We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Aruba Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed in the new tower in the fall of 2011, multiple rooms with kids and in-laws. The property is clean, relatively new with a couple of large pool areas for kids of all ages. They have a nice beach in the high rise area which gives it more of a US gulf coast feel than in a foreign country.

Lots of room and lots of shade on the Divi beach itself. You can set up some water activities right on the beach, though the customer service is questionable.

Customer service inside is hit and miss as well; but the food was good and the drinks were reasonably priced.

Room Tip: ask for the new tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pdlglm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,447 - 1,451 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

We just came back from a long weekend in Aruba where we were booked at the Divi Phoenix. Based on TripAdvisor reviews, we chose this hotel. Considering the fact that we walked in, checked in and checked out all within a half hour, that should speak for itself. The property and rooms were a dump. The hallways looked like a jail house and the rooms were disgustingly dirty and rusty. And this was the new tower! I can't imagine what the other one looks like. Thank goodness we were able to change our reservation to a different hotel, or our vacation would have been wrecked (actually, I would have come home). How is it possible that others rated this hotel so high? In comparison with what!?!?! Motel 6? Never, never, never stay here.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank travelalot1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

This review is not actually accurate and does not reflect the state of our resort at Divi Aruba Phoenix. In fact, this guest was given one of the BEST suites in our nicely appointed Beach towers. These towers are ONLY 3 years old. As proud recipients of RCI’s 2011-2012 Gold Crown Award and AAA’s 3Diamond Award for 2011-2012, we consistently maintain high standards of cleanliness, property upkeep and customer service. Our lobby, corridors, restaurants, pools and specially our guest suites are very clean and properly maintained as you can see by the many other comments and pictures that other guest have placed in your prestigious site.

Let it also be known that we learned that the guests only saw their unit and did not want to see any other rooms even though our front office staff offered to show them other rooms. They just kept trying to get out of their reservation. Turns out, they were traveling with another couple that had booked reservations at a different hotel and the guests really wanted to stay with them and thus wanted to cancel their reservation. Guests did not want to incur any late cancellation penalties, so the review was actually over them having to pay these late cancellation fees.

The staff here at Divi Aruba Phoenix is disappointed that they guests chose not to stay with us. We had wished they would have stayed so that they could show them how nice our resort is compared to all of the others here in Aruba. We hope they'll give us a chance next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed at the Divi Phoenix from April 14 - 21. It was my first trip to Aruba, and I loved it! The weather was perfect - hot and sunny with cool breezes. This was my boyfriend's third time staying at a Divi property (but first for the Phoenix). Despite the nice location, it was definitely his least favorite Divi resort. There were a lot of flaws, and while I'm definitely returning to Aruba, I won't stay at the Phoenix. A few pros and cons:

Pros
- Location. Not only is the Divi right on Palm Beach, but it's one of the nicer beaches in the high-rise section. The water is protected by two jetties, so you have your own swimming cove. The water doesn't get as crowded as it does on some of the other beaches along Palm Beach.

There are many restaurants/bars within walking distance of the Divi. Go to Bugaloe Bar! It's near the Radisson, and quickly became our favorite place on the trip. Great burgers and happy hour specials, fun atmosphere, super-friendly staff and live bands. Try the Bugaloe - it's basically a frozen mimosa with rum and a sangria float.

-Lobby. This sounds silly, but I needed to add something else since the con list is so long. There is a gift shop/sundry shop which isn't terribly priced (except for the beer - $30 for a 6-pack!). Check-in went smooth.

Cons

- The room. Granted, we did get a room in the older tower. It smelled moldy and there were odd stains on the bed. There was actually a maintenance man leaving the room as we unlocked the door. The elevators were slow and usually filled with housekeeping toting around dirty towels so we couldn't get in. We ended up using the stairs a lot - from the 5th floor. Good thing we're in shape.

- The restaurant. Do not eat or drink here. Pure Beach is beautiful, but I had to laugh daily at the photo of the tuna steak they advertise, which is a perfect pink. I ordered it and it was a strange gray color - not even edible. The service is painfully slow - you can't get a drink even if you sit right at the bar. And forget about the swim-up bar - the stools are a play area for kids. Every single day.

- The Beach Bar/Sunset Grille. If you're looking for a place to have a tropical drink by the beach, forget about it. We learned on the last day to make margaritas in the room and bring them to the beach in a pitcher. There is a beach bar which is closed (except for Bingo at 2), and when we tried getting drinks at the Sunset Grille's bar (that had drink menus) on three different occasions, we were told to go to the other bar at Pure Beach.

- Beach. It's hard to find space on the beach, and yes, everyone gets up at 6 a.m. and reserves a beach chair/hut. It's annoying because there would be more than enough for everyone if this didn't happen. Even though most are reserved, they stay empty for most of the day! We managed to get one on our very last day and it was great.

- Internet access. There is no free wi-fi, which really stinks. I checked out other hotels/resorts along the high-rise area, and many offer free wi-fi. If you want to pay for it, you can't just add it on to your room - you have to access a third-party site and give them your billing details. There is an internet cafe which we used to check out flights/email, but you have to buy an access code at the front counter.

Bottom line: I can’t wait to return to Aruba, but there are many hotels and resorts checking out before the Divi Phoenix!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank beckibb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The site is perfect. At the end of the Palm/Eagle Beach boardwalk, the beach is busy but never crowded. Always space in the shade whether it's under a Palapa or Palm trees with lots of beautiful beach to enjoy. Great for families as the water is shallow throughout the designated swimming area. If the beach isn't your thing, there are numerous freshwater pools to enjoy and several hottubs for relaxing including a swimup bar in the main pool. The restaurants are great and reasonably priced, snack/ice cream bar accessible until 11pm. If you want more choice, you can easily walk up the road or cab up to the shopping zone by the other high rise hotels for many more restaurant and shopping options. Due the course of development, the rooms vary between buildings but all are nicely decorated and comfortable the nicest of course being in the new Beach towers although we enjoyed our rooms in the beach villas as well being close to the beach. Highrise rooms in the old tower were musty smelling based on our first room and reports from other guests but apparently this isn't uncommon with Aruba hotels in general as the humidity is difficult for the A/C systems to keep up with. Loved having a well equipped kitchen so preparing your own meals was easy. Beautiful lobby, nice landscaping, relaxing atmosphere. Hertz rental car desk in lobby just outside shop. Front desk staff helpful where possible. Beware though, in the lobby, there are two "concierge" desks - the one on the left is actually a DePalm Tour operator so he will not help you with anything other than booking DePalm Tours (even though this is not clearly marked). The desk on the right is the hotel concierge and they will help with making reservations for anything on the Island. The spa was fantastic and the well appointed gym was great for people wanting to work out while on holiday. Many people seemed to enjoy running or walking up and back on the boardwalk. Close cab ride to airport, grocery stores, downtown shopping, casinos and restaurant. Walk across road to Buttlefly Farm. Beware this is a time-share property so bookings not made from Saturday to Saturday may be interupted by a room change if unit owners are coming in to use their weeks which can be an annoyance.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean FRONT room as all the rooms have ocean VIEWS although some one bedroom suites only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My wife and I traveled to Aruba from 4/28 - 5/5 and stayed at the Divi Aruba Phoenix which is right on the beach. All rooms either face the ocean, pool area or both depending which room you get. Weather was perfect, the staff friendly and eager to help in any way and the bartenders by the swim up bar were outstanding. We had a studio on the 11th floor in the Tower with a wonderful view of the ocena as well as the pools.. Plenty of amenities. Bathroom was rather on the small side but plenty of towels. Studio has a full kitchen and found having a refrigerator in the room a plus since this saved some expenses if you hop over to the grocery store by taxi or car (they even deliver for a small service charge) and stock up on snacks, sodas and/or liquor,
The layout of the resort is great. It is located on the southern most point of the Palm Beach area of the high rise resorts. Pool never seemed overly crowded and if you wanted shade by the pool area there were plenty of select spots for that needed shade. If, on the other hand you wanted a shady spot along the beach, plan on getting up extra early to reserve a spot since they seem to be all taken by 6:30 AM.
My wife and I walked by the other hotels north of the Aruba Phoenix (Westin, RIU, Radisson) and the beach area seemed to be extremely crowded as well as their pools. Since the Aruba Phoenix is a timeshare type of property it leans towards an older type of crowd so there were not a lot of noise around the pool. If one wanted to, they can sit through a timeshare presentation and receive a $100 restaurant voucher.
One thing we did find out upon arrival is May 1st is Aruba's Labor Day so all the shops are closed except for local vendors selling there goods. All restaurants are open as well as all the casinos! Highyl recommend the Alhambra casino which is by the low rise resorts. Plenty of slots and table games. The slots in the high rise resorts are tight so don't expect to win,
If you are looking for a place to stay in Aruba, I would highly recommend stating at the Aruba Phoenix. It's close enough in walking distance to the shops that are directly across the street from the other high rise resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Hawkeyesfan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
2 km away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,104 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,400 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
3.1 km away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,927 reviews
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Address: 75 Je Irausquin Blvd | Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $323 - $752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Divi Phoenix Beach Hotel
Hotel Divi Phoenix Beach
Aruba Phoenix
Aruba Divi Phoenix
Divi Phoenix Aruba
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing