We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Elbow Beach, Bermuda(Paget Parish)
USD 673
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 545
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 721
USD 580
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fourways Inn(Paget Parish)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Paraquet(Paget Parish)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dawkin's Manor(Paget Parish)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Internet
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
68
35
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
35
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalt kettleferry stopminute walkseparate kitchenreasonable place to staytoaster ovengreen bankgreat combinationpool noodlesfull kitchenthe main housegreat soundroom was spotlessmiddle roadthe busbeautiful spothamilton harbour
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We love staying at Greenbank guest house. Either we've stayed in every room or our family/friends have. All the rooms are comfortable with a view of the harbor or the gorgeous gardens.
The fery is about 50 yards away and very easy to use.
Melanie is wonderful and does a great job taking care of her guests.
You're minutes from Elbow Beach and should go there as often as you can. Otherwise you can sit on Greenbank's dock and enjoy the sunset.
Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Johnny136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We just returned (3 days ago) from our first-ever visit to Bermuda and stayed at the Greenbank Guest House and Cottages. We enjoyed Greenbank so much we cannot wait to go back! Just this morning we put down a deposit and reserved our cottage for a return trip next year. Prime weeks book well in advance, so plan as early as you can.

Melanie Hocking is Greenbank’s current owner, but the property has been owned by Melanie’s family for generations. Melanie—who is friendly and outgoing—works hard to make sure you are happy. The cottages are clean, bright, and comfortable. Most have water views and kitchenettes. (Everything works and looks nice, but if you need fancy decor, brand new appliances, or dishes that match, you’ll need to look elsewhere.) Having a kitchenette saved us a ton of money over what we would have spent if we ate every meal in a restaurant.

Because we booked our recent trip at the last minute (only 3 weeks in advance), Melanie did not have a cottage that was available for the full week, but offered to accommodate us if we were willing to switch cottages halfway through our stay. We readily agreed and when the day came she and her staff made the move easy. We packed our clothes before we left for the beach on the morning of the third day and when we returned in the afternoon our suitcases—and everything in our refrigerator--had been moved into the new cottage. We liked the layout of the first cottage a wee bit better than the second one, but both were very nice and had comfortable beds, cool air conditioning, and great views. Each cottage is somewhat different, so it’s worth having a conversation with Melanie about the features (water view, full size refrigerator, etc.) that are most important to you.

We loved the floating dock and went swimming (actually floating with the provided pool noodles) at least once a day. The water is crystal clear and you have a great view of the boats and the harbor. The grounds of Greenbank are very well tended. It looks like a beautiful park. Melanie told us that her husband takes care of the landscaping and property. There are several Adirondack chairs and lounges on the property that you can pull over to the nearest tree for shade, but it would be handy if there were one or two more. The other guests we met were all quite friendly. Everyone seemed to have stayed at Greenbank before (one was visiting for his 10th time) and offered up helpful tips for things to do on the island.

The ferry landing is a very short walk (no more than 2 minutes) from the cottages down a quiet dead-end residential road. (The whole area is very quiet and peaceful.) The passenger-only ferry runs frequently and takes you into Hamilton. There you can eat, shop, buy groceries, connect to a different ferry to go the Dockyard (where the cruise ships come in), or take a bus to anywhere in Bermuda. (We were smart and purchased a 7-day pass that gave us unlimited ferry and bus rides.) We loved taking the ferries. Next year we’ll also try out the bus system. We enjoy walking, but it was hot and the roads are narrow and without sidewalks so we sometimes took a taxi to our destination. Easy to call and arrange. Although Greenbank is small, it is so well established on the island that we usually just mentioned the name and the taxi drivers knew right where to take us.

I haven’t mentioned all the things we liked about Greenbank and why we’re going back in 12 months, but this is already a long review and I think you get the idea. I hope our experience is helpful to you and your family.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank DiscoverRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

An old Bermudian Home transferred into guest cottages with an outstanding view of the harbor. Our room had no kitchenette so continental breakfast was included. Every morning an English breakfast was brought to us con a silver tray with a silver pot of coffee, cream and sugar cubes, juice, jelly,hot muffins and a delightful freshly copped fruit cup were served on the April Cornell linen table cloth placed on our outdoor table.
The grounds are lovely, the view is outstanding, the hosts are welcoming and very pleasant. The ferry to Hamilton is nearby. The sunsets are glorious. A quiet peaceful affordable place to experience old Bermuda....casually and simply.

Room Tip: probably not a bad unit on these grounds. Only thing lacking is a TV, but the lobby living room has one you can watch anytime.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jerseygirl2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Nice place. Excellent service. Mouy was fantastic taking care of the room and serving breakfast. Beds could be a little more comfy, but overall this facility is outstanding along with the people managing it. Very pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbritting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Wonderful host, beautiful views of the harbor, comfortable bed, quiet and peaceful. The Bermudans are gracious, lovely people. The ferry dock was convenient and punctual. We hopefully will come back. The people of Bermuda take excellent care of their property and the island is very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews