chowder was on point as well! If you are looking for some sushi on the island, Henry VIII would be my recommendation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 987tealt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
75Henry, Guest Relations Manager at Henry VIII Restaurant, Sushi Bar and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Good Day, thank you for your awesome review. You stated you are 'VERY picky', and a 'bit of a germaphobe' so to know we proved to be 'very clean' and that you found the 'sushi was spectacular' is great to hear. So much so, that you visited us twice while on your vacation. We really appreciate your business. Thank you for your recommendation to other Trip Advisor readers. Safe travels home. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henry VIII Restaurant, Sushi Bar and Pub also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Henry VIII Restaurant, Sushi Bar and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing