We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
56
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews uncle roddy fish steel drum band humming birds visiting friends beaches in the world island porch waves rise keeper ruins stingrays adventure
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We got off the ferry and just told the cab driver to take our family of five someplace private with a great beach and drinks. He drove us down a gravel road - dodging wild donkeys - and deposited us at this cute little open air bar called Uncle Roddys, attached to Barbuda Cottages. We were among only a few guests (only three cottages) and had the personal attention of our magical hostess Kelcina, who is so warm and a total goddess. She totally spoiled us (great food, try the sweet potato fries she gave us for an appetizer.).

We spent the afternoon solo on the beach watching dolphins and napping. Honestly, it was one of my most memorable days ever and cannot recommend anything more highly. Thank you Kelcina and team for the beautiful experience!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

It is the second year we've stayed at Barbuda Cottages and we just love it. Many thanks to Kelcina and her family who always make our stay so enjoyable, always available to help and so nice!

- First, the island, Barbuda: it has some of the most beautiful & pristine beaches we have seen in a long time. There are also very few people as there are not many hotels on the island.
- Second, Barbuda cottages: very nice and comfortable eco-cottages with a beautiful view on the sea and beach just in front. They are all nicely equipped and the beds are very comfortable. We usually stay in the biggest one with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms & a living/dining/kitchen area. The 3 other cottages have 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom & a kitchen/dining/living area. They are all big enough and have all you need for inside & outside (beach towels, fins, masks, tubas). Outside are large verandas.

The beach in front of the cottages is very beautiful and very quiet. You can sometimes spot turtles, stingrays, baracudas,... It has sun beds and nice chairs to watch the sunset. And it is EMPTY. It is mostly visited by the Barbuda cottages guests and sometimes by the people coming from anchoring sailboats or going to Uncle Roddy's restaurant. Just to say that you can spend a full day meeting almost no one. That is the ultimate luxury!

There are very few hotels on Barbuda, therefore you will not meet many people when visiting the island beaches.

A car is recommended to travel around the island, visit the other beaches (Princess Diana beach is one of the most beautiful I have seen in my life) but also to go food shopping or buy fresh fish from the fishermen at the nearby harbour.

You can also eat at the next door Uncle Roddy's restaurant also belonging to the cottages owners family.

Barbuda is a small island with not many touristic infrastructures (no big supermarkets but more small local stores). That is what makes it so special but I do not recommend it for those who like to see a lot of people, go to a different restaurant every night or go shopping during their vacation :-). It is not this type of island or tourism!

Room tip: Choose the 3 bedrooms cottage if a family. If a couple then 1 bedroom cottages are perfect.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lydia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Barbuda accommodation options fall into 3 types: high end luxury ($900+/night), cottages (Barbuda and North Beach) and small private residences (not on the coast or much used by tourists). The hotels are great if you have the budget (and don't mind being a little cut off from the local flavour/rest of the island). By all accounts North Beach Cottages are lovely but very cut off. So that left Barbuda Cottages....and luckily they are amazing!
- Location: between the ferry dock and Princess Diana beach....not far from the village. No shops but Uncle Roddy's awesome restaurant takes care of evening meals (or you can go out or cook in the cottage)
- Rooms: the cottages are v well designed and equipped....awesome fridge, kitchen, sofa, table, bed, bathroom. Huge deck, great views, quiet. As soon as we saw them we wanted to stay longer!
- Location: Great beach directly outside, lovely for swimming, great shelters. Wifi even works on the beach if you want it!
- Logistics: Kelcina can get food in but bring what you can; shops on Barbuda v basic and expensive
- Staff: amazing! Kelcina is a very adept host and has the support of a great team of chefs, servers etc
- Barbuda: is incredible: huge, great atmosphere, lovely people, unspoiled, lots of to if you want to
- Caveats: yes, sandflies are a proper issue, come prepared. Probably need to rend a car ($25 for 8 hours) for some of the time. Ferry over was pretty rough but not dangerous.

In summary, Barbuda is unique and Barbuda Cottages is a superb place to stay

Room tip: Any, only difference is size (3 bed or 1)
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Honestly, just go. There are no words to describe the beauty of Barbuda and no words to describe the joy of experiencing the island whilst staying at Barbuda Cottages. But I will try.

Firstly, this is not 5* living so if you are looking to be pampered and have water sports and swimming pools etc then Barbuda isn't for you. It is a very low key island. There's very little happening there and the sand flies are a pretty awful. You go to Barbuda to experience what, I imagine, the Caribbean used to be. Just raw, simple, natural beauty.

Barbuda cottages, run by the utterly gorgeous and truly wonderful Kelcina, is a small self catering collection of 4 cottages, all on stilts. 3 of the them have one bedroom and the fourth has 3 bedrooms. We were in the purple cottage at the end. Though I think all the one beds are identical. They are super comfortable. They each have a huge verandah where you can enjoy the sunset, or sit during the day and look out to the ocean. Inside you have a living space with a couch and coffee table and a kitchenette with all you need - fridge, sink, cooker, microwave, utensils - and then a separate room with a 4 poster bed and ensuite shower room and toilet. Extremely comfortable, clean, rustic and perfect for us. Outside, you are steps from a heavenly beach where you look around and can't believe how beautiful it is.

A special mention to Uncle Roddy's restaurant which is part of Barbuda Cottages. The food is sensational. The chef is a super star (he came to chat to me about my gluten-free diet and would make sauces separately for me). Honestly the food was just gorgeous.

There are bicycles to borrow and Kelcina can help with absolutely everything (flights, ferry, other bookings, car hire, trips) but mostly just hang out with her and have a cuppa (or in our case, too many Baileys shots!) as she is wonderful company and makes an already incredible experience just that extra bit perfect.

Room tip: They are all wonderful.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

OMG...The next time you want to go somewhere that gives you the ultimate feeling of paradise...this is the place.
The most incredible vacation I've ever taken. Don't go there to party...go there to relax. Go with your wife, girlfriend
or significant other. This is the real place where dreams come true. Your own piece of paradise. I've always wished there was a place that I could go that VERY few people ever visit or maybe even heard of, I finally found it here.

Date of stay: September 2016
3  Thank vahler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews