We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
56
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews uncle roddy fish steel drum band humming birds visiting friends beaches in the world island porch waves rise keeper ruins stingrays adventure
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Barbuda accommodation options fall into 3 types: high end luxury ($900+/night), cottages (Barbuda and North Beach) and small private residences (not on the coast or much used by tourists). The hotels are great if you have the budget (and don't mind being a little cut off from the local flavour/rest of the island). By all accounts North Beach Cottages are lovely but very cut off. So that left Barbuda Cottages....and luckily they are amazing!
- Location: between the ferry dock and Princess Diana beach....not far from the village. No shops but Uncle Roddy's awesome restaurant takes care of evening meals (or you can go out or cook in the cottage)
- Rooms: the cottages are v well designed and equipped....awesome fridge, kitchen, sofa, table, bed, bathroom. Huge deck, great views, quiet. As soon as we saw them we wanted to stay longer!
- Location: Great beach directly outside, lovely for swimming, great shelters. Wifi even works on the beach if you want it!
- Logistics: Kelcina can get food in but bring what you can; shops on Barbuda v basic and expensive
- Staff: amazing! Kelcina is a very adept host and has the support of a great team of chefs, servers etc
- Barbuda: is incredible: huge, great atmosphere, lovely people, unspoiled, lots of to if you want to
- Caveats: yes, sandflies are a proper issue, come prepared. Probably need to rend a car ($25 for 8 hours) for some of the time. Ferry over was pretty rough but not dangerous.

In summary, Barbuda is unique and Barbuda Cottages is a superb place to stay

Room tip: Any, only difference is size (3 bed or 1)
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Honestly, just go. There are no words to describe the beauty of Barbuda and no words to describe the joy of experiencing the island whilst staying at Barbuda Cottages. But I will try.

Firstly, this is not 5* living so if you are looking to be pampered and have water sports and swimming pools etc then Barbuda isn't for you. It is a very low key island. There's very little happening there and the sand flies are a pretty awful. You go to Barbuda to experience what, I imagine, the Caribbean used to be. Just raw, simple, natural beauty.

Barbuda cottages, run by the utterly gorgeous and truly wonderful Kelcina, is a small self catering collection of 4 cottages, all on stilts. 3 of the them have one bedroom and the fourth has 3 bedrooms. We were in the purple cottage at the end. Though I think all the one beds are identical. They are super comfortable. They each have a huge verandah where you can enjoy the sunset, or sit during the day and look out to the ocean. Inside you have a living space with a couch and coffee table and a kitchenette with all you need - fridge, sink, cooker, microwave, utensils - and then a separate room with a 4 poster bed and ensuite shower room and toilet. Extremely comfortable, clean, rustic and perfect for us. Outside, you are steps from a heavenly beach where you look around and can't believe how beautiful it is.

A special mention to Uncle Roddy's restaurant which is part of Barbuda Cottages. The food is sensational. The chef is a super star (he came to chat to me about my gluten-free diet and would make sauces separately for me). Honestly the food was just gorgeous.

There are bicycles to borrow and Kelcina can help with absolutely everything (flights, ferry, other bookings, car hire, trips) but mostly just hang out with her and have a cuppa (or in our case, too many Baileys shots!) as she is wonderful company and makes an already incredible experience just that extra bit perfect.

Room tip: They are all wonderful.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

OMG...The next time you want to go somewhere that gives you the ultimate feeling of paradise...this is the place.
The most incredible vacation I've ever taken. Don't go there to party...go there to relax. Go with your wife, girlfriend
or significant other. This is the real place where dreams come true. Your own piece of paradise. I've always wished there was a place that I could go that VERY few people ever visit or maybe even heard of, I finally found it here.

Date of stay: September 2016
3  Thank vahler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Words cannot describe just how incredible Barbuda Cottages really is. Kelcina, the property manager, was delightful and helped us in multiple ways - we owe you! The beach out front is beautiful and Princess Diana Beach is only a short walk away. This island is great for kiteboarding (we visited in December) and the cottage is a relaxing place to stay while doing so.

I would recommend staying here a thousand times again; while you're at it, make sure to have dinner at Uncle Roddys (which is a one minute walk from the cottages)...you probably wont want to go anywhere else for dinner after eating there. We left dinner each night satisfied and excited for dinner the next night. Hats off to the vegetarian chef!

We reluctantly left Barbuda, knowing that we will soon be back to this little slice of paradise. Thank you Kelcina and wait staff!

Room tip: Each cottage is perfect, with an incredible view.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Where do we start? Our family of 4 visited Barbuda Cottages for a week in December 2016. We had a great time on this magical island and highly recommend a stay at these special cottages. It is a very relaxing and unique place.

We stayed at the main cottage which has a breath-taking veranda overlooking the ocean. The eco-friendly cottage (which is solar powered) is cosy, comfortable and very well kept with all mods and cons.

Barbuda is a wonderful island with warm and friendly people. The beaches are amazing and among the most beautiful we have ever seen. Most of the time you are alone (with the exception of a few donkeys) walking along the breathtaking beaches with no one else there. It is really a magical and peaceful experience. The princess Diana beach which is 15 minutes away by foot is stunning and fully deserves its reputation of one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.

The only drawback of this piece of paradise was the presence of the persistent sandflies. We meticulously used the natural bug spray that was provided in the cottage plus extra strong one we brought with us from the UK. Despite all this, all four family members were severely bitten throughout the day.

We ate at Uncle Roddy's several times and recommend eating there. The restaurant is right next door and the owner Kelcina and staff are very welcoming. The food is excellent (creole lobster to die for) and reasonably priced considering the quality.

Overall we had a wonderful time and the tireless Kelcina, really looked after us and made us feel at home and very welcome. Barbuda cottages is a wonderful and relaxing place and we will definitely return (with some even stronger bug repellant!)

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hectorbabenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews