We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made me look bad to our friends.”

Gianni's Ristorante Italiano
Price range: USD 6 - USD 32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: For more than 30 years our flagship restaurant Gianni’s Ristorante Italiano is THE address for the best Italian food on the island. Gianni’s Ristorante Italiano serves real Italian dishes for the entire family. Inspired by authentic Italian recipes and traditions, our menu includes favorites like Bruschetta Napoli, Bucatini Siciliana and Vitello Parmigiana. We also offer an extensive variety of specialties like our delicious Burrata. Our signature dish? Italian Spaghetti al Formaggio Parmigiano. How it works? They bring out a large wheel of Parmesan cheese, shave out some cheese, pour whisky on it, light it on fire and when the flames die down they pour in the cooked spaghetti and roll it around completely covering the spaghetti with the cheese. You cannot get closer to pasta-heaven. Our gluten-free customers can easily request gluten-free pasta and gluten-free desserts.
Reviewed 9 May 2021

We visited in December and all was great. In May we brought friends and said we have to go again. We did go and the service was very, very slow. Food for 1 was great but very expensive for what was served. My wife’s meal was terrible. Two pieces of thin and overcooked chicken that tasted like cardboard. We mentioned it to the waiter and he replied “OK” but offered no resolution. (Possible language barrier) The other two ordered the pasta wheel, big “show of preparation” but could barely eat 1/4 of it because it was so salty. Overall, bad experience and will not return or recommend to our friends in the future. We highly recommend The Oak, Passions on the Beach and Barefoot Landing! Great experiences every time we have visited these places!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank T8309UJshanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing@GiannisGroup, Marketing at Gianni's Ristorante Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Dear T8309UJshanes,

thank you so much for visiting the our restaurant in December, and returning!
We are sorry to hear that your recent visit was not similar to your visit in December. We want to let you know we take evert review very seriously and will take this up with our team during our next meeting.

We truly hope you will visit us again in the future for a better experience!

Kind greetings,

Gianni's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (7,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 7,415 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2021 via mobile

Charming little restaurant with excellent food. Started with a drink called “one happy island”. The drink was great and my truffle gnocchi was even better. After sitting for a while a guitarist came amd started playing right near us. What a beautiful evening!!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank jp9775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2021 via mobile

Get the catch of the day! The red snapper melted in my mouth! Such a beautiful restaurant. Great staff! Perfect beer pour!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank R6378IOshannons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021 via mobile

While finally taking a honeymoon (thanx COVID), we went to Gianni’s based on 2 recommendations. While the drinks and appetizers came out very quickly, the entrées took 45 minutes. The waiter did not come and give us an update. Upon receiving our meals, it was not what we expected. They hype about the food was so high, and we were both disappointed. We asked for spicy and it was not at all. It wasn’t a terrible meal, but compared to our other experiences, we will not be back. We had too many other amazing meals to set ourselves up for disappointment.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 837fawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing@GiannisGroup, Marketing at Gianni's Ristorante Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 837Faws,

We always aim to deliver a great experience, and we are gutted when we don’t meet expectations. Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will use the feedback to make us better and to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

Kind regards,

The Gianni's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021 via mobile

Service, great food and a warm welcome made this visit amazing. We had such great food and so many choices. Enjoyed it all!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank vinniebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gianni's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Gianni's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.