We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,046)
Filter reviews
1,046 results
Traveller rating
481
295
125
98
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
295
125
98
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel elbow beach sea breeze premier ocean view room lido restaurant junior suite the cottages our honeymoon tapas the east coast pink sand rum swizzle new management luxury resort turn down service turquoise water lounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 1,046 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018

The beatiful main structure of the hotel is closed for renovation, and all guest rooms are casitas located on the rolling grounds by the lovely sea. The rooms have charm but are dated and need better amenities. There is snorkelling available beachside, but a distant reef keeps out most fish, so not to much to see. Taxis are necessary and quite expensive. Food at the restaurant is good quality but also expensive (we were two and breakfast averaged $75 per day). Service was good and gracious.

Room tip: As close to beach and beachside restaurant as possible.
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElbowBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Chris K,

We would like to thank you for choosing Elbow Beach for your last stay in Bermuda. We are very grateful to read that overall, you enjoyed your stay at our Resort in our garden cottages. Some of the iconic main building is being renovated at present near the main pool and we are in the process of upgrading the entire Resort.
We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

When we first arrived, at 9:30 at night, the resort looked magical. I was somewhat flummoxed when after saying hello and verifying our reservation the desk clerk said I would have to accept a $1200 hold on my credit card for “possible incidentals” for the pre-paid week’s stay. We had no intention of spending that much on incidentals for our week’s stay and indeed we didn’t. The charge was reversed when we checked out but it was the first time I encountered an actual hold on my credit card. Other resorts have simply taken the credit card details down.

Our room looked beautiful and in the morning we saw that we had a view of the ocean in the distance. A nice surprise as we didn’t think we would have one, having reserved a garden room. The next morning we walked down to the beach—beautiful—and up to the pool—also beautiful. The walk was tricky though, going up and down uneven paths and stairs. We noted repairs being made to the stone terrace above the beach; sections were roped off. There was also a tricky, blind step down from the lobby to the library that I almost fell on. When I pointed the danger out to an employee they said “oh yes, we should probably do something about that, a pregnant lady fell on that yesterday.”

The room had a small fridge and an electric kettle with some packages of instant coffee (damp—everything is damp, more on that later) and Coffee Mate and damp sugar. Having checked out prices for food at the resort ($5.00 for a glass of Diet Coke, there are no soda machines or snack machines, only expensive room service), we knew we would be walking to the local grocery store for things to eat. It was quite a strenuous walk, down an uneven and badly maintained path to the main road and then down to the small grocery store, which didn’t have much of a selection for food. Then the 15 minute walk uphill carrying drinks and things. This is not a resort for people who aren’t fit!! The rooms are spread out through the resort in groups of three or four rooms. The paths are dark and uneven at night. We were told if we wanted to go anywhere at night to take a taxi because the buses stop running by 6:00.

Elbow Beach is a 20-minute bus ride from Hamilton. Other parts of the island, like Dockyard and St. George’s, are farther. There are no inexpensive cafes around Elbow Beach. So if you stay there, budget at least $100 a day for food unless you go into Hamilton or the other tourist areas. And budget around $50 for taxis on a daily basis if you want to go anywhere at night.

An issue with the room was a lack of ice—the ice maker was broken and the resort’s solution was to leave an ice chest outside our building once a day. The ice was usually melted by 3:00 and we were expected to call the desk if we wanted ice any later.

It was also so damp in the room that things never dried. We resorted to using the hair dryer to try to dry out our bathing suits after two days. An idea for the hotel would be to have heated towel racks like we have seen in other damp climates. We noted a musty smell after a few days and saw that there was rot beginning on some of the baseboards. A shame because the room was so pretty and the bathroom quite luxurious.

As we are in our mid 60s, we didn’t mind that the resort was virtually deserted. It made it beautifully quiet. And the beach truly was lovely—had to watch for jellyfish though and unfortunately we had three stormy days where we couldn’t swim. However for the price we paid, and the expenses we racked up getting to where there WAS moderately priced food and a little “life”, we really should have stayed in Hamilton. Which we have done before and will do again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
8  Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElbowBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Valerie A,
Thank you for choosing Elbow Beach for your recent stay in Bermuda. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room, the pool and beach areas. On the other hand, we regret to read that your stay in our Resort wasn’t up to your expectations. We will be using this feedback to improve our services for upcoming guests.

The Hotel’s procedure is to always do a pre authorization of $200 per room per night on the guest’s card as a guarantee of covering the incidental charges; meaning food & beverage or Spa at the Resort.
We apologize for the unfortunate comment made about the step at the lobby bar, a new sign has been placed and work done to improve the step.
Bermuda is a sub tropical island and therefore the humidity is very high, we try our best to control the humidity in the rooms but sometimes, the nature of the place wins.
Our resort covers 50 acres of property and we understand that some guests find it challenging to walk through its entirety. Our staff transport guests on the golf carts 24/7 to help those who find it challenging. The property Is large and there are many areas where guests can enjoy their time. This could be one of the reasons you may have found it quiet.
Most of the bus lines in Bermuda run until midnight except on Sundays and bank holidays, the public services are more limited those days.

We apologize for the inconveniences during your trip and wish your experience with us was more positive.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in Elbow Beach in the near future.

Kind regards,
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Just returned from our baby-moon at Elbow Beach. Overall, my husband and I really enjoyed the resort and Bermuda itself. We arrived before the busy season started, so we appreciated that the hotel was not busy. Also, unlike most islands, you aren’t bothered on the beach for massages/hairbraiding/dealers etc. I really appreciated the relaxing and laid back element to Bermuda. The main hotel is not operational, but the rooms are in cottages spread out among the property. The walk down to/up from the beach is a bit of a workout, but we did not mind. Our room was beautiful, we had a balcony with ocean views. There was only an electric kettle and tea in our rooms, I’m sure if I had said something I would have gotten a nespresso machine which was supposed to be included but I’m not that fussy. As stated in another review, part of the hotel is not operational and because it was not prime season, some of the restaurants were not open yet. The bar didn’t open during our stay until 12:30 most days which was not ideal. The beach was beautiful and had complimentary tables/umbrellas/chairs/towels/water activities. The only true downside to our stay is that food was EXPENSIVE. We heard around the island that a group of Italian entrepreneurs recently took over the restaurants at the hotel, and prices were higher than expected especially taking quality into consideration. Breakfast was very good, dinner options were limited and not priced according to quality. An authentic Italian operated Italian restaurant in my opinion should have homemade pasta, not box pasta for almost $30. Food cost/quality was my only major grievance. Service was great, everyone was friendly, attentive and went the extra mile. This is the type of resort for a laid back couples vacation which was up our alley. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend for families, unless you are beach bums and the water activities suffice. It was a nice alternative to large resort island vacations and we will definitely be back in the future!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank bnorris44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElbowBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018


Dear bnorris 44,

We are very glad to read that you had a lovely stay while at Elbow Beach and that you enjoyed our facilities and had a relaxing time during your baby-moon. Our staff was delighted to read that their efforts were appreciated .

We offer an electric kettle with tea and coffee available in every room. We recently reduced our resort fee to benefit our guests and with that are providing a more practical alternative as more guests seem to enjoy our coffee offering vs espresso .

The restaurants at the resort have been under the same management for over twenty five years but we have passed on your comments over the cost and quality of the food; the cost is the inescapable effect of being on a small remote island however we apologise over any lack of quality you may have felt during your visit. We will do our utmost to ensure that our product is of the highest standard and our newly arrived Executive Chef will be devising new menus and offerings for 2018 .

Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in Elbow Beach in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

While our room had an amazing view of the water and the staff were super nice and respectful, I would not stay at the Elbow Beach Resort again nor would I recommend to others!!! Half the resort was not functional where many of the restaurants were closed and the resort itself lacked activities and entertainment. The main yellow building where the pool is located and has rooms on higher floors with amazing Ocean Views was closed, probably due to all the complaints and the need to renovate. Mickeys Beach Bar and the pool tiki bar were closed and the pool bar was only partially open serving limited cocktails and the food was made out at a different location. There were large and long missing concrete slabs near Lido Complex causing some major safety hazards especially at night where lighting was limited. In addition, the concierge did not offer suggestions such as taking the bus to save on transportation costs, but rather, insisted we take a taxi which costed us four times more. She was useless!!!! We were only given one small bottle of water each when we first checked into the rooms. This was not replenished daily nor was our toiletries such as the shampoo/body lotion, etc. We even had spiders in our bathtub. I only wish I was made aware of the limitations of this resort before I booked. Please save your money, stay away, and book elsewhere!!!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
10  Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElbowBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear mpierry,
Thank you for choosing Elbow Beach for your recent stay in Bermuda. We really appreciate that you took the time to write this review of our hotel as our main priority is our guests’ satisfaction.
Mickey’s restaurant is a seasonal restaurant and it opens May 1st until October 15th.
The main building has been closed for 8 years as per previous Management decisions but we have 98 cottages with superb ocean views.
The Lido terrace is being renovated at the moment. We apologize that during your stay the area didn’t look up to standard.
We apologize for all the inconveniences during your trip and wish your experience with us was more positive.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in Elbow Beach in the near future.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Not worth the visit overrated place check in was slow and they didn't have Aron ready breakfast is terrible other places better to stay at around the area beach was nice and water clean unlike other places

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank jimmy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElbowBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear jimmy s,
Thank you for choosing Elbow Beach for your recent stay in Bermuda. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
We regret to read that your stay in our Resort wasn’t up to your expectations.
We apologize for the inconveniences during your trip and wish your experience with us was different.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in Elbow Beach in the near future.
Kind regards.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews