We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,691)
Filter reviews
1,691 results
Traveller rating
465
713
282
120
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
713
282
120
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dunkin donuts toaster oven short walk to eagle beach pizza bobs bell captain waterfall pool grocery store living room full kitchen great pizza pools were clean super foods swim up bar jacuzzi tub flat screen bus stop beach towels
Filter
Updating list...
1,043 - 1,048 of 1,691 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This is not the kind of place that you walk into, and you think, "Wow, this is a nice place." We got this place for a great deal and thought, "Cool, this is a decent place for what we paid."
Specifics: we were there on the off season, very few people were there. There is no casino that is part of the Tropicana. There is a dumpy looking place that has the word "Casino" in neon nearby, but we didn't venture in.

The pool slide is awesome. It really is. If you think you'll have fun on a pool slide, you will on this one.

Swim up bar...it exists. But as the bartender nicely put it, "This bar is called the Crazy Parrot, but there isn't anything crazy about it." She was cool.

The thing about the Tropicana is that it's location is prime. It's right behind a swanky other joint, La Cabana, which made it convenient to use its restaurant and coffee shops whenever we wanted. la Cabana also has a pool that you can chill at. The best part is that the hotel is right in front of one of the nicest beaches for swimming that we saw. The other hotels may be swankier, but this beach was the cleanest, with the whitest sand and least amount of seaweed and most open space out of them all. And we walked the waterline a ton.

If you go, and you want to save $10/person/day, bring a beach umbrella and blanket. It's highway robbery otherwise!

There's a blue thing in front of the Westin, it's a cool thing to swim out to and dive off of.

The resorts generally turn a blind eye to letting others use their pools. Just saying.

Have low expectations when it comes to food. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Facing the pool is great, get a porch too.
Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank thatjustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Our family of 4 adults needed a quiet relaxing vacation near the beach and certainly got it here! Our room was spacious and comfortable though we would have preferred two twin beds in the second bed room. With the queen pull out sofa that wasn't a big problem. The bell staff was wonderfully helpful amd the front desk attentive. The bbq grills were nice. We walked to Eagle Beach each morning and hung out by the pool in the afternoon. We appreciated the quiet atmosphere and proximity to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jet352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Even though our stay at the Tropicana was a few months ago, I just found this site to jot down our review. We've owned at this resort for several years now and love staying here. We love that it is very quiet and clean here. Renovation was taking place but many travelers don't understand that all resorts no matter where need to undergo this type of thing to remain competetive. We have vacationed in Aruba 2 weeks each year for 18 years. We have the option to go elsewhere but can't imagine doing that. I really feel that some of the information posted in these reviews are speaking about a neighboring resort according to the facts they stated. Too bad for the Tropicana this happened.
We would especially like to mention Raymond, a young man that was wonderful during our 2011 stay. He excelled in customer service to everyone but went way out of his way to help us when my husband locked the keys in our rental car. Thanks Raymond! See you in 2012!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arubaboy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My wife, grandson and I stayed at the Tropicana for 16 nights in March 2011. We had a great time. The staff were friendly and helpful. The staff were even cheerful when a customer requested a change of room because a palm tree blcked her view of the beach. This was a cursious complaint because the Tropicana is NOT a beach front facility. The Tropicana is good value for money. It's not four- or five-star accommodation but then you're NOT payining four- or five-star prices. The Tropicana may have a few mildly rough edges but certainly not enough to detract from a wonderful vacation. Just relax and enjoy the place. You're on holidays!!! For families, the kitchens and BBQs are wonderful for reducing holiday meal costs. Ling and Sons is only a short and inexpensive taxi ride away. We'd back. For the third time!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chilly_Canadian08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This place was a Joke. Customer service was not there. The island slogan "One Happy Island" did not exist with that place. Everytime you ask a rep for directions or recommedations on a restaurant from that place they acted like you owed them something. The pool was clean and rooms seemed clean but thats it. The last night we were there we were sitting at the pool bar and a rat was walking the property between the restaurant and the pool bar. If you weren't interested in a time share tour you were ignored. Dont go there.

Room Tip: Just say NO!
Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
10  Thank MokenaDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropArubaGM, General Manager at Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

Thank you for your review. I have to admit that I was somewhat confused by this.

We don't sell timeshares or offer tours. Additionally, we don't allow any outside timeshare folks on the premises. Also, you noted a rodent between the restaurant and the pool bar, but there isn't a restaurant near the pool bar. I've noted that you're a recent member to TripAdvisor. I will send a personal message in an attempt to obtain further info and hopefully address any true concerns if this review was in fact related to our property.

Kind regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews