We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hard working staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hard working staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Loved our vacation in Aruba. Nottingham less than every year we go to our home resort.
Upon arrival cabs are $25 and hold 5 persons maximum. Try sharing cabs with other people to be less cheaper. Paperworks are very important don't leave them home or have your confirmation numbers written on pieces of papers. Check in time is at 4 at the Marriott surf sometimes your room can be ready even before that, if not if your friendly the front desk staff can help find a room for you. Activities however needs a change , it the samething all year round. Pool is clean as well as the villas. Always keep your receipt, other people try charged to our room but the signatures did not match. Getting grocery is simple. Take a bus to downtown area and a cab back depending on the amount of grocery. Or order on lingandson website they delivered . Helped us get started on vacation early. We also call the room assign manager she was very helpful and friendly think her name was Diana. I'm bad with names. Bellman very helpful. Pool people very friendly. There is no tipping rate so tip as you feel. It helps them realize you appreciate there work. Can't wait to be back in October

Room Tip: Ask for poolside villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    849
    262
    112
    65
See reviews for
1,193
791
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just came back from another great trip to the Surf Club. As usual, the entire resort was immaculate and the staff was great. I travelled with a group of twenty family and friends, and we had three two bedroom villas and a lock-off. Leading up to our stay, I was contacted more than once by the resort to see if there was anything they could do for our large party. I know it's not easy to accomodate large groups and my hat goes off to Freya Kraag and the others who took such great care of us. As a timeshare user, I'm very happy to have her there representing the resort and the guests best interests. She, and the rest of the staff, do a wonderful job.
Now the Doctor. I've read reviews about people needing medical care in Aruba and, with three boys, I always paid attention to what was written. This year, our seventeen year old son fell off a banana boat and was kicked in the head by one of our friends as they flew off into the water together. The area behind one of his ears became swollen, resulting in pain and a complete loss of hearing in one ear. After a day or so with no improvement, we called the front desk at about 9:00 a.m. at the Surf Club and I told them the story. Five minutes later, the house doctor (Dr Habibe) called our room and we were in his office by 2:00 p.m. Doctor Habibe was great - personal, caring, and professional. We got home to Massachuestts today and just got back from our family doctor, who advised us that he concurred with Doctor Habibe's conclusions 100%. But here's the best part: Office Visit in Aruba - $50. A prescription for Augmentin filled at the local pharmacy for a very red eardrum - $17.
One more person who did a great job for us was Assistant Food and Beverage Manager James Rogan. We had six kids in our group and he stopped and introduced himself to them at Champions Restaurant at the Ocean Club (all part of the Marriott Group). He took a personal interest in making sure our kids were taken care of and they were still talking about what a great guy he was, even on the plane ride home. Thank you all for a great trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bizler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklinton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

No wonder airfare there is so cheap to Aruba, I doubt there are many repeat visitors. I was suprised that to me Bermuda and Cancun were much better values and the locals there actually appreciate your business. The exceptions seem to be the resorts. For example the Marriot resorts (Ocean club and Surf club) staff were amazing from the cleaning staff thru to the conceriege. Everyone bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable and just as important seemed to be happy.

Bottom line if you like to hang out at the resort and are not interested in exploring the island, you will like Aruba if you go to a good resort like the Marriots. However of you like to be more adventurous, rent a jeep so you can get to places cars can't or go somewhere else in the Caribbean. I do not plan to go back to Aruba but if I did I would stay at the Marriott Surf or Ocean club.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmartinncemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was a great place for a family vacation. No shortage of things to do!!!!!! Here are some answers to questions I looked for previous to our trip but could not find.....so hopefully this will help future families going to Aruba.....
Take a cab to got the grocery store....only 10$ each way.....the stores all have cabs waiting there too....buy a cooler or bring a soft back pack cooler.

Snorkeling in any form is awesome!!!! Kids will love it....

Rent a jeep and drive to the backside of the island as it is unbelievable....we swam at the Natural pool and Baby Beach...bring mask/snorkels

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bapthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

First off, this is a BIG resort. I have stayed at a number of Marriott resorts through the years and I am sad to say this one provided the worse experience I have had.

We were originally placed in a unit with no view and requested a pool view if possible. Our initial room had a broken safe, paint peeling off the wall by the A/C vent (really), and the door stuck so bad I had to "bump" it with my foot each time we entered the room. After 2 days they said they had an alternate room for us and thanked us for leaving our original room early so they could get us into our new room by the early afternoon. We left at 8:30 AM and got back at 4:30 PM and our room was not only not ready, but we did not have a room. On top of that we had no access to our luggage and got to sit by the pool with nothing waiting for a response from the front desk.

The only reason I did not rate this visit as terrible is due to an employee named Jasmine who actually seemed to know what she was doing. We finally got a room in the early evening after we spent another 2 hours waiting by the pool. This type of service is what you might expect for a "budget basement" motel, not a hotel advertising there basic rooms at $500/night.

The good side would be if you have kids. There is a lot of kids there and lots of activities for them. This sort of back-fired on us when my wife got sick and had to spend two days in the room. Some kid(s) were doing the "knock and run" several times during the day on our door. I had to knock on all the doors up and down the hallway and ask parents to curtail this activity just in case their kids were involved. This was not the most pleasant experience we have had on a vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.6 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.3 km away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#8 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
0.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Property: Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price range (per night): $428 - $1,036
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Marriott, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing