We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,712)
Filter reviews
1,712 results
Traveller rating
1,101
408
126
42
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,101
408
126
42
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset grill palm beach club laguna restaurant diamond member curacao tower mira solo exotic birds towel hut palapa reservation system beautiful property paddle boarding front row ocean view restaurants and shopping beach area kids club anniversary trip
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 1,712 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018

We got moved here by our original hotel, due to overbooking. At first, it was a little exciting as the lobby is pretty posh and we thought we magically got a free upgrade...but, as time went by, this resort kept disappointing us.

So, we arrived in mid afternoon, and headed over to the pool area...there are two pools, one regular and one "quiet" which didn't seem very quiet, and even if it were, the proximity to the other pool kind of cancels it out anyway.

There doesn't seem to be nearly enough deck chairs around the pool areas for the number of guests. The only reason we got one, was because it was late afternoon and many people had left for the day already.

At about 4:30, I went to the beach hut to reserve a spot for the next day, and was told EVERYTHING was taken. I made a remark that wasn't it opened up at 4pm, as the instructions state? She replied back that there were many people who pay to have their spots reserved, and that there's nothing left. Just awful...they should make a point of keeping a decent block open for the next day that are not allowed to be paid-for, or just stop advertising that the 4pm service is part of their process.

Around 5:30 we decided to get ready for dinner, and went over to the poolside restaurant, Gilligans, and were told they were closed already. The bar on the other side was still serving for a little while, but there were tons of crowds all swearing and yelling at the soccer game. Not the best environment for eating with our 6 yo daughter.

The only restaurant that appeared to be open for dinner was the high-end steak house, which was pricey, and didn't offer a great kids offering. We decided to leave the resort and go across the street for dinner instead. The Hilton should realize they are just giving money away by not having a family-friendly, more casual dinner option, on the grounds.

Luckily for us, we left the next day, anyway, so I didn't need to worry about their horrible palapa service and their awful dining choices.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank vampycat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Georg R, General Manager at Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Vampycat74,

Thank you for taking your value time in sharing your feedback and for staying at the Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences caused to you during your stay. We are concerned about your displeasure while we continue to strive to deliver optimal service. Please do contact our Director of Resort Experience at marielle.smeets@Hilton.com with your contact information and hotel confirmation number.

Accept our sincere apologies.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We would never return just simply because of the Palapa issues.

1- even if we reserved one we have to be up out of our room before to go claim it in person!! This is a resort we are not supposed to be subjected to this ..we cannot relax like that
This is very disturbing

2- food was not good and overpriced
3- staff was not friendly from youngsters at front desk to ladies working at the palapa shack
4- asked for a water bottle at palapa shack while picking up towels and I was told that today you booked a free palapa ... water is for paying Palapas only!!
5- we paid twice during our stay for a palapa
One day $45 and the other day it was $35

From what I can tell when we complained...everyone kinda blamed or directed the failure to the GM
Maybe that GM that creates such policies to make our stay stressful should be replaced with another GM who understands was guest service should be like!
We are very disappointed and will file a complaint with the Hilton corporate office.

I must say that Tasha was very nice and professional
Plus the housekeeping ladies were very friendly and nice.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank beach1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Georg R, General Manager at Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear beach1972,

Thank you for staying with us. I am truly sorry about the inconveniences you experienced. Please reach out to me directly at GM@hilton.com as I would like to help resolve this matter .

Thank you,

Hans-Georg Roehrbein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

My husband, daughter, and I recently enjoyed our third visit to Aruba and stayed at the Hilton upon a recommendation from our friends. Some of the highlights were: the staff - Giovanni who was a server at the pool bar and Ryan who hosted poolside BINGO. There are many others who were wonderful, but their names are escaping me; the pier bar – the service, food and entertainment were all fantastic; various on-site activities arranged by the hotel (e.g. carnival dancers, smore’s night, movie night, bird interactions, manager’s hosted happy hour, poolside fruit salad offered mid-morning on a daily basis); the grounds, pools and beach were well kept and the hotel is in a convenient location to other hotels along the boardwalk, restaurants and nightlife. The size and layout of the room wasn’t ideal, but we didn’t mind that much since we were hardly ever in the room.I do wish they had at least queen size beds however, since the full bed was too small for my husband and I to sleep in comfortably. When we were in the room we enjoyed relaxing on the balcony for breakfast and nighttime drinks. We very much enjoyed our visit and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssullivan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Georg R, General Manager at Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear ssullivan76,

Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. We love hearing about areas where we've exceeded expectations, in addition to helpful suggestions like yours, so we can continue to provide outstanding guest experiences. We hope to see you return soon. Safe travels!

Thank you,

Hans-Georg Roehrbein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

The most unfriendly staff (even rude) with the exception of sunset grill. Lacking in hospitality. Concierge needs a lesson in their job description. Booked our own off premises dinners- they weren't able to. Towel hut would not have towels at 8:00 in the am. Someone obviously didn't do their job the night before and wash them. This happened twice. I could go on and on. Had to wait til 10 sometimes. Needless to say would not return there are other great hotels on the Island

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Trek240454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Georg R, General Manager at Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We're addressing your comments with our team, as we take the necessary steps to make it right for you and for our future guests. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you if you travels bring you back to our area.

Regards,

Hans-Georg Roehrbein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Mid-vacation review, here for a week so there may be more to come. This is our first trip to Aruba, so we had to plan based on reviews, and nearly every site gave the Hilton Aruba rave reviews. Ummmm...why? “Mediocre at best” is the phrase that keeps coming to mind, and applies to everything: the room, the property, and certainly the service.

Let’s start with the room, shall we? We upgraded to an “Ocean view Bonaire or Curaçao tower” room. Please see the photo to fully understand why we actually went to back to the front desk and said “Are you sure this is the right room?“. Mind you they do have a “partial ocean view” room, can’t even begin to imagine what view that would be. Front desk did not seem remotely interested or concerned about this question. So much for cocktails on the private balcony — I guess it’s a good place to dry bathing suits?

This Hilton is apparently a remodeled Radisson — are they still working on it? For example, there is new-ish tile in the shower, but stained ceiling tiles that look like they borrowed them from the Motel 6. Ugh. Decor is generic, nothing to suggest you are in the Caribbean vs. Ohio. Beds are made daily, but the rest of the cleaning seems haphazard. In fact, the cleaning crew seems to spend most of their time in the hallway chatting, I’ve said “Excuse me” a dozen times walking down the hall.

So, on to the beach. Lovely clear water and clean white sand — but it’s a public beach so Hilton cannot take credit. They are, however, responsible for the palapa fiasco. You can read all about the complicated and confusing process on hundreds of other reviews so I will spare you the details. What I can tell you is that on Day 1 we reserved and paid for a palapa and had to evict someone from the spot — the only proof that a palapa is reserved is a towel on a chair. Today we avoided altercations, but the bottled water that was supposed to come with the paid palapas was unavailable — ALL DAY. Around 4pm I came back to ask for probably the 5th time and the attendant looked up and said “not yet”. Useless.

So much for the mid-visit review. Let’s see if the 3 star rating improves or gets downgraded by the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is one.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank sabrinayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans Georg R, General Manager at Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear sabrinayb,

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback and for sharing your concerns. Please accept our sincere apologies that you did not receive the WOW experience we strive to deliver for every guest. Please rest assured we have shared you comments and observations with the respective departments, as we always look for ways to improve our guest experience. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feed back will help us deliver this brand promise.

Thank you,

Hans-Georg Roehrbein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews